We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Garden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

My partner and I have just returned from a lovely two day stay at this hotel. We had booked a standard double room but decided to upgrade to a superior room with spa bath which was well worth it. The room was nicely decorated with everything you could ask for. The Manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really lovely with plenty of choice. we would have no hesitation in a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    73
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
229
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

...to Tony and Liz for a wonderful stay, their helpful and kind assistance and all the comforts afforded by their lovely accommodation. The Penthouse shower cubicle has a window overlooking the surrounding fells, so during our stay provided a unique experience - an invigorating hot shower while looking out over the snow covered surroundings.

Room Tip: The Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My partner book the weekend away in the Penthouse Suite. It was a lovely modern room, very well designed with everything you would need for a romantic weekend. The staff and owners we welcoming,friendly and gave us everything we asked for. Couldn't have asked for a better weekend. Thank you to Tony & Liz

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had an excellend weekend at Fairfield with our pup Percy. The room was comfortable and the bathroom nicely done with thoughtful touches like face wipes as well as the usual shower gel. Tony and Liz were very friendly and helpful and genuinely welcoming to us and the dog, and gave us access through the side door to give easier access to the room without going through reception. There is a lovely lounge and the breakfast room has been beautifully done. The website doesn't do justice to the building. There was a great selection for breakfast with a lovely full English or lighter options such as kipper or scrambled egg and smoked salmon. I believe you can even have a wee dram on your porridge should you choose. The location is great too with easy access to both the fells and the town centre. An excellent weekend and we'll certainly go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstieJ148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Just got back from a lovely weekend away. The room was lovely and the host where very helpful. Breakfast fantastic. Definately would go again. The Location is excelllent and all the facilities are really good. We both enjoyed our lovely peaceful break. Thank You Gord and Jean

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 days in this sweet guest house. The owners of the property, Tony and Liz are very nice people. A special wooden sheet was provided for the bed in order to make it harder following my request, which is something very rare to see for this kind of small guest house. They are very nice and experienced to offer advise to the trip. The room is big enough and sweet enough for a couple. Mirrors, lamps and other thoughtful stuff are prepared for the guests. The breakfast is always that delicious. The location is great, close to the center of Bowness as well as the pier. We enjoyed our stay very much and strongly recommend this place to the others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zcqhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here a while ago (taken me a while to getting round to the review, but I feel one is needed)



It was our first trip away together and couldn't have been nicer, this guest house is absolutely beautiful and is in a great pottering location to the restaurants/shops etc.



We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it.


Our room had a huge beautiful Sleigh bed (we liked it so much we want one for our house) lovely views over the garden and a bathroom with a double bath and shower.

All extremely clean and tidy. The staff were fantastic, very warming and welcoming.


The breakfast was delicious and made to order, it was served in a lovely room over looking the gardens.

I would thoroughly recommend this place to anyone looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful place.



We will definitely be returning here. (hopefully this Christmas!)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balyssia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#5 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#12 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#35 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Property: Fairfield Garden Guest House
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing