We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$127
$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$199
$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$250
$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$348
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveler rating
216
76
19
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
76
19
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousesteep hillspa bathfour poster bedb blake districtrain showerbreakfast was excellentmy partnerwarm welcomekipperslovely guesthousedvd playerthe ground floortea and coffee making facilitieswithin easy walking distancebe visiting again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 319 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Just arrived home after spending a wonderful 3 nights at Fairfield House. It was a privilege to stay in such a period property, with a most beautiful peaceful garden, alive with songbirds. It was hard to believe the centre of Bowness was just a few minutes away from such tranquility. Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom was modern, with a fantastic shower. The dining room overlooks the garden and the breakfast, which was served by attentative staff, was superb. The beautifully furnished lounge, also overlooking the garden, was a peaceful place to relax.
The proprieter Tony, was very welcoming, friendly and happy to share his knowlege of the area with us. It was a pleasure to stay in such a homely hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2012

Thanks to the guests for the kind thoughts. liz and I read all reviews, and it is a pleasure to find that we have got it right. The garden is just starting to come into flower now and it looks like a great summer display is coming up. Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have just spent three days at this lovely guest house. The breakfast room overlooked the garden where many garden birds can be viewed using the bird feeders. Tony and Liz were most helpful and made us feel very much at home. A good variety of choices for breakfast and was served freshly cooked. Excellent.
Brantfell Road where it is located is very steep and narrow in parts and walking into Bowness is unsuitable for anyone with reduced mobility.

Room Tip: My wife has reduced mobility so they accommodated us in a ground floor room. There is no lift.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandsdavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2012

Thanks for your kind words, we ceratinly enjoyed your company. We recognise that the hill is a challenge for some people, but a car solves the problem and we will always help with our car if requested. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Tony and liz with their spanish helpers keep a spotlessly clean and friendly small guesthouse within a few minutes walk of the town. Nothing was too much trouble. They found room to charge up my mums mobility scooter for her. The breakfast was lovely, especially the bacon. We were in room 10 on the ground floor and although it was a little cramped for us and a puppy there was a small walk in style cupboard where the dog cage fitted perfectly so little Ani had her own little room! The door to the large garden was opposite ours so perfect for quick access. Mum and Dad had room 9 next door and that was bigger. My sister had room 11 with great views and a bath. We used the little lounge a lot and it was great for chilling after a day out in the lakes. The Daleway walk goes up pass the front door so the dogs had lots of great walks. Thanks for a top class relaxing minibreak.

Room Tip: Just tellTony or Liz what you need and they will help. the hotel is in 2 halves the original house has rooms 1- 7 and the wing has 8 -12. Be aware that the hill down to the village is steep, but not a problem for us although the mobility scooter struggled with the very steep bit and we had to push for a couple of minutes.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowdonia_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the Fairfield over February half term, and had an enjoyable stay. Good size double bedrooms, comfortable and large beds, with TV/DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. A nice touch was the good stock of books and DVDs available to borrow during the stay. Excellent breakfast (including the black pudding) to set us up for the rest of the day. Owners very friendly and helpful with weather updates, suggestions for walks, and places to eat. We had no problem asking for an earlier breakfast on our last day. Located a short walk from the centre of Bowness it was an ideal base for the town (beware the uphill walk back), and easy to access the wilder parts of the Lake District. Already recommended the Fairfield to two other people.
Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We needed an overnight stay whilst on route to Carlisle to collect our new car & really enjoyed our brief visit. Overall, we found Fairfield Garden Guest House a very restful and relaxing place to be. Everywhere we looked, there was something of interest to see and inspire. Liz & Tony were very welcoming and good cooks as well - lovely breakfast! The room was clean, warm & had everything we needed. The garden looked really lovely, even though it was January. Thanks again for your hospitality & might see you again, when the garden is in full bloom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with garden view, you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews