We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sets a high standard for others to follow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“sets a high standard for others to follow”
Reviewed May 11, 2010

very friendly couple who made us very welcome the minute we walked through the door.room was great,very clean and beautifully decorated.food was of an excellent standard also the accomodation is very reasonably priced and is great value for money. another plus was the great location...right near the main shops at bowness (although very quiet of a night time) and within walking distance of windermere.
we enjoyed it so much that we're returning in may this year and taking my kayak this time with the lake being so close.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captain1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    17
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wood1wood1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2009

we stayed in hazeldean for two nights and could not find fault .it is a lovely guesthouse and is spotlessley clean.room 4 which we stayed in had a lovely view of the lake and was very cosy.we have been going to bowness regularly for a couple of years and have to say that paul and lesley made us very welcome.breakfast was freshly made and very nice.we will be going again at the end of november.we have noticed some people have complained that the parking is inconvenient we do not think this is the case as lots of b and b's do not have parking at all!! looking forward to are next stay . julia and alan

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood1wood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

My second visit to hazeldene. Stayed in room 2 and loved it.

Beautiful lake view, 4 poster bed and big room.

Ideally located just 5 min walk from the lake and all the good restaurants in bowness just across the road.

landlords are welcoming, organised and have put alot of thought into there guests comforts.Which is rare to find in B&Bs nowadays.

Breakfast tasty and plentiful.

Loved little things from chocolates in the room to home made jams and homely atmosphere.

Private parking and wifi.

Cant find any faults and know where to stay for the next vists.....

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

very friendly hosts paul & lesley made us feel very welcome in their house everything about the place is smashing the bedrooms very good and wonderful comfy beds all the little extras chocs and biscuits every day also shampoo ect in the bathrooms, the breakfasts were outstanding catering for everyone and pauls homemade jam and marmalade is super another bonus is the location plenty going on around shops resturants pubs and only about 5 mins to lake.would defo stay here again

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at Hazeldene. The hosts, Lesley and Paul, were very welcoming and friendly. They referred to us by our first names during our stay which we thought was a lovely touch and made such a change from some big impersonal hotels we have stayed at. This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. I was even impressed that they had kept my hairdryer in their lost property box after I left it on my first visit two years ago. We stayed in the four poster room at the front and it was very pleasantly furnished. The dimensions of the room were fine and we had plenty of space to move around. The car park is right next door and it was no problem getting our bags from the car.

The location is perfect and you are only about three minutes walk to the lakeside. There are plenty or shops and eating places nearby so you will be spoilt for choice. We had a pleasant meal at Robertos and also at the Angel Inn.

We will definitely be back to Hazeldene again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandaRella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2009

One star...max! A B&B with tired, outdated decor, owned by retired UK government bureaucrats who run their B&B like a highly regulated government agency with little attention to customer needs or satisfaction. Lots of rules! "Do Not" signs everywhere. Over priced. Breakfast served only from 8:30 to 9:00 AM daily. Breakfast room is not allowed to be used for any other purpose, such as gathering with family members. No parking available near front door to load and unload bags. Parking one block away from B&B. Shower system is barely operational with very low water pressure. Steep stairs. Not suitable for any persons with disabilities. Not rated by AA or other B&B rating organizations. Overall, low quality with high price.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4EverOnTheGo5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2009

fantastic hotel, lesley and paul are so welcomingand cook a great breakfast!! would recommened to anybody and cant praise highley enough!!! we will be going back time and time again :)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Property: Hazeldene Guest House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing