We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hazeldene”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We Stayed at the Hazeldene B&B in July 2013 on our honeymoon.
The owners Paul and Lesley are welcoming,warm and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay.
The room we had,had a lake view it was spaciou,clean and comfortable and the added touches enhanced the room.
Breakfast was well presented and very tasty.
Hazeldene is not far from Lake Windermere but like most of the property's on this road is built on an incline.
I cannot fault the Hazeldene and we will be returning again.I would definetely recommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK
Thank Kuri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

our first vist to guess house was may 15 2009 this guest house was very homely and friendly and welcoming and a fab brekfast which has now improved as paul makes his own jam which is fab to i would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a very enjoyable break very high in cleaness very friendley and steve and i would not stay else were in bowness we were there this year from 24 to 26 0f june 2013 for our silver wedding anniversay and could wish for more thank you for making our stay in you guest house very special to me and my other half

Room Tip: room 2 has a stunning sunset view as well as the lake its
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed on a four day break, had room 2 which had excellent views across the lake. This bed and breakfast is clean and well run by Paul and Lesley, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is excellent and Paul always has time for s chat to discuss what to see and how to get there. If in the area again we will have no hesitation in going back

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Having read some of the other reviews on this B&B I'm at a loss as to what people's expectations are when they book!

For a low cost B&B it ticked all the boxes and more. Paul and Leslie worked hard to ensure our stay was a pleasant one, which it was. Good location 5 minutes walk from the lake, free parking (a rarity in Bowness), decent breakfast all made for an enjoyable 2 night stay.

Stayed in room 3 which overlooked the main road, but windows adequate enough to keep out most noise. En suite bathroom clean and not a bad size. Plenty of milk, tea and coffee and the little extras that you don't always get at a B&B which were an iron and ironing board and a fan (very useful!!!).

Parking at the rear of the property, easy to find.

Thank you Paul and Leslie, you've got the balance of budget and service just right. We will be back

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed over the bank holiday for a couple of nights. Our stay here was very enjoyable we were made to feel very comfortable and Paul and Leslie were excellent hosts. I cannot fault this Guest House in any way. We were in Room 2 and had a view of the lake which was lovely, the room was spotless and the shower was powerfull. The bed was so comfy I did'nt want to get out of it and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The location is super right in the heart of all the lovely pubs and restaurants. Excellent value for money - thank you Paul and Leslie we will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanessa t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked 4 rooms Friday and Saturday nights and everyone agreed that this is a great place to stay. Excellent location, easy walking to everywhere.
Like most B & B's yes it is old, but superbly presented and immaculately clean. Paul and Leslie were extremely obliging hosts and any request was met and a special mention to their breakfasts - we asked for my daughter if the sausages were gluten free, no they were not but next morning for breakfast she was served gluten free sausages with no noise or fuss, excellent service.
Value for money a great place to stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and were made very welcome. It's a cosy and comfortable little guesthouse just a 5 minute walk from the promenade and lake. Room was very clean and comfortable with good quality furniture and bed, bathroom also spotless. Towels and bed linen were also good quality. Room was a decent size, although I don't suppose you go to the Lakes to stay indoors anyway!

Paul and Leslie can't do enough for you and are very friendly and helpful. Breakasts were very nice as was the breakfast room. There's tea and coffee in the rooms which were replenished daily (I can recommend the hot chocolate).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#20 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#16 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#23 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#28 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing