We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranleigh Boutique
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$338
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$215
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$161
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$195
$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$144
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
1,467
216
78
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,467
216
78
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingair spa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictlake cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,623 - 1,628 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I will keep this review brief. This is an amazing hotel! I went with my girlfriend and we loved everything about the weekend. We stayed in room 14 and it is a fantastic luxurious room! The breakfast was delicious and we were both extremely full after it. The hotel has a roaring fire in the reception room when you go in where you can go and sit in front of which is lovely. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel at home. The location can't be beaten, about a 1 minute walk to the centre and 2 minute walk to the lake! We visited the Spa (2 minute walk) and this was good also! I really couldn't find fault and would we come to this hotel again, you bet we would!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Came across the Cranleigh by accident when searching for hotels in Bowness - the website wasn't on the first page of search results - but very glad to have found it! While the room we stayed in was quite small, in the annex to the main building, there were lots of facilities packed in - dvd player, tv in the bathroom, bubbles and lights in the bath - very plush! The only thing missing was a small fridge in the room to keep your drinks chilled, with all the other mod-cons I'd have expected this, and it's unfortunate the hotel didn't serve alcohol through it's room service when returning to the hotel after a meal out. Also be very careful not to drop jewellery down the sink in the bathroom, there's no plug in the sink as it's ultra-modern, and unfortunately the owner at the desk seemed utterly disinterested in showing me any concern after losing an earring down the sink (lost points here in my rating!)

Lots of choice at breakfast, and the serving staff were very friendly and helpful. Only drawback is the rear car park is quite tight for space, only made worse when 4 wheel drive owners park over the lines, so it's best to arrive early if you have a car.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

From the initial contact when we tried to book the stay(we had been given a voucher which proved hard to redeem),we found the staff indifferent.We arrived 15mins early and could not go to our room. There were two other couples also waiting. The pool and spa is at another hotel in the town and there is limited access to it. The cost of £148 for a small room with nice fittings is excessive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazz057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2011

Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us at The Cranleigh didn't exceed your expectations. We strive to make sure all of our guests receive first class service from reservation through to departure. Our normal check in time is 3pm and even though we try to have all the rooms and suites ready before this time sometimes this cannot happen if we have been fully booked the previous night so if the arrival time is before 3pm we sometimes cannot show you to your room until then. With regards to the pool and spa facilities this is stated on our website to be at another hotel within walking distance from the Cranleigh and we are one of a limited number of guest houses in the area to be given use of the pool and we advise all of our guests to book and reserve passes for the spa so that you can visit when you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We stayed at the Cranleigh for 2 nights the first week of January for my boyfriends birthday. It was a great choice - very cosy and the traditional style downstairs with the modern style rooms and ensuite was just perfect. We stayed in Room 4 and the pictures on their website are what you actually do get. Cosy fluffy towels and bathrobes in the bathroom - nice touch and heated floor mmm. The stand alone shower was nice also - makes a change from stepping over a bath to get into the shower as is standard in most hotels still. We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Bowness - it definetly deserved the 5 stars. The girls on reception were great also - always pleasant. Breakfasts were tasty and a nice selection - not the regular. You could even get a a dvd for the quiet rainy nights and there was a hell of a selection not just a few - delivered to your door.... All in all, a great find and we'd definitely return. Perfect position for getting into the village - it was so close to all the pubs, restaurants and the lake - fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maresaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Had a great 3 night stay in room 11 at The Cranleigh as a post Xmas treat for me and my wife. Can't say enough good things about this place. Easy to find with plenty of free parking always starts the day off well! We were in the next door building to the main guest hotel on the third floor. The room is compact but beautifully decorated and styled. The bathroom is fantastic, and serves as a perfect way to relax yourself with the super deep whirlpool bath, with built in TV, after a hard day's walking etc. Despite having no evening meal available, there are plenty of eating places in Bowness within walking distance, so all that is covered. The breakfast was excellent, and the staff serving so friendly and welcoming.
One touch I really like is the free DVD library service the hotel offers, a great idea, especially helps when the famous Lake District rain threatens to wash away your day!
Overall a really good choice, and I commend the Cranleigh for its excellent staff and very comfortable accommodation. Will recommend to friends and family and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews