We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful x”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful x”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at the Cranleigh to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. On arrival we were greeted and promptly shown to our room which was room number 3. The staff had decorated the bed with love hearts and rose petals and left us a card congratulating us which we though was a lovely touch. Whilst we were out, the staff had been in and turned down the room and left us chocolates on the pillows-again another lovely touch!

The location of the hotel is perfect- literally a 2 minute walk from the lake and shops. Our room was spotless and beautifully decorated. The weekend we stayed happened to be the hottest weekend of the year so the room was boiling but we had a portable fan in the room. I wouldn't have liked air conditioning as some of the reviews have suggested as I feel an air con unit in the room would spoil the look and boutique feel.

Breakfast was amazing! A wide variety and choice and all fresh and cooked to order! Really set us up for the day!

Could not fault this hotel for our stay and will definitely be back to stay in the near future xx

Thank you to all the staff at the Cranleigh for making our anniversary enjoyable! xx

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
27
1,386
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Stayed as part of our touring holiday. We booked a small room with separate bathroom as it was the only one left but on arrival were offered an en suite for a small extra charge. The room was fantastic, service throughout our stay was first class and we had a brilliant time. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2014

What can I say about the cranleigh? Apart from best hotel ever. As a frequent traveller I have stayed at many hotels and this one beats all of them easily.
Staff- attentive
Breakfast- delicious
Room (3)- gorgeous
Location- ideal

I nearly didn't leave.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Second stay at this amazing hotel had a wonderful time. hotel is beautiful in a excellent location, breakfast was delicious, staff were really friendly. Rooms are beautiful, can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catty14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying in the Sanctuary Suite last Saturday and Sunday night. The suite is in a converted bungalow to the rear of the property and from the outside you cannot imagine the luxury you will find inside.
The quality of the fixtures and fittings is very high and so much thought and attention to detail has gone into the rooms. The bottled water, ice buckets, fresh lime and chocolates are a nice touch.
The hot tub area is really lovely. There is a large waterproof parasol over the hot tub so even if it is raining it doesn't matter. In fact there's something rather lovely about sitting in the hot tub with a glass of prosecco when it IS pouring down!
Breakfast was delivered to our room each morning and was of a good quality and plentiful.
The location of the hotel is ideal with the lake and numerous bars and restaurants all within 5 minutes walk. All the staff we came across were friendly and helpful and a special thanks must go to Elena.
As suggested by other reviewers it may be worth considering some sort of cover for the 2 windows in the bedroom as they do look out onto the car park but this certainly didn't detract from a wonderful stay. It really was a Sanctuary and escape from reality for a couple of wonderful days.
P.S. The strawberries dipped in chocolate are exquisite.

Room Tip: The Sanctuary is expensive but if you can, it is well worth treating yourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandjulia007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We stayed for three nights in a luxury room (12) and took advantage of an offer they had on - champagne on arrival and complementary boat trip on the lake. The room was lovely, especially the bath! Worth noting that there is no stand-up shower in this room but there is a shower head for hair-washing. Customer service was excellent - checking if everything was ok, chocolates on the bed at night, very efficient room service, wide range of DVDs you could borrow etc. etc. Breakfast was very nice. Excellent location - a couple of minutes walk to the lake and lots of great restaurants.

Room Tip: Some reviewers mention noise - room 12 was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalkara, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Boyfriend and I, together with another couple, stayed for 3 nights for daughter's graduation in Carlisle.

I expected better but can only be vague - I'm not sure exactly what I expected though comments on Tripadviser are very positive. It was sort of all front and no substance.

There was no bar but staff provided the drinks we ordered at reception. Our superior room was small and stuffy and I didn't find the mattress comfortable, so slept badly. It was a sort of memory foam thing and I know some people swear by them. Chocolates were provided and a soft toy was placed on the bed together with imitation rose petals. There was a rubber duck in the bathroom.

Breakfast was good and staff couldn't have done more but really, I can't believe this is the best accommodation the Lake District has to offer. We would definitely look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 724jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing