We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely . Will go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely . Will go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has gone up in price a lot since we last stayed a few years ago - but you can see why the price is do different . The staff and service are fantastic . We had a problem while there but the staff helped immediately .
Would recommend and hopefully visit again .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairefletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,360
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,354
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We have just returned from 4 night's at The Cranleigh and all of the five star reviews are justified.
From the excellent breakfast offering lot's of choice to the king size comfortable bed,brilliant bathroom and the very attentive and helpful staff. The added bonus was being able to use the spa at the Macdonalds Hotel a short walk away which was first class.
Well done The Cranleigh!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which is at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edson69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

After spending the bank holiday weekend at The Cranleigh, I really didn't want to leave.
It was our first weekend away together as a couple, and my partner had arranged for rose petals to be scattered on the bed, and chocolates and champagne to be waiting for us to arrive. The room (number 12) couldn't have been more beautiful, with it's super king size bed and an absolutely gorgeous bathroom - 2 person bath, with air jets and a TV to watch as you relax in amongst the bubbles. Not forgetting the rubber duck that you get in every room (a little touch that i personally think is a very good gimick!
We had an amazing night's sleep in the huge bed, that made you want to fall asleep as soon as your head hit the pillow!!
Breakfast was delicious. A table set up in the centre of the room offers cereal, fruit salad, pastries, milk and juice, while menus on each table offers a full english breakfast (or variations of), eggs benedict, etc, alongside hot drinks and toast. My partner was more than happy with his full english, and even struggled to finish it, while my sausage, bacon and scrambled eggs were all cooked to perfection!
The reception staff were extremely helpful, advising us on the quickest way to walk to the restaurant we had booked for dinner on Friday night.

All in all, The Cranleigh is definitely a place we will be visiting again, we both had such a great time, and it was made all the better by staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandyKiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Fantastic stay again at The Cranleigh our second time at The Escape suite as well as our other stay at The Hideout Boutique House .. The Cranleigh really stands out to me as being the best place to stay at as a couple for the fantastic hospitality, the modern decor and furnishings as well as the mood lit air spa baths with TVs and the fact its an adults only break! ..
on this occasion me and my partner also had chance to make full use of the to free spa passes inclusive of our stay at the MacDonald old English spa which was perfect as the weather was a bit rainy !....
i definitely recommend to those couples looking for a romantic break away as well as a fantastic service with a smile :)... we will be back again!... (please see photos sent )

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaelhampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked to stay for 1 night as a short break and a little time to relax, we stayed in room 12 which is lovely, the bathroom is great although we did have a little trouble with the controller for the bath, the jacuzzi kept turning on all by itself! We were luckily enough to be able to stay for a second night but had to change to room 2, which was smaller but just as nice.

Breakfast was really good both mornings, my fiancé was a big fan of the boiled duck eggs with asparagus!

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank northsouth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cranleigh, it was superb. We stayed in room 3 which, whilst not the biggest, had everything we could wish for. The chocolates, rose petals and Huggie bear were very welcome after a long journey, as was the complimentary prosecco before we went out in the evening. The room was spotlessly clean, everything has been thought of, loads of sockets, great lighting and a proper hairdryer! The staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent, all freshly made to order.The hotel is just up the hill from the lake and there are plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Only one very small critiscism, the bed was a bit too soft for us but that's just a personal opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We booked a luxury room (no 16) for a two night stay on Sunday evening. Our room was very contemporary and beautifully decorated as is the rest of the hotel. The reception staff were very efficient and extremely helpful, no task too small. Breakfast was also lovely with plenty of choice including vegetarian options. The bathroom was also very luxurious with a spa bath and small flat screen TV mounted at one end. I particularly enjoyed the spa bath and mood lighting - a lovely way to relax at the end of the day. My ONLY critisicm was that the room had no air conditioning, but we got around this by using the electric fan that was provided in the room.

The location of the hotel was perfect, less than a five minute walk to the lake and abundent restaurants. I would recommend the Bodega tapas bar and Village Inn restaurant (food was amazing).

We would love to come back to The Cranleigh at some point, maybe next time we will think about booking a suite (as we felt the luxury room was a little on the small side).

I would definitely recommend The Cranleigh to anyone looking at staying in Bowness-on-Windermere.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing