We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed in Luxury Room 14 on the 24th April, The receptionist was very friendly and offered to carry our bags to the room. On arrival in the room, there were complimentary chocolates on the bed along with rose petals (not paid for, so a very nice touch) also a huggie bear on the bed with a story about adopting him (very cute) and a Cranleigh rubber duck (nearly brought him home with me!). The bathroom was amazing, with separate shower and air spa bath with a TV at one end. The room was immaculately clean and could not fault anything. It was a lovely day, which did result in the room getting very warm whilst getting ready but there was a fan available in the room. That evening we ate at Porto restaurant just a few minutes walk from the hotel, the food there was amazing and I would highly recommend it, there were many other restaurants just a short stroll from the hotel aswell. When we arrived back at the hotel, the mood lighting had been switched on, the room tidied and more chocolates on the bed! We ordered a film and bottle of champagne to the room, which were delivered within minutes, nothing was too much for the receptionist and she was always happy to help. The bed was extremely comfy and although building work was going on across the road this did not disrupt our stay at all. The breakfast was lovely again nothing too much hassle for the staff. Overall a fantastic place to stay with lovely added extras, superb place to celebrate. The following day we made use of the Spa facilities nearby, a lovely way to finish our break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca_Ciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
What a lovely all rounded review, thank you so much for taking the time to write this. We’re really glad that you have had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed all that the rooms and facilities offer, friendly service and the added extras also . We wish you had taken the duck, we have ordered some extras this week so that our guests can start a little duck family!! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,353
    200
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
24
1,344
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

I booked this surprise for my husbands birthday. Loved the room, and the added touch of the TV at one end of the jacuzzi bath. We of course fought for the best end. Breakfast was good.
The short walk into Windermere took us all of a couple of minutes.
Great location. Loved it.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your stay with us. We’re really happy that our hotel matched your expectations and that we could be that special place to celebrate your husbands birthday. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

We've just had a wonderful short break at the Cranleigh hotel and it was perfect for our romantic weekend away.

When we checked-in the greeting from the receptionist was warm and friendly. The hotel is very nicely decorated with quality furnishings.

We stayed in room 11 which is in the annex building just a few metres away from the main hotel. The room was very nicely decorated to a high standard with a good sized bed, plenty of storage, wall mounted tv in the bedroom and a fabulous jacuzzi bath (with hand shower and flat screen. tv). On arrival the bed was scattered with rose petals and a small box of very nice chocolates. These were replenished every day.

The breakfast on both days was superb. We ordered different a breakfast each morning and each course was cooked perfectly and very well presented. Top quality!

The hotel has free parking and is located approx 300 metres from the town centre and lake. Residents can use the free spa at the old English hotel in town but we didn't get chance to use it.

Overall, this hotel is excellent. Two nights in the superior room was £350 and although this may appear expensive, spending the extra money really made the weekend feel extra romantic and special. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, the decor, the staff and the quality of the food and service. Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarkiefrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time to review the hotel. We love your statement “I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, the decor, the staff and the quality of the food and service. Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.”

We’re really pleased that you had a romantic stay with us and that we could help create special memories.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Had heard lots of very good things prior to booking so very much looking forward to the stay. We stayed 2 nights on a deal where we had champagne waiting in the room (luxury room 14) on arrival and a free huggie bear, very nice! I was very happy with our stay and there were a number of positives, namely:

Very nice breakfast and stff more than happy to let you mix and match items!
Excellent staff service at breakfast and very helpful receptionist who advised us on walks. Also nice touch to have a courtesy call shortly after settling into the room and after we left
Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean- couldn't fault this
Spa bath and shower in room were amazing!
Nice toiletries which were topped up each day and lovely turn down service with chocolates left on the pillows with rose petals and complimentary filtered water much appreciated
Gorgeous views of the lake and we enjoyed the spa facilities at the nearby hotel
Very comfy bed

Only slight areas for improvement I could see (and I'm being picky here trying to find any!) were possibly more selection in in room drinks (my partner doesn't like tea/coffee so maybe some hot chocolate sachets and sweetener), blinds didn't make room fully dark when closed and possibly a mini fridge/mini bar in luxury rooms. Also check in was 3pm and check out was 11am and would have possibly preferred check in 2pm and check out 12pm so we could enjoy more of the room, especially for those staying one night only.

One downside for us was it was unfortunately quite hot in the room despite us turning the heaters off and the underfloor heating off so I had to get up in the night to open windows and we were then awoken very early on both days by building work in the hotel across the road, not the hotels fault I know but may have been helpful to prewarn us of this as they started around 7am and it was very loud. However, this did not ruin our stay and I would love to return and stay in one of the suites. Seemed a little expensive but good value on the deal so would definitely return again on an offer. Doing a great job!

Room Tip: Luxury 14 great as had shower and bath and view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks very much for placing a comprehensive review on the hotel. We’re really pleased that you were happy with your stay.
Your recommendations have been passed to management for review.
We ensure that all rooms have a fan within so that guests can remain cool on particular warm days and extra fans are available also although we appreciate that through the night you are very unlikely to come and request for this! Regarding the building work over the road we have spoken to the hotel since your review to reduce the impact on our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My boyfriend booked us in for a one night stay on the 14th April 2014. From the moment we arrived, the receptionist was extremely friendly and could not do enough for us, even carrying my bag up to our room when we were shown to our room. We stayed in Luxury Room 9 which however a little on the small side was beautiful. Neil had paid for extras.... rose petals, teddy bear and chocolates which were gorgeous for a romantic break, it does make a difference to any lady.The bathroom was equally beautiful, with fantastic separate shower and air spa bath. together with heated flooring. Nice extras was also included, I have stayed in many deluxe hotels and never had cotton buds and sanitary products available so again a very nice touch. The use of the spa at the Mcdonald hotel was fab too. Breakfast we could not fault and overall the hotel was spotless. A very romantic hotel so I can see why it has won so many awards and had many write ups in the local press for the many wedding proposals. I would totally recommend anyone staying here. The extra bonus was we had beautiful weather for the two days and Bowness is really a lovely place to visit. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for placing your lovely review on TripAdvisor. We’re really pleased that our staff could not do enough for you and that the hotel presented itself as romantic. Thank you for your recommendations and we really hope to welcome you back to the area in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

From the moment we arrived we felt the staff really cared. Elena greeted us warmly, and showed us around our room, even explaining the odd noise the bath makes whilst auto cleaning (really useful or I would have thought I'd broken it). The room was so perfect, not as large as I expected but that didn't matter as everything was luxurious and so very comfortable. Once again, the staff with attention to detail made the room even nicer...everything topped up and rose petals rearranged every time we returned. Breakfast was a treat, Eggs Benedict is sublime, and to meet staff who are genuinely so friendly, makes me believe the Cranleigh is a great place to work. The location couldn't better, so close to the heart of the lake, restaurants and shops. My only criticism is that fellow guests, next door...downstairs and upstairs could definitely be heard, both in the throws of passion and with the odd row! We made a conscious effort to be very quiet in response to this. Overall, we were extremely happy and would definitely stay here again and again and again. Thankyou so very much xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misstlw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thanks very much for placing your review on the hotel. It sounds like you had a nice break away. We can only apologise regarding the noise from other guests, we do try our hardest to minimise such issues nut naturally when you stay in a hotel we can’t diminish it all. We hope that you weren’t too disturbed by other guests. We also thank you for making a considerate conscious effort in response to the noise from yourselves… you sound like the perfect guests! We would love to welcome you back in the future!

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

My husband and I spent two nights at the cranleigh for our honeymoon in January. We arrived earlier than check in and asked if we could leave our bags anywhere, our room was ready so the friendly staff let us check in straight away. The room was faultless, all the little finishing touches really do count, made our stay perfect. My only fault would be the extravagant prices but with the fantastic deals held regularly I'm sure we'll manage a second visit and I can't wait! For anyone thinking of going look out for the two-night deals...one night would not be enough!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time to come back and tell us all about your special break with us. We’re really glad your stay was “perfect”. We hope to welcome you back in the future for many more happy memories.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing