We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here 30th December to 2nd January for our “minimoon”. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the receptionist who was very friendly and polite, we could not have wished for a more sincere greeting. We were taken to our room and could not have been more pleased! Our family had paid for extras including chocolates, champagne and the teddy, these just added to the room. We stayed in luxury room 6 and were blown away with the attention to detail, knowing this was a unique room designed for romance. The bathroom was fantastic, it was great to have the separate shower as well as the air spa bath, again adding to the romance of the location. We made use of the spa helping us to relax after the build up to our wedding day, which is a must visit!
The breakfast was really tasty, and was just what was needed!
This truly is the most romantic hotel and I would recommend anyone to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks ever so much for dropping on by to place a review on the hotel, we know how busy our lives can get so it means a lot that you came back to tell us all about your stay a few months down the line from it.
It sounds like you had the perfect romantic relaxing break following your wedding, which certainly pleases us, we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Just on way home from a couple of days at the Cranleigh. We love this place as it oozes quality, luxury and romance. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff as they endeavour to make your stay an enjoyable one, no matter how many times you visit (and you probably will return!). Just one tiny suggestion....it would be nice to see a 'romance' section in the dvd library (seeing as the hotel is already ranked the most romantic) there's comedy, thriller, horror, scifi etc....but no romance! This is by no means a reason not to visit the Cranleigh (I just remembered this on the way home!) We will always recommend this beautiful place. Book a table at Jacksons....2 min walk down the road...Scott and Andrew are a fab team!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank jueju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks so much for placing a review on the hotel, especially as it is evident that you have been to stay with us a number of times. Your comment “We love this place as it oozes quality, luxury and romance” is just brilliant! We take your feedback on board regarding the DVD selection and I’ll put this very good suggestion to the hotel manager for you. Thank you for your recommendations and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 2 nights on their spring deal and must say it was as good as we imagined

Stayed in Room 13, which was decorated beautifully with a big comfy bed and the spa bath was amazing! Slight wear and tear on the shower screen and towel rack but nothing that made any impact on our views of the place, really top class place to stay.

Breakfast was all presented nicely and top quality taste too with a nice little selection of other options like ceral, pastries etc.

The spa facilities you get to use are also very nice and situated close to the boutique, pool could do with being a bit bigger but still a plus to be able to use them while staying at The Cranleigh.

Finally, the staff were all well presented, friendly and couldn't so enough to help you.

If our 'superior room' was as nice as it was I can't imagine the quality of the 'Luxury Rooms' and the suites.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jak H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks for placing a review on the hotel; I’ve fed back your feedback regarding the shower screen and towel rack to the hotel manager. It’s lovely to hear comments like “really top class place to stay” and “it was as good as we imagined”.

Thanks for choosing the hotel and we really hope to welcome you back to the area in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed at the Cranleigh on 17th April for 2 nights. We arrived too early for check in, but the reception staff were more than happy to look after our bags while we had lunch in the village. When we returned to check in, our bags had already been brought to our room which was a nice touch, as was the chocolates and Huggie bear. Our room was perfect for us, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom underfloor heating and waterfall shower was fantastic. We ordered room service which was value for money and speedy fast! The breakfast the next morning was delicious, the staff friendly and efficient. We then went out for a walk to Brant Fell where my boyfriend proposed! On return to the hotel, they had candles, rose petals and champagne waiting in the room, which topped off a perfect day! The staff were so nice! We then walked over to the spa, which was nice but a bit small as it was a busy Easter weekend. I cannot think of a single thing to complain about at the Cranleigh. I've already recommended it to friends and family and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Oh how lovely! What a great review, thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay with us. I think we’ll use this within our marketing. Many Congratulations to you both. We thank you for all of your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back for many more happy memories in the future.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 15th April for 2 nights. This hotel is faultless, the staff can not do enough for you and really lovely. The room was absolutely gorgeous, we were in room 7 which has recently been decorated, its very classy and modern. The bathroom was fantastic with the spa bath along with TV! On arrival we had a bottle of champagne in the room as we booked 2 nights with an offer, and each night our bed was made with chocolates on the pillow - which I loved! The breakfast was delicious. The location is ideal just a minutes walk to the village with lots of restaurants and little shops, and of course the lake. Overall I honestly wouldn't fault a thing, the hotel is luxurious and the staff are lovely, and I would recommend to anyone in need of a special treat. Thanks for an amazing stay!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Charli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thanks ever so much for taking some time out to place a review on the Cranleigh. It’s great that you found the hotel “faultless” this makes us proud and gives us the knowledge that we’re all doing our jobs well. Thanks for giving us great feedback on the hotel breakfast - a regular Brownie point winner for us and the staff of course too.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Firstly I would like to Thank all the staff at Cranleigh who went totally out of there way to give us a great experience. The suite we booked was perfection, so clean & very modern. Great location minute walk to shops, restaurants, spa, bar ect. Lake view & very close. Loads of activity around lake eg renting boats, trips ect. We had breakfast in bed in the morning which was spot on a specially as I am a Vegan & they catered to my eating requirements. I would 100% recommend this fabulous hotel :)

Room Tip: The bigger the better :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Thank you very much for passing on your thanks, we’re really pleased that you had the experience you deserve! It’s also great to hear you were more than satisfied with the breakfast given your specific dietary requirements, we try our best to accommodate everyone.
Thanks for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on 12.03.14. It was supposed to be a nice romantic break away but it turned out he had to have an operation on his hand that morning so we didn't arrive until late at night. The receptionist when we got there was so helpful after we said he had had an op that day and went out of her way to help us upstairs. She recommended a lovely place for us to eat as we were starving. The room was stunning. There was champagne waiting for us (although my partner was still a bit woozy, I really enjoyed it!!) and there were petals on the bed along with a box of gorgeous luxury chocolates. Huge bathroom and the shower was amazing. The spa bath was lovely and my boyfriend thought the idea of having a TV in the bath was amazing!!! The breakfast was wonderful and there was plenty of it. We were due to go on the lake cruise but my partner didn't get much sleep as he was in pain with his hand and so we decided to go home earlier than expected and so we also didnt have chance to use the spa facilities but this is at a McDonald Hotel down the road so no doubt it would have been delightful. This was a wonderful treat for us and I will most certainly book again. I have also liked their page on Facebook which has details of offers and competitions! Well worth the add!!
Thank you again x

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we hope your husband is well and truly on the mend. We love to referral to Facebook also as we do have a lot of information on there and of course the competitions!
We’re really glad you had a comfortable break despite everything and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $166 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing