We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world ~ best hotel we have ever stayed in x”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Headed there for 1 night, 2nd March. We stayed in the luxuriously beautiful Suite 10, it was a suite dreams are made of. Beautiful décor, fabulous spa bath, could not fault a single thing about the suite. From the luxurious surroundings, the warm & caring staff, to the delicious breakfast provide, have to say this has been the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a few 4/5 star hotels.

Room Tip: Suite 10 was superb, as are all the rooms
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks Anna for your fantastic review. It’s always lovely to get comments on TripAdvisor but hearing things like “have to say this has been the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed in a few 4/5 star hotels” is such brilliant feedback.
We hope to welcome you back to the Cranleigh in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for Cranleigh Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a great time at the Cranleigh. Staff are wonderful, the room was perfect and the eggs benedict and english breakfast sublime. The location is spot on, only a short walk from the lake and an abundance of cafes and restaurants. The Cranleigh staff are happy to recommend places to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwfcwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks so much for placing a lovely all round review on the hotel; we’re glad that we hit the spot for you. I must admit my favourite on the breakfast menu is also Eggs Benedict!
Hope to welcome you back to the Lakes at a later date.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend as birthday treat for her birthday and we both absolutely loved it!

The room was luxurious, the staff kind and helpfull in every aspect, the breakfast was amazing, hotel well placed in Bowness with access easily into town. We were both thoroughly impressed and would love too stay again in the future

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patch016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind review. We’re really pleased you were impressed by the hotel and that you loved your stay! W would love for you to come back and stay in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really nice , relaxing atmosphere. service was friendly and prompt. room was clean and very cozy. breakfast was lovely. definitely recommend the Cranleigh. situated nicely outside of the village but not too far away from the shops, restaurants and the lake. only grumble is the parking, which is ok at the front but a bit crammed at the back. all in all it was the perfect place to get away with my girlfriend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks for your recommendations and your kind words on the breakfast, service, location and your room. It sounds like you had a lovely break with the Cranleigh as the setting.
We do have limited parking at the front of the hotel; we have spaces at the back and also a spill over car park very near too. The parking within the town as a whole is really not great (and expensive) so we feel quite fortunate to be able to offer all our guests a free space all within a short distance to the hotel though in an ideal world we agree our spaces would be bigger and our spill over car park nearer too (that said it's a short walk away).

We hope to welcome you back in the future and thank you very much for taking the time to place a review on the hotel.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Bowness on a cold wet sunday afternoon a good 2 hours before check in, and just as we were about to park my mobile went and the cranleigh were calling to say the hideout was ready early if we wanted it! fantastic timing.
from the outside it doesnt look like I was imagining but as soon as you walk in its pure heaven.the attention to detail on everything is first class and its gadgets are great
very relaxing and comfortable stay, it is pricey but you get what you pay for and I would return
breakfast was good and staff very helpfull
thank you cranleigh

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Excellent news that you could check-in early, we do try to offer this as much as possible but it all depends on cleaning times ect and sometimes this isn't possible, so as you say fantastic timing for you two.
If you put pictures of the inside and outside together you wouldn’t think that they would be the same building, it’s great how mysterious the Hideout is from the outside.
We’re glad that you describe the boutique house as “pure heaven” and it’s lovely to hear that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay here. We hope to welcome you back in the future, thanks for your review!

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I have just returned from a surprise overnight stay at The Cranleigh Boutique and it was the perfect treat for a special birthday. My Husband booked Suite 10, which had its own entrance separate to the main hotel. As soon as you enter the hotel, you are greeted by the most beautiful smell and opulent decor. We were shown to our room, as other guests have mentioned in their reviews, this made for a lovely touch and we were shown where to find the important things, like the mini bar and hair dryer.

The room was just beautiful, gorgeous roman blinds at the windows, fabulous mirrored bedroom furniture with a seating area situated in a bay window. The bathroom had the biggest jacuzzi bath I have ever seen. No shower, but that didn't matter as there was a hand held shower head as part of the bath and it was so deep that you could get away with a shower, sort of. Our stay was just lovely and the breakfast was fantastic, Michaela was incredibly helpful and all staff were friendly and attentive. There were homemade chocolates on the bed and they were beautiful. It's the little touches!

For dinner we ventured out to a local restaurant, Postilion, a short walk from the hotel. The food was fantastic, staff and service excellent and we will most definitely be back to both the hotel and the restaurant soon.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to review the hotel especially as your stay was in the summer. Oh yes the baths are just perfect for relaxing in especially after a day on the bikes or the fells! We will very much look forward to seeing you again in March.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We went for our wedding anniversary last July. We loved it! Even checking in was a pleasure - we were taken to our room (9) which was a nice touch - you usually get told the way & no more. Right in the eaves, it certainly had plenty of character. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & thoughtful. There were chocolates in the room upon arrival & everything we asked for was no trouble at all. We had taken the bikes for a leisurely ride out - though once we found Strawberry Bank it was anything but!! The bath afterwards certainly helped!! Breakfast was brilliant - how the staff managed to remain calm when there were so many guests is beyond me. We are returning in March & can't wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma D, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Ooooops - we've made a slight human error!

This review relates to the "Perfect 40th Birthday Treat" Review and vice versa!

First and foremost – Happy 40th Birthday! Secondly, what a lovely surprise for you! We’re glad you liked the extra touches to the service which we deliver and that you thought the room was beautiful also. It’s always so nice to hear that we have helped guests have a lovely stay especially when there is a celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $169 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing