We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was like a dream”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Was like a dream”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We arrived after an elopement at Gretna green to the escape suite for two nights on a Friday and Saturday. We arrived to a very polite and friend lady whose badge showed as 'duty manager' who showed us to a great place to park and out suite. We had seen the pictures and videos but was still amazed on sight of the room and was left a complimentry box of cranleigh chocolate with a lovely card with congratulations on our wedding day. What a lovely touch, thank you. We didn't want to leave the room that night to explore bowness because we felt guilty leaving such luxury but we did nip out for an hour for tea then came back and decided to order a bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate which was the biggest juiciest berries we've had in a long time! Delish!!! We ordered a DVD from a huge range in the book and enjoyed a night in. Next morning we had chosen to have breakfast to our room with came in luxurious fashion. As I sat in the hotels bathrobe and slippers I felt like 'pretty woman' with this breakfast banquet lol it was so delicious and well presented. Supurb. We cannot rate this room enough and although we did look at higher priced the sanctuary and hideout suites we don't think it would have been anymore enjoyable for us. The customer service was impeccable and on the second evening we only popped out for something to eat and somebody had come in, turned the bed down and left little boxes with chocolates on our pillows. Nice touch. I could add and go on for ever as the owners really did think of everything while planning and designing this place it truely was like living in a dream. We are already saving to come back, although the room rates are very fair compared to other hotels charging more and nowhere near as nice... We left 4 children at home so have to save to come back and we cannot wait!!!! Well done to the cranleigh team!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyattmachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the weekend for a birthday celebration and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves from start to finish. Reading rave reviews of hotels can sometimes lead to high expectations which can often lead to disappointment. Not The Cranleigh though. With the bar set high in our mind it was incredible to arrive to such a warm and friendly welcome (special shout out to Alice).

Room 3 was perfect for us. The girlfriend is a big fan of pink so this room was made for her. The room was a good size and the bed was comfy. Couldn’t ask for much more really!! On the second night we returned to romantic turn down package which was incredible. The attention to detail was excellent.

Breakfast was very good and accommodating for those that require a gluten free diet. We also recommend using the SPA...good facilities and a nice place to relax!

Already told friends and family about this place...
what a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BornToTravel1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Having seen the rave reviews of the hotel and awards we booked a superior double room number 13 for my wifes birthday. We had high hopes upon arrival but although the room was pleasant enough was a little on the small side to what we expected. The bathroom although again a little small had a lovely bath and was very romantic. They had put rose petals on the bed as ordered and delivered the prosecco which was nicely chilled, cannot fault the service at all. Room was a little on the warm side but having the window open next to the road wasnt ideal.

We found out that the spa was actually in another hotel and a little walk away although you were allowed 3 hours there, 1 hour was enough with just a single swimming pool (no hydrotherapy pool) and the usual sauna / steam / cold room.

Breakfast was good but not amazing food quality wise although well cooked, afterwards we were lucky enough to see 2 of the "feature" rooms including the hideout. The hideout looks fantastic and if we were to visit again we'd stay there but having stayed at other 5 star hotels I have to say we've experienced better stays and better rooms for the price getting better value for money.

Overall very good service, good staff. Would recommend but only if staying in a "feature" room based purely on what we saw.

Room Tip: Pick a feature
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil_Lilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to place a review on the Cranleigh and for recognising your room to be pleasant and over all for your rating of a ‘Very Good’ Standard. Due to the size of the hotel we have a selection of rooms available and they are all so different. Our website gives a good indication of the rooms available. If you’re looking to return in the future please do call reception, as they are always happy to help when it comes to picking the best room to suit.

We’re sorry you weren’t aware the Spa facilities weren’t on site. The Spa is located approximately two to three minutes walk away. This information is available on the website and it is also contained within the confirmation letter/email sent on booking.

Thanks in advance for your recommendations. Our suites are definitely very popular due to the various additions e.g. Hottub and new technological features. They do give you more than other rooms but this is reflected in the price also. We have a good tier system for room standards at the hotel and again please do phone reception if you are concerned about which room you’re booking or if you have special requirements or just certain desires as they are genuinely happy to help.

Reception Tel: 015394 43293

Thank you once again, we hope to welcome you again in the future. All the best, the Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights 28 th sept to the 30 th , service was fab , the standard room we had was lovely .
Breakfast was also lovely , can't fault it , would recommend for any couple a very relaxing break

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks for placing a review on the Cranleigh. It sounds like you had a nice, relaxing romantic break which is the aim of the game so thanks for sharing this with us. Thanks in advance also for your recommendations. Kind Regards, the Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stewarton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Thanks very much for my prize.... Still cant believe I won through The Cranleigh facebook page. My prize included overnight stay, bottle of champagne in room, chocolates, rose petals on bed, breakfast, and a meal for 2 at Porto with drink. the Cranleigh Bowness on Windermere is absolutely Stunning, from the minute we arrived the staff were fab and couldn't do enough for us. Rooms are out of the world.. Keep up the good work. I cant thank you enough for my prize. Thanks again x

Room Tip: you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dezdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to review the hotel and well done on winning your prize. We’re really glad you had a nice stay and that you thought the hotel was stunning. Thanks for your recommendations and support. Hopefully we’ll see you again in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had an excellent couple of days at the Cranleigh. We were thoroughly looked after from start to finish. Room, service and breakfast were top quality. No complaints. Will definitely return. Although next time I want to stay in the hideout


Thanks very much

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We’re glad you had a ‘fantastic’ time with us and that everything was to your satisfaction and more. The Hideout house is superb and definitely well worth a visit. If you need any advise on your next booking don’t hesitate to contact reception. Thanks for placing your review it’s always nice to hear from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend booked to stay here as a surprise for my birthday, he couldn't have picked a better hotel. From the moment we checked in until the moment we checked out we were well looked after. The rooms are brilliant, very cosy, super comfy bed and I loved the spa bath! Breakfast was delicious, I chose to have duck eggs with asparagus soldiers each morning, it was nice to see something different on the menu! Location is superb, plenty of restaurants and things to do nearby! As myself and my partner both work in the hospitality industry we often find that we can be very critical, but we were both able to completely relax here and neither of us has a bad word to say about it. Would love to return one day! Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaninski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What a lovely surprise for your birthday! Thanks for taking the time out to write a review on us. It pleases us even more knowing that you’re both in the industry and that you could fully relax at the hotel. We understand your points on this completely as it is very difficult staying in hotels - you seem to adapt your own thinking and processes and it is difficult sometimes to completely unwind in a similar environment. Thanks once again, the feedback on the breakfast is valuable considering a post lately which was negative towards our breakfasts… there is such variety on their that it did confuse us. All the best, we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing