We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Romantic”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My hubby to be booked this for our anniversary last weekend. We had the most amazing time here... Everything was perfect and our room 16 was gorgeous even breakfast was perfect everything way beyond expectations. We will definatly be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdawber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We will certainly look forward to seeing you again then providing you with many more amazing memories - many thanks for the review and Happy Anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
26
1,385
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Me & my husband hired out the hideout boutique for 2 nights, from beginning to end everything was fantastic! The place was spotless when we arrived & everything was there that we could of possibly needed. The breakfast was gorgeous too. Lovely staff, nothing was a bother. Highly recommend. May seem expensive to some but definitely worth it! Well done cranleigh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesssez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback it really is greatly appreciated, especially as The Hideout is a new venture of ours! It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much so that you wanted to stay! It is also a positive for us to know that you think the same as our selves – it’s great value for money and well worth every penny! We hope to see you again in the future, thanks again from all of the team at The Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have just spent 3 wonderful nights in room 14 and luxury it was.
Room immaculate and service from everyone who works at the cranleigh was excellent.
Breakfast was yummy yummy yummy!!!
Will definitely be returning as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel; your support is greatly appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will happily pass your kind comments on to our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We won a night in a luxury suite with champagne as well as dinner in the Porto restaurant as part of a Facebook competition. Needless to say we were very pleased when I received my winning email and phoned to book luxury room 5. The competition is a fantastic idea as it shows confidence by the owner in his hotel so we were really looking forward to arriving and getting settled in...

On arrival we parked with no issues - there are spaces front and back, I parked at the back. In reception we were greeted by a pleasant lady who got us checked in and shown to our room within minutes.

The room was stunning - plenty of space including a large cupboard, a super comfy bed, big flat- screen TV and lots of other bits and bobs you'd expect in a good hotel. The decor was contemporary and there had obviously been a lot of time and effort put into the ambiance of the bedroom.

The bathroom was brilliant with its huge bath (big enough for 2) with jacuzzi jets and TV as well as the large shower. I particularly liked the lighting in the bathroom as it was a good mix between coloured mood lighting and regular lighting.

Once we'd spent a short time unpacking and enjoying the room we took ourselves off for a swim in the MacDonald hotel down the road - we'd been here to use the facilities a few times in the past so knew it'd be nice. Great to be able to access it as part of The Cranleigh though.

On our return from the pool we popped the champagne that had been put on ice for our arrival - another nice touch if you are looking to treat yourself - it was brilliant sitting in the bath with the jacuzzi and a glass of fizz!

Later on we went to the Porto restaurant which shares the same high standards as The Cranleigh, but I'll write a separate review for it. While we were out our bed was turned down which is one of my favourite things, not many places in the UK seem to do it anymore (from what I've experienced).

Had a very good night's sleep and didn't want to leave the bed but the promise of a full English breakfast tempted us downstairs and once again we weren't disappointed - I particularly liked how they use grilled cherry tomatoes.

We went for another swim after checking out then set off back to London feeling very relaxed and pleased with our stay. We both agreed that the customer service was the right balance between leaving you in privacy but knowing that if you needed anything you could call the front desk and it would be arranged.

We highly recommend The Cranleigh and it will be our accommodation of choice on our next visit to the Lakes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h_andy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davyhulme Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in The Hideout Boutique House on the 4th May 2013, Absolutely amazing place, out of this world, alot of thought has gone into this house, as soon as you open the door its mind blowing, pictures dont do it any justice, the mood lighting was awesome, and sets the mood, the spa is just out of this world, not forgetting to mention your own private bar, the bedroom was amazing, very comfy bed, slept like a log! So relaxing,one night wasnt enough really to make the most of the house or to take it all in and enjoy everything there, , definatly coming back but for a weekend next time. And will stock up so no need to leave the house all weekend, definatly as its described a hideout, Loved every minute! The money is well worth it to have such fantastic memories. Hotel staff we met on check in and out were extremely pleasant and very helpful! "Cranleigh" we love you, see you soon, hopefully sooner than you think ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cheekaboo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My partner and I stayed in The Sanctuary suite. He asked specifically for champagne and rose petals and it made the most romantic setting for his proposal, needless to say I said YES!! The breakfast was brought down to the suite and was excellent. The room was spotless and turned over lovely on an evening after returning from a meal in Bowness. The bath was amazing, loving the T.V at the end of it and the LED lights in the shower made it very relaxing. The hot tub (which we had for private use) was fantastic and being able to listen to the radio in the main room, bathroom and outside was an added bonus! The fire looked great and with the under floor heating the room was lovely and cosy. The facilities in the room were top notch, everything was best of the best. All of the staff were very helpful and polite, even when it was raining one of the receptionists brought us a DVD down!! Wonderful stay and would definately recomend this to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Congratulations! We are so happy you said YES! It was very exciting to see the rose petals on the bed – ‘Will You’ very romantic and we agree the perfect setting for such special occasions. We are always happy to help with specific requests, making our guests’ stays as enjoyable as possible is what drives us each day. Hearing such wonderful news makes all our efforts all the worthwhile!

We will pass your feedback on to our staff as it is important to us to hear positive feedback like this. Thank you very much for the review, we look forward to hopefully welcoming you in the future… who knows maybe for the honeymoon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Loved this place on ur recent trip to the lakes. Got a 2 day mid-week package deal whch worked out fantastic value (£125 p/n). Rooms are absolutely spot-on, LEDs and heated floors in the shower room and exceptionally comfy beds. Breakfast was great (great choice and quality, inc gluten-free) and we also loved the evening turn-down service with chocolates, as well as the superb 42" flat screen and the in-room teds. Only slight gripe is that parking is fairly tight in some of the spaces round the back if you arrive late and I was slightly worried aboout getting my baby Mini Cooper S convertible pranged. Otherwise top notch and definitely recommended.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bocadill0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review your feedback is very important to us, we are continually striving to ensure that we make The Cranleigh a special place for our guests and we are glad that you loved so much about our rooms and the hotel.

To advise on the parking issue we do have an overspill Car Park about a minutes walk away from the hotel. We agree - the back can be a bit of a squeeze (Parking is a general issue within the local area and more so if we are having a particular busy night). This area may be more suitable for future occasions as we have 8 further spaces here. Please request for directions at reception and our receptionists will be happy to advise on the location. We hope to see you again at The Cranleigh and many thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,877 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing