We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at a good price”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great hotel, perfect for a romantic get away. I stayed in room 12 a few weeks ago, the bath is amazing :D The room was immaculate and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast was delicious too, definitely going back soon :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are pleased to hear your romantic stay with us was to your liking. Hope to see you again soon.

18 individual rooms to choose from. Number 1 on Trip Advisor and located perfectly near to Lake Windermere. To see all our rooms and videos click on our web link above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,698)
There are newer reviews for Cranleigh Boutique
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,698 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

My parents bought my partner and I a stay in luxury room 12 for xmas. I had mentioned the hotel to them after seeing it on facebook. It looked amazing online and even more fabulous in real life!!!

Elena who helped us with our booking when we thought we couldnt go on the day my parents had booked, was brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and she was really lovely when we arrived.

Our room had an enormous bed and was very tastefully decorated. The bathroom was gorgeous and the mood lighting and air spa bath were perfect for relaxing after a hectic xmas period!!! We even had partial view of lake windermere!

We went out in the evening and the location of the cranleigh could not be any better, just a short stroll away from bars, pubs and restaurants.

When we returned to our room the bed had been turned down and a chocolate left on it for each of us! It really made you feel special.

I cant wait to book again, next time i want to stay in a suite and even debating booking the hideout or the sanctuary for our minimoon when we get married in the next year or two!

Thanks to everyone at the cranleigh, our stay was wonderful in every way, just wish we could have stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hels_n_lawlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Cranleigh last week (Dec 2012) and really didnt want to leave! Everything about this hotel is lovely, the rooms are Devine and the maid service is brilliant, the rooms were always made up beautifully and the little extra touches like turn down chocolates and bath robes just made it feel ultra luxurious!
The Breakfasts were unreal, fresh fruit salad, cereal, pastries and continental meats were just to start....you then had an offering of freshly made bread (walnut and honey was my favourite!) followed by toast and a selection of hot breakfasts including, eggs benedict, full English, smoked salmon, porridge etc..
To top this off, the staff were all delightful and exceptionally helpful...they even have restaurant menus for all the local restaurants so you can scope out where you want to have dinner without leaving your hotel room!
All in all a fantastic hotel and one we will definitely be returning to next year!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff and lovely modern rooms. It really was a home away from home. It's close to the lake and all shops and amenities. Breakfast was also nice. I wouldn't say it's cheap but it's not overly expensive. Will stay again recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollierogers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great hotel with lovely staff, especially Eleana the receptionist, she was knowledgeable to have a chat with, very efficient, helpfull and nothing any problem to her !

Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable,. We were shown round the Sanctuary ,, looks great !!

Breakfast choices were good. My partner especially enjoyed the big plate of porridge before his big breakfast ::))). Nice girls serving up breakfast to.

Small lounge area with cozy fire burning, nice for a coffee or drink on coming or going from hotel. Bowness 2 min walk down hill and yes we shall return again hopefully in Spring. Would certainly recommend to stay here if u are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatarsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Heard about the Cranleigh by a work mate, so checked it out and decided on a short December break. We were not disappointed in the least! Friendly staff who go the extra mile, little touches that made it special and worthy of its 5*. Room 7 was the room we chose, as it was cosy and had a lake view, in part. Champagne and chocolates greeted us on arrival. Super breakfast too, especially the porridge! Lovely coffee by a roaring open fire after a challenging shopping day was welcoming. All in all a great little treasure of a place right on our doorstep. (We live 35 miles away!!) Hope to have a return trip next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Cranleigh for one night in December 2012, recommended by my sister and brother-in-law. The hotel is beautifully decorated, we stayed in Room 9, which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the spa bath in the bathroom was amazing and the television in the bathroom was a lovely addition. Breakfast at the Cranleigh was a lovely experience, the menu choice was impressive and the staff from the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left were outstanding. We will definitely be using this as a base each time we visit the lakes and will be treating ourselves to 'The Hideaway' next time. We would recommend the Cranleigh to anyone and have already persuaded a number of friends to book for a trip early next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $169 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing