We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$345
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$322
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dome House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$299
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lingwood Lodge(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Fell Country House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Old Court House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (1,824)
    Filter reviews
    1,824 results
    Traveler rating
    1,499
    223
    80
    18
    4
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    1,499
    223
    80
    18
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsluxury roommood lightingspa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictchurch suites
    Filter
    Updating list...
    1,283 - 1,288 of 1,824 reviews
    Reviewed December 17, 2012

    We stayed at the Cranleigh for one night in December 2012, recommended by my sister and brother-in-law. The hotel is beautifully decorated, we stayed in Room 9, which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the spa bath in the bathroom was amazing and the television in the bathroom was a lovely addition. Breakfast at the Cranleigh was a lovely experience, the menu choice was impressive and the staff from the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left were outstanding. We will definitely be using this as a base each time we visit the lakes and will be treating ourselves to 'The Hideaway' next time. We would recommend the Cranleigh to anyone and have already persuaded a number of friends to book for a trip early next year.

    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Williams654
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 16, 2012

    It has been three years since we were last at The Cranleigh, and although we promised ourselves to 'come again soon', family circs meant we couldn't. We had booked The Hideaway for a 2 night stay as at our last stay, the manager had kindly allowed us to have a look at it when checking out. On the friday before we were due, I received a call from 'Michaela' advising of an upgrade.to The Sanctuary as work was being done in The Hideway.

    It's one thing to check out what a room looks like on a computer, but it doesn't do it justice. The bed was just so comfortable. The glass bath perfect and shower gorgeous, not forgetting the TV .The whole thing is enhanced by the mood lighting in The Sanctuary. The showpiece hottub which. with music and champagne just makes for a fab experience. It was minus 3 outside but we didn't notice!

    The breakfasts were spot on - full english's one morning and salmon and scrambled eggs for me and english and eggs royale for wifey the next morning.

    Even on a quiet early December monday we found a buzzy and very nice Italian restaurant(Villa Postino) just 5 mins away for an evening meal followed next night by a meal at (Roberto's) which we also enjoyed.

    We also enjoyed the facilities at Old England again which adds to the experience of the break.

    A wonderfully romantic and relaxing end to the year. We WILL be back and it won't be 3 years next time!

    Room Tip: Restaurants refer to ones visited as Cranleigh does not offer a restaurant.
    • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank prestonne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 16, 2012

    We stayed at The Cranleigh a few weeks ago it is beautiful, pure luxury. The staff were very welcoming, outstanding and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in luxury room 6 which was excellent it had a lovely bathroom with heated floors, Air Spa Bath and TV. The Cranleigh is in a excellent location only a couple of minutes walk from the central village.This is definitely the place to be in Bowness on Windermere. Highly recommend. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return. Memories forever.

    Room Tip: All rooms have there own individuality i would recommend looking online to pick your perfect room....
    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank clarelou
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 16, 2012

    We stayed in the Sanctuary for two nights during a mid week break. Absolutely fantastic service and stay. The hot tub is simply excellent and luxurious. Breakfast is served to your room each day with an excellent choice of items. Lovely bathroom with amazing mood lighting and Bose sound system. The mini bar in the room is very reasonably priced which is great as in most hotels the price is too high. They really have thought of everything. The DVD selection is also fab for a chilly winters night!! We will absolutely return!!

    Room Tip: The sanctuary is an extra special treat.
    • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank lis1984
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed December 13, 2012

    Last minute booking as let down on our honeymoon arrangements. From arrival to departing the staff were nothing but friendly and polite. The internal design was of a high standard and each room individual. Bed and pillows were so comfortable in superior room 8 and the air spa bath was lovely. Toiletries were lovely smelling and housekeeping was spot on. The breakfast choice was varied making it difficult to chose! But all the same very delicious and obviously locally sourced.

    Access to the local spa was perfect and we enjoyed 2 visits to warm up from the winter cold.

    The location was also perfect at this time of year as quiet enough whilst still being close enough to town and all the restaurants and bars.

    Every detail is thought out well and the customer service provided by the staff was second to none.

    Thank you making our first days as husband and wife so memorable and luxurious.

    We hope to return next year for our anniversary!

    • Stayed: December 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank linzi60
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews