We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $258/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lingwood Lodge(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$262
$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $195/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lindeth Fell Country House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,828)
Filter reviews
1,828 results
Traveler rating
1,502
224
80
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,502
224
80
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingspa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partnerunderfloor heatingipod dockon arrivaleggs benedictchurch suites
Filter
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 1,828 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at The Cranleigh a few weeks ago it is beautiful, pure luxury. The staff were very welcoming, outstanding and nothing was to much trouble. We stayed in luxury room 6 which was excellent it had a lovely bathroom with heated floors, Air Spa Bath and TV. The Cranleigh is in a excellent location only a couple of minutes walk from the central village.This is definitely the place to be in Bowness on Windermere. Highly recommend. We had a wonderful stay and can't wait to return. Memories forever.

Room Tip: All rooms have there own individuality i would recommend looking online to pick your perfect room....
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed in the Sanctuary for two nights during a mid week break. Absolutely fantastic service and stay. The hot tub is simply excellent and luxurious. Breakfast is served to your room each day with an excellent choice of items. Lovely bathroom with amazing mood lighting and Bose sound system. The mini bar in the room is very reasonably priced which is great as in most hotels the price is too high. They really have thought of everything. The DVD selection is also fab for a chilly winters night!! We will absolutely return!!

Room Tip: The sanctuary is an extra special treat.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lis1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Last minute booking as let down on our honeymoon arrangements. From arrival to departing the staff were nothing but friendly and polite. The internal design was of a high standard and each room individual. Bed and pillows were so comfortable in superior room 8 and the air spa bath was lovely. Toiletries were lovely smelling and housekeeping was spot on. The breakfast choice was varied making it difficult to chose! But all the same very delicious and obviously locally sourced.

Access to the local spa was perfect and we enjoyed 2 visits to warm up from the winter cold.

The location was also perfect at this time of year as quiet enough whilst still being close enough to town and all the restaurants and bars.

Every detail is thought out well and the customer service provided by the staff was second to none.

Thank you making our first days as husband and wife so memorable and luxurious.

We hope to return next year for our anniversary!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel friendly staffs were responsive and happy to serve. They were also knowledgeable and reliable.
They cleaned my room twice during the evening, and rose petals were spread each time. The privilege to use the spa from Old England hotel (which has a proper sauna and a warm swimming pool) was also a big plus.
The breakfast was served with fresh ingredient and taste was unrivaled.

I did not like their shower so much as the head was fixed to the ceiling and the water pressure was not very high. But this could just be my preference

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: room I stayed (2nd floor) was very comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tasogareyuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you visit us again soon.

For future guests:

As we write this we have a promotional offer on if you are a follower of The Cranleigh on Facebook. Take a look if you are looking for accommodation December 2012 or January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 28th- 30th Nov in a superior room (room13). From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was truly fantastic. Lovely warm greeting upon arrival making us instantly feel very welcome and pleased to be there. Our room was excellent and oh the bathroom...! I was so impressed with the little extra thoughts/additions right down to the little pots of 'essentials' in the bathroom. The location is superb and the town itself is delightful. Would highly recommend 'The Angel' pub for some Gastropub type dining and 'The Postilion' for a cosy/romantic restaurant meal.
Talking of food, the breakfast at The Cranleigh is awesome! Great to know its all locally sourced but ultimately the choice is great as is the fact that whilst they have a menu, they will make you any combination of the items on the menu that you wish for....and the organic bread/toast is just divine!!!
There was a power cut on our 2nd morning leaving them incapable of cooking our breakfast which is absolutely no fault of the hotel but they almost fell over themselves to apologise and to try and find a way to get us something to eat! Personally I felt sorry for them having to deal with the cold and try to prepare for the next raft of guests without any power/heating.
All in all a truly lovely break at a little rarity of a hotel that I will ensure I get to stay at again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews