We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Fell Country House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dome House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$446
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$289
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elim House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,822)
Filter reviews
1,822 results
Traveler rating
1,498
223
79
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,498
223
79
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingspa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictchurch suites
Filter
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 1,822 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My fiancé booked the hideaway as a last minute surprise and it was absolutely stunning.we will definately be staying again! The attention to detail is second to none to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.cant wait for the return visit!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockstar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great location close to the lake and town, with lots of good eating places and a good pub opposite. We were in the adjoining building which maybe is a disadvantage as it feels a bit out of the hotel. VERY comfortable soft and huge bed, VERY whizzy bathroom with coloured lights under the water of the bath, jacuzzi, inbuilt TV in the wall at the foot of the bath. Liked the novelty of it but all the controls could be a bit stressful if you are seeking a low-tech experience. Great breakfast with wonderful porridge and duck eggs/asparagus etc or other options. Seemed to be a hotel with lots of under 30s couples staying there when we were there but the staff were very friendly and welcoming so we relative oldies didn't feel too out of place.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main part of the hotel?
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

What can I say about the hideaway?..lovely room and features, decor fab, jacuzzi bath was to die for. Service with a smile and breakfast delivered to room was quality. Will we be back?..I think so! ..wish it was sooner!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Three-Jumps-To-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My now fiancee and I stayed here as part of an Itison offer, which was unbelievably good value for money. We found everything about The Cranleigh just right. The central location, understated but classy decor, friendly and accommodating staff, lovely breakfast, complimentary tea and coffee and the beautiful extra touches (including the turndown service with rose petals and chocolates, the option of a DVD library, access to the pool and spa at the nearby hotel and the drinks service to your room). We got engaged in our first of two nights and the champagne ordered to our room when we arrived back at night was a lovely way to finish off a very special day. We will be back to the Cranleigh there is no doubt about it! We would totally recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Couldn't comment about other rooms but Room 4 was lovely.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlsgwandEdAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

There’s no denying that this is a good hotel in a superb location. You’re literally a few minutes walk away from Lake Windermere and equally close to the town of Bowness itself. There is a variety of quality restaurants within walking distance (we would particularly recommend Jackson’s Bistro just down the road) and an excellent pub serving great beer and food just a couple of minutes walk away.
The hotel itself is friendly and welcoming. We were very impressed by the efficiency and approachability of the staff….all of whom went out of their way to make us feel especially welcome. Our room was relatively spacious, comfortable and well equipped. If you’re into technology you’d feel right at home with the TV over the bath, LED lights in the shower and heated flooring….assuming you can work out how to use it all given the absence of any explanatory instructions. Others may feel just a bit intimidated by the plethora of remote controls (four for one room!) and persistent flashing lights. Personally, I’d have preferred a bit more attention to basic décor and rather less sophisticated technology… but I’m aware that this may not be everyone’s perspective. The beds, it should be pointed out, were generously sized and exceptionally satisfying….not unlike the excellent breakfasts on offer the following morning. You’ll regret it if you don’t try the porridge.
This is a good hotel which tries really hard to make you feel special…you won’t be disappointed if you stay here.

Room Tip: The hotel consists of two separate houses so if you want to avoid going out in the rain before breakfast (even if only for a few yards) go for one in the main building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterUKMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews