We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent trip”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cranleigh based on their website. It met all our expectations which is not always an easy thing to achieve.

On arrival we felt welcomed and liked the properties initial impression. Parking seemed to be an issue until we realised there are spaces at the rear of the property. The receptionist was welcoming and attentive from the outset. She made sure we were settled and had everything we needed. The room (4) hit the mark for us! It was decorated to a high standard and had a higher than usual spec for the price we paid. Bathroom was spot on. The room offers a large hot shower and bathrobes with plenty of towels and shower gels.

The location is ideal. Loads of little quaint restaurants to pick from. The boat trip we had included was a nice touch. We went to Ambleside with this and had a stroll around after a few glasses of wine. Do that the other way around next time!
The SPA treatments were enjoyable and reasonably priced. We liked being able to have a steam and a swim as part of the package.

All in all, the staff at the Cranleigh know exactly what they are doing from start to finish! We will be returning again at some point. I have recommended this place to several people already.

Thank you for looking after us.
Paul

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice. It all comes down to what you feel like spending. The room 4 was on a o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,708 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back from 2 fantastic nights in the Cranleigh staying in room 7 which is situated on the 2 nd floor .
What a lovely room classy ,comfortable , spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was lovely , with a good choice , from cereal to a full English , set you up for the day.
Thanks to all the staff for being so helpfull and friendly with lots of tips on places to eat.
Special mention to elana on reception . Hope you enjoy going home to se your parents next moth.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank stockman52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

This time we stayed in the Hideaway suite. The room is luxury itself with a bathroom to die for! We enjoyed breakfast in our room and didn't want to leave. Had great weather and will be planning our next trip for our anniversary

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzb19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Thankyou so much to the staff at The Cranleigh for looking after us so well on our Autumn Break. Our room was cosy and cheerful and we had champagne on arrival. The bathroom was luxurious and well designed. One thing we both appreciated was that we could easily adjust the temperature in the room; many large hotels have the thermostat fixed at the same for everyone.

The breakfast was exceptional and greatly appreciated!

Central location great. And special thanks to the girls on reception for their general advice and elena's cold remedy!

Room Tip: the website videos are helpful, but check your personal requirements with reception when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We and our friends booked the Cranleigh as the base for our short holiday in the Lake District because the rooms looked great on the website and the cost included breakfast, access to the spa at the Macdonald hotel and a trip on the lake. It more than lived up to our expectations. The rooms are modern, well decorated and well equipped with flat screen TV, iPod dock etc. One of our rooms was a little smaller than expected from the website, but comfortable nevertheless. All the staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, and we were impressed by the effort made to send us welcoming information prior to our stay and then to contact us afterwards to check that everything had been OK. As others have said, the breakfast is excellent. The Cranleigh is only a few minutes walk from a good choice of restaurants (we'd recommend the Postillion and Roberto's in particular) and from the spa which we visited on 2 days - great on the first day but a little busy on the second. It is relatively expensive for a B&B but you get what you pay for and (particularly with the extras such as the spa and steamer trip) is definitely value for money. It will certainly be our choice when we're next back in the Lake District.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank alyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend break at the Cranleigh and all I can say is Wow! We stayed In the sanctuary suite and although it is expensive, it is beautiful and well worth the money. The staff here were absolutely lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Also stayed in room 14 which was also very nice but much preferred the sanctuary suite as you have your own hot tub.
Thanks for a wonderful stay, we will definitely be returning soon!!

Room Tip: Sanctuary suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairedug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Simply wonderful small hotel (to call it a guest house would be unfair even though it is one). The staff are extremely pleasant and nothing is too much trouble for them. The room (we stayed in room 9) had one of the most comfortable beds we have slept in for a long time due to a thick memory foam topper. The room itself was unusual as it is in the roof void which means that there is a vertical beam in an inconvenient location but that does not detract from the charm of the room and we loved it but would have like larger windows as we had a partial view of the lake. It is a bit of a climb to it from reception and there is no lift but the exercise did us good. The bathroom is out of this world and the spa bath is very relaxing. The shower i8s very powerful but has a fixed overhead spray which might not suit everyone. (My wife didn't like it because of its configuration) )The breakfast is of a very high quality and I can recommend the "full cumbrian". I had it twice and needed very little for lunch. If I am being picky I would have to say that it is a good idea to arrive early for check in if you can. There is car parking space for about 8-10 cars at the front of the building. Unfortunately I could only get the rear car park and got blocked in by another residents car which could lead to difficulties if they were out and you wanted to drive somewhere. I told the staff that I needed my car for 6pm and they dealt with this matter exceedingly well by contacting the other resident and arranging us to swop places so top marks there. However it did make me think that it might not have worked out as well if I had needed to leave immediately as the other resident had left the hotel when I discovered this situation. Bowness itself is simly charming and there is a wealth of restaurants to pick from. The Cranleigh is ideally located being a two minute walk from all the action. I would have no reservations about recommending this hotel and will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Go on the web site where you can view individual rooms. We had a luxury room which had a wonderful s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hopefultraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $162 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing