We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location Helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good location Helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed for two nights in room 3, quite small we found the road outside very noisy, The en suite very well appointed, but it did take space of the room the staff could not be more helpful we may go again but there is a lot of choice in this very busy town!

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgeman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,359
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,353
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Wow!!!! What a place to stay. My husband & I stayed for 2 nights & absolutely loved it. We had an amazing time. The room was lovely & the bathroom was just pure luxury. We got the free Windermere Cruise & had a brilliant time. I would definately recommend The Cranleigh to anyone who wants to get away & have pure luxury. The staff are very friendly & helpful. We hope to go back & have another few days here. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaVCh5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I chose Cranleigh ( guest house does not do it justice) after looking at their excellent web site. We were not disappointed, we chose a standard room which was anything but standard. So much attention to detail has gone into The Cranleigh, The breakfast was spot on. What else can we say, the quality of the furnishings was matched by the friendly staff. We stayed for three nights but could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in room four and found it very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, GB
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed two nights but I wish it had been for longer. Everyone locally told us that the Cranleigh really is one of the best places to stay and they were not wrong. We selected our room from a very well constructed, easy to use website and the room certainly didn't disappoint in reality. The underfloor heating in the bathroom and big soft white fluffy bathrobes were a lovely touch and there was plenty of room to put all my things and mirrors for doing the all important make-up before the wedding we were attending. The staff were really attentive and went the extra mile without being asked. I walked into the lounge with a wedding card in my hand and the receptionist held up a pen for me! They ordered us a taxi and called to the room of some other guests going to the same wedding to see if they wanted to share. Breakfast is a very special treat and you can choose from a wide range of high quality dishes - such as eggs Benedict and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon - all cooked to order plus a first class cold buffet and gorgeous fresh coffee. I didn't find out that we could use the spa until arrival and unfortunately I'd left my swimming costume at home, so maybe they could advertise that more. I've stayed in lots of hotels over the years and a few B&Bs and the Cranleigh is up there with the best - what makes it really stand out above and beyond is the staff - they are friendly and just cannot do enough for you.

Room Tip: the website gives full details about all the rooms so choosing is easy. We loved room two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Keeping this review short and sweet. Hotel is in great location. Room 6 was great, especially the bathroom with the air spa bath. Everything is well presented, and the evening turndown services is a lovely touch. Breakfast was delicious and served promptly. Only thing to fault would be the lack of internet on the upper levels. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte21Alnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights, our first visit to a guest house in many years and overall impression was very good. It is ideally located, just a very short stroll uphill from the town centre and in a quiet position. As their website illustrates, all rooms are individually advertised with its own characteristics, enabling you to make an informed choice for booking. In our case, we chose room 9. This is situated at the top of the main building - the window is wide but narrow so the view is somewhat restricted but not a real issue. The room facilities would put some 4-5* hotels to shame, including a choice of the jacuzzi bath or the shower, TV/DVD/IPod dock and, as the weather was cooling down, underfloor heating in the bathroom - very welcome! Breakfast menu was very good. Car parking was not a problem. We took advantage of the offer of a free lake cruise and although it rained throughout the return journey and stop-off at Ambleside, it was still enjoyable.

I'm being really 'picky' now but there were a few small issues that persuaded me that there could still be a little more improvement - we had to ask twice for another pot of tea (apologies received for oversight), we asked for scrambled egg on toast instead of the full english breakfast but this was served about 15 minutes later, after the full breakfasts had been served to guests arriving after us; one of the jars of preserve had been half used and left in the dispenser; the bath/hand towels were thick and good quality but 2 had rust stains on them; one of the bedside light shades had obvious stains from a spillage. None of these were significant issues but combined they meant for us that the experience was not quite a perfect 5. I would however thoroughly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RBSouthport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed in room 7, which although is small is still a beautifully decorated room with a comfortable bed. The added bonus is the spa bath which is wonderful after a long day walking around/cruising on the lake. We also took advantage of the spa facilities at the old mcdonald which the Cranleigh provides. The spa was good, it has an ice room for brave people! We LOVED the dvd library, a small touch but really good especially as it was raining most of the time we where there. Breakfast was another highlight, staff where very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, and the choices for a cooked breakfast where spot on and tasted wonderful. We would definitely recommend and hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel19Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing