We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liz. Lovely weekend made better by the Cranleigh”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just returned from 2 night stay at this lovely guesthouse, which was our first stay near to town instead of staying in a country hotel further out of Bowness. It was a revelation for us to stay at the Cranleigh, from our first contact by phone to the minute we left. Accommodation excellent, breakfast the best we have had, and that includes other top class hotels in the area. The staff welcoming, efficient, helpful and friendly. We would mention Elena on reception as we had most contact with her as she showed us to our room explaining how our change of room on the 2nd night would be seamless, and it was. I might add the change of room was because the house was fully-booked , which we knew about when we made our booking. A lovely Young lady, with a very nice manner. Bathrooms great and the end of bath TV a luxury Ive never wanted but now do! Another point. The house smells lovely as you walk in and up the stairs, which I liked. No musty smells here! We will return happily.

Room Tip: Room 5 lovely, spacious, spotless, great bathroom and shower. Bed has memoryfoam mattress and the un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,232 - 1,238 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

My and my partner stayed for a total of 2nites and We both thought the guest house was brilliant, the location is great as its not even 5 minutes walk from bowness town centre. Are room was beautiful and spacious, the bathroom was amazing. The breakfast was a good size and tasted great. Overall are stay was brilliant and We would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jazzbowman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed for a mid week, 4 night break in September. Stayed in room 2 which was extremely comfortable and clean with a great modern bathroom. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.
The staff were very helpful and friendly, even dried out our walking boots after a day of classic Lake District weather!
Would happily stay again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ALAN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just stayed for two nights in Room 16 for our 20th anniversary. Superb room and even more superb bathroom! There was even a TV at the end of the jacuzzi bath! I want one!! The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was fully enjoyable. Breakfast was first class. We will definitely return and I can recommend The Cranleigh to anyone wanting a stay that is more than a little bit special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent! Definitely go for one with a jacuzzi bath and TV in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHLJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Cranleigh in room 2 which is rated as superior. We checked out the rooms on the internet before booking and having a special deal with Living Social paid an extra £45 to the hotel to upgrade to a superior room. Well worth paying the extra, the room was comfortable and the bathroom modern and clean. Breakfast is exceptional, as are the staff. It makes such a difference when staff are friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. Our deal included a bottle of wine, on arrival it was changed immediately when I casually mentioned that we prefer red. The hotel is two minutes walk from the lake and ideal for the shops at Bowness. A walk to Windermere itself is only 20 minutes. It was a pleasure staying here and we will be booking a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bshawManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

we stayed in suite 10 at the cranleigh during our stay. The hotel is close to the shore of windemere, but still very quiet. The room was amazing, better even than it looks in the pictures. the spa bath was mind blowing. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who showed us around our room and expained how everything worked. A small side light was not working, but as soon as we informed reception a replacment was brought to our room. Breakfast is fit for a king. There was a selection of cold meats and cheeses, pastrys, cooked breakfast...you name it, it was avaliable. A turn down service everynight also is a little luxury with a chocolate left on the pillows is a lovely touch. A really lovley and romantic hotel, and to top things off they even called to ask a couple of weeks after our stay to check we got home safely and enjoyed our time with them. A visit to this hotel is a must if your visiting windemere. the only let down was the spa...not really worth a visit to be honest.

Room Tip: suite 10 is a winner! private balcony and entrance seperate from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay in Superior Room 13, absolutly beautiful room with the best bathroom we have had with any room in the past. Breakfast was something to look forward too every morning and all the staff were attentive and helpfull. If your going to Bowness and need somewhere to stay then look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $158 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing