We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$155
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lingwood Lodge(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$98
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Fell Country House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$203
$163
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$345
$318
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$161
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $192/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$237
$190
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,824)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveler rating
1,500
223
80
18
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,500
223
80
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingspa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictchurch suites
Filter
Updating list...
1,361 - 1,366 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed a week in the Hideaway suite. The room is amazing, perfect for couples. My girlfriend was blown away by how great it was. We were really well looked after, everyone who worked there was always happy to help and gave us great advice on where to go. Had a very tasty breakfast brought to our room every morning which was nice to get the day started. The Cranleigh is perfectly placed, a five pound taxi ride from Windermere station, a short walk away from shops, restaurants and pubs and right by the lake. Overall the experience was excellent and when my girlfriend and I go back we will defiantly be staying at the Cranleigh again.

Room Tip: The hideaway is situated just of the main building so is perfect for couples
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank codeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We arrived on a low and left on a high due to the outstanding staff. Our suitcase remained in London and they managed to reunite us inspite of the Olympics. The room was cosy and the bathroom with the jaccuzi was welcome after hiking all day. Breakfast was another matter, if you don't eat eggs there was a lack of cheese and cold cuts. We do highly recommend the Cranleigh

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review we can see from your profile you are an experienced traveller. We have an extensive breakfast menu and have just introduced duck eggs onto the menu which are proving very popular and they taste fantastic. We have a selection of cold meats etc also. We apologise if they were very popular the morning you stayed and of course please remember to ask if you need anything else when you are with us.

The spa baths are fantastic if you have been out enjoying the scenery. Perfect to massage you while watching TV in the bath.

We hope to see you again in the Lake District one day.

The Cranleigh Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed in luxury room number 5 and it was lovely. Large, well appointed, lovely bathroom and lots of little touches to make your stay more comfortable. The staff were always friendly and the breakfast was tasty and very quick to come out. Not the easiest website to navigate if you're using a promotional code but the staff were quick to rectify the confusion. Would definitely return .

Room Tip: Worth paying a little more for a luxury room for the extra space but the glances I had of the standard rooms all looked cosy and with everything you could want.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. Room 5 is one of the largest luxury rooms and has a fantastic Villeroy and Boch bathroom with air spa bath, shower, mood lighting, bathroom TV and underfloor heating.

Please don't forget to call us if you are having issues booking on line we are here to help in anyway we can. We are located a two minute walk from the famous Lake Windermere and the beautiful village of Bowness the heart of the Lake District and are the only 5 star gold accommodation provider in the immediate area.

The Cranleigh team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We booked The Sanctuary suite last August for two days for a mini moon & before we left we re-booked for our first wedding anniversary - that's how amazing this suite is. We have had the privelidge of staying in some fantastic hotel rooms across the world but never have we arrived somewhere & relaxed so quickly. Check in is quick & efficient, the staff are incredibly friendly & if you need any help they are quick to oblige. The hot tub is ready to go, with fantastic Bose surround sound outside as well as throughout the suite with a whole host of dvd's available to borrow from reception. The breakfast is also second to none especially served in the comfort of The sanctuary. All in all, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Cranleigh & would like to say what a lovely suprise to receive a card & beautifully presented chocolates to congratulate us on our anniversary. All that's left to do is book for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RG-and-RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review we are so happy you stayed again with us. The Sanctuary suite is very popular for those special occasions. We have had dozens of engagements this year alone.

If anyone is looking for that perfect place to pop the question please get in touch as we specialise in helping you make that very special moment it time be as memorable as possible. Please call Emma at The Cranleigh and she will help you.

The Cranleigh team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I booked a weekend break for us as a surprise and I chose The Cranleigh because I particularly wanted to have a room with an en-suite air bath. The bedroom was furnished beautifully and was very clean. The bathroom fittings were of excellent quality, the air bath was great, and the shower with the mood lighting was a very nice touch.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of food choices. The staff were nice and friendly. We sat out in the garden enjoying some champagne in the sunshine, it was wonderful. I have no idea how I managed to keep it a secret for the weeks leading up to the weekend.
The receptionist called me later in the day to ask if we'd enjoyed our stay and had got home safely which was a lovely touch.
Before I booked the Cranleigh I did look at other hotels & guest houses, but quickly realised that for the small uplift in price you get so much more in the way of luxury touches and individually styled rooms. I wouldn't hesitate to return for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsty686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews