We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just spent two wonderful nights at the cranleigh. We stayed in room 15 front facing on the ground floor. Room was beautiful, staff were excellent (lovely helpful girl on reception) breakfast perfect. We ate in some great restaurants, the brown horse, the portillion and the jintana Thai. Also had a lovely cruise up and down the lake. Can definitely recommend the cranleigh and bowness on Windermere for a romantic break. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,345 - 1,351 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed at the Cranleigh at the end of March for a 2night stay in room 13, which was superb, we have stayed at many places over the years, but the Cranleigh was the most comfortable, welcoming luxurious place we have stayed.We had breakfast which was delicious and apart from the normal full breakfast, which was excellent,you could also choose from a varied list including eggs Benedict,and eggs royale, which was cooked to perfection. Room 13 was on the 1st floor on the side where the road is, and unlike someone who has also commented about the fact that when your windows are open you can hear noise, I can say that we did not notice anything. The spa bath in our room was absolute bliss, along with the champagne and TV in the bathroom it was a slice of heaven, (no one shouting Mum where are my jogging pants ha ha), I have a lovely photo of my hubby in it but don't think he would appreciate me putting it in trip advisor lol. The staff and manager Emma were delightful, friendly and above all made us feel relaxed and at home, which can be very rare these days, nothing was too much trouble, a nice touch was the DVD library, when you've been out and walked had your evening meal its nice to relax with a film,the TV was also a decent size, not an after thought like so many places do, and they are so small you cannot see the screen, quite the opposite in our room. You can also have drink's which you can purchase from reception, which are very much cheaper than many places in the lakes. Round and about you are located within easy reach of the lake and shops, bars, etc. The Cranleigh Guest house boast's and has 5 AA diamonds and does exactly what they say it does exceed expectations and it most certainly exceeded ours. We hope to book again as soon possible. So thank you again to everyone at the Cranleigh..

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have just stayed at the Cranleigh, and can thoroughly recommend it to anyone. The staff are very friendly, our room was clean, comfortable, and the added luxury touches make this place a real joy to visit. Not everyone will want to watch tv in the bath but you can, and my wife certainly did, complete with a glass of champers.

Breakfast is freshly cooked from a good menu, and not a congealed mess under a heating unit, and I indulged in smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, one day and the full English the next - Both thoroughly enjoyable.

The only adverse comment, which is not their fault, is that our bedroom, on the second floor was on the roadside, and as it was hot we had the windows open which led to quite a bit of traffic noise, and noisy devils shouting to each other as they walked past, pssibly a bit inebriated

Just remember - it is a great place - but there is no lift if you need one. It didn't bother us, but it might some people if they cannot get a room at ground floor level

Room Tip: No lift - Can be noisy on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poacher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We just stayed at The Cranleigh this past week, Sunday through to Tuesday. Room 4, which was excellent. Room facilities were great, someone has complained in a previous review there was no fridge in their room??!! No idea why you'd want one to be honest, not something at the top of my list when staying in a guest house!!
Minor complaint would be that the room was very warm, despite having windows open, and heaters off, but that's one of those things, and a stand up fan is in the wradrobe, so that was addressed as far as I'm concerned.
Good breakfast, good choice, although I make poached eggs better!! ;-) Plenty of eating in the eggs benedict.
Great location, 2min walk from the town, and that's being generous.
You should try and book your spa treatments before you go, as it says on their site, as they get booked up quickly, so we were unable to get a massage during our visit, but that was our fault.
Parking is very limited, but wouldn't put us off going back at all.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynemanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Cranleigh last weekend in room 14 and can only agree with everyone else, great location, very friendly staff, good choice of breakfasts, well decorated rooms but best of all was the bathroom with jacuzzi bath complete with lights and a tv! Absolute bliss! We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merwoman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We we were struggling to find anywhere to stay at Bowness and stumbled upon this hotel online. We were definitely not disappointed, the hotel is beautifully decorated, to a very high standard, our room and bathroom were absolutely stunning. Everything has been done to a very high spec. The breakfasts were delicious, with plenty of choice available, all in all it was a very relaxing chilled out stay. The hotel is perfectly located and is only a 5 minute walk from the town centre, restuarants and pubs. I would definitely recommend a stay here and we hope to go back and hopefully stay in The Sanctuary room. Can highly recommend The Cranleigh, amazing hotel, service and great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2, which i can highly recommend, however I would imagine all the rooms are of an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mancunian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

I had researched this hotel well and was expecting very high standards - i was NOT disappointed! We stayed in the Hideaway for a romantic Valentines weekend treat and it was everything we hoped and more.

The breakfasts were the best i've ever had, the bathroom was stunning, great features like huge tv's in every room, brilliant location, we really couldn't of asked for more.

If i really had to suggest any possible constructive suggestions then I might say; the Hideaway could do with some more natural light and the bed was a little too soft for my liking. But this would not stop me from going back and we hope to return again in the future.

If you go to The Cranleigh, pay the extra and stay in the Hideaway, you won't regret it :-)

Room Tip: Stay in the Hideaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitkat10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $160 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing