We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranleigh Boutique
Nearby Hotels
Dene House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$154
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lonsdale House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$198
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$338
$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Westbourne(Bowness-on-Windermere)(Great Value!)
$106
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$215
$178
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$229
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,782)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveler rating
1,467
216
78
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,467
216
78
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingair spa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictlake cruise
Filter
Updating list...
1,425 - 1,430 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed at the Sanctuary January 2012
An absoloutley fantastic stay, from the second we arrived we were made to feal so welcome. We were shown to our room that was beutifully set up, the fire was roaring mood lighting on and champagne was on ice. The lady explained how everything worked and where everything was. Everything was just perfect. Town was a slow 2 minute walk away but i was loathed to leave what is indeed a sanctuary. Breakfast was served to the room and the quality was first class.

Room Tip: If you only do it once book the Sanctuary
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A surprise Valentines night away and what a wonderful surprise it was. From the moment you step into the building you are in awe of the decor and attention to detail - from the rose petals on the beautiful comfy4 poster bed to the upstairs with its fully fitted kitchen complete with complimentary Continental breakfast in the fridge and chilled champagne just ready to enjoy.The lounge area is modern style hi tec luxury-you want for nothing from 3D tv with a wide range of films to choose from to state of the art music system all enjoyed relaxing on a huge sofa.
A little bit of heaven so close to home.A fantastic experience thank you.Just ask at The Cranleigh for details for making it a time to remember.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in Bowness celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel was fantastic and we had a great time. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and breakfast was one of the best we've had in a hotel. Great location as well as it is within easy walking distance of great pubs, restaurants and of course the beautiful scenery. Would highly recommend and we'll certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

With my husbands 40th birthday being so close to xmas (16th dec) we wanted to getaway somewhere relaxing but stay in this country..The Cranleigh was the perfect choice!

We arrived early and wanted to explore bowness so hoped the hotel would let us park our car as check in wasnt until 3pm. We entered the hotel reception to a wondefully cosy fire and friendly reception staff, we were told our room would be ready at 3pm and that we could park our car right outside our room as we had booked The Sanctury...excellent! On arrival at the room one of the hotel staff escorted us to our room to show us around...on a cold december afternoon the fire was welcoming, music playing and mood lighting set the tone. This room is wonderful! Huge tv, bose surround sound, a bathroom to die for and outside the hottub ready and waiting. The hot tub was just the right temp and we sat there drinking champagne until dark. The hot tub has a canopy over it so even if it rains..or snows as it did in our case its not a bother. We planned to go out in the evening but we didnt want to leave so ordered a takeaway (the Cranleigh doesnt have an evening restaurant) and hopped back in the tub.

Im quite picky when it comes to beds and bed sheets but i slept really well and the pillows excellent! Breakfast was delivered to the room and this was amazing, my only complaint was that the full breakfast did not come with toast..and that is my only complaint of the whole stay!! This place is truely wonderful! My husband did say id excelled myself this time...finding an excellent gem! i hope to return to the cranleigh one day, just to drink champagne in the hot tub whilst the snow is falling. Thankyou Cranleigh!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooziefloozie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay for my husbands 40th . Will definitely go again. Stayed in room 6 , lovely decor , spa bath with tv all mod cons . Staff were so lovely and helpful . Champagne delivered to room was lovely , breakfast fantastic . Couldn't find a single fault with The Cranleigh .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews