We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have to experience the Sanctuary”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“You have to experience the Sanctuary”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Stayed at the Sanctuary January 2012
An absoloutley fantastic stay, from the second we arrived we were made to feal so welcome. We were shown to our room that was beutifully set up, the fire was roaring mood lighting on and champagne was on ice. The lady explained how everything worked and where everything was. Everything was just perfect. Town was a slow 2 minute walk away but i was loathed to leave what is indeed a sanctuary. Breakfast was served to the room and the quality was first class.

Room Tip: If you only do it once book the Sanctuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macbarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,377
    207
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
26
1,375
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bowness on Windermere
1 review
Reviewed February 29, 2012

A surprise Valentines night away and what a wonderful surprise it was. From the moment you step into the building you are in awe of the decor and attention to detail - from the rose petals on the beautiful comfy4 poster bed to the upstairs with its fully fitted kitchen complete with complimentary Continental breakfast in the fridge and chilled champagne just ready to enjoy.The lounge area is modern style hi tec luxury-you want for nothing from 3D tv with a wide range of films to choose from to state of the art music system all enjoyed relaxing on a huge sofa.
A little bit of heaven so close to home.A fantastic experience thank you.Just ask at The Cranleigh for details for making it a time to remember.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just come back from a weekend in Bowness celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. The hotel was fantastic and we had a great time. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and breakfast was one of the best we've had in a hotel. Great location as well as it is within easy walking distance of great pubs, restaurants and of course the beautiful scenery. Would highly recommend and we'll certainly be returning!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

With my husbands 40th birthday being so close to xmas (16th dec) we wanted to getaway somewhere relaxing but stay in this country..The Cranleigh was the perfect choice!

We arrived early and wanted to explore bowness so hoped the hotel would let us park our car as check in wasnt until 3pm. We entered the hotel reception to a wondefully cosy fire and friendly reception staff, we were told our room would be ready at 3pm and that we could park our car right outside our room as we had booked The Sanctury...excellent! On arrival at the room one of the hotel staff escorted us to our room to show us around...on a cold december afternoon the fire was welcoming, music playing and mood lighting set the tone. This room is wonderful! Huge tv, bose surround sound, a bathroom to die for and outside the hottub ready and waiting. The hot tub was just the right temp and we sat there drinking champagne until dark. The hot tub has a canopy over it so even if it rains..or snows as it did in our case its not a bother. We planned to go out in the evening but we didnt want to leave so ordered a takeaway (the Cranleigh doesnt have an evening restaurant) and hopped back in the tub.

Im quite picky when it comes to beds and bed sheets but i slept really well and the pillows excellent! Breakfast was delivered to the room and this was amazing, my only complaint was that the full breakfast did not come with toast..and that is my only complaint of the whole stay!! This place is truely wonderful! My husband did say id excelled myself this time...finding an excellent gem! i hope to return to the cranleigh one day, just to drink champagne in the hot tub whilst the snow is falling. Thankyou Cranleigh!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooziefloozie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay for my husbands 40th . Will definitely go again. Stayed in room 6 , lovely decor , spa bath with tv all mod cons . Staff were so lovely and helpful . Champagne delivered to room was lovely , breakfast fantastic . Couldn't find a single fault with The Cranleigh .

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dougall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 23, 2012

What a hotel we always come to windermere and usally stay at Michelin rated hotels but now we have found this hidden gem we will always stay at The Cranleigh.Staff, rooms, service all wonderful and couldnt believe the value for money, cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room five and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andymac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meltham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The only 'But' we have is the noise from traffic at the front of the hotel, very noticeable as we needed to keep the window open to cool our room through the night.
Issue is the road noise from the street outside. If we stayed in the summer when the rooms are warmer and the roads allot busier we would ask for a rear facing room.
Appart from that thanks for a great weekend my wife loves her new Huggy Bear!

Room Tip: Road noise is an issue especially in busy summer months, consider a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing