We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern B&B close to the lake”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I needed a room to be close to Lake Windermere and a walking distance to see the city, and I got that in The Cranleigh. The staff were very helpful. B&Bs are normally old, but The Cranleigh seems really modern. I think maybe it has gone through a major renovation recently so every room will be up to a 4-star hotel standard. Not to mention an excellent choice for breakfast, more than just a typical English breakfast.

Room Tip: Room with ensuite shower is probably better but if budget is your concern, the separate bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sompoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,450 - 1,456 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2011

From the minute we arrived we could not fault anything about the Cranleigh , this break was for are anniversary which we enjoyed , we would recommend the Cranleigh and will return

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

A great idea but just lacking a little something. We stayed in suite 10 which isn't as big as it looks in the picture. It has a great spa bath and tv but when the spa is on you can't hear the tv. The hotel spa you can use is more a 5-10 min walk and you get a 3 hr pass The blinds were aesthetically pleasing but didn't fully fit the window and don't keep the light out. Breakfast was good, staff were friendly but it wasn't as great as I expected.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Millin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2011

Thank you for your review we are sorry you din't enjoy your stay with us. Room 10 is the second most popular room we have and has its own private entrance which most people love. Just so you are aware all air spa baths make a sound when they are working. The leisure and spa facilities are 250 yards down the road certainly not a 5- 10 minute walks unless you chose a different route.

On our web site you can view all our rooms in complete detail with photographs and and videos. We have had these done so that you can see very clearly what you are booking and which room you prefer. Be carful when booking through third party booking sites as they as control what the customer seems on their web sites NOT the establishment you are booking. This often causes confusion. I would always recommend booking direct with your chosen place to stay so you know what you are getting. Remember these third party booking sites take commission and therefore are usually more expensive.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and the friendliness of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent room(sanctuary),excellent staff,cannot fault anything about our stay,cannot believe any bad reviews that I have read on here our stay could not of been any better

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your fantastic review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the cranleigh for 4 nights in September 11. The hotel was lovely, in a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room (9) was exceptionally clean and well equiped with a DVD, 40" LCD TV and spa bath (with mirror TV) and separate shower. I couldn't recommend the hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for your review and for recommending us, we hope you visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My partner and I stayed there for the first time of the few times we have been to Windermere, we arrived on sat 17th,with a warm welcome and great service, we booked the hideaway suite which was out of this world, it seemed a crime to leave the room. It had everything you needed for the time you had there, beautiful is an understatement. The staff were more than willing to help and accommodate our needs. The breakfast was really nice too and was delivered to our room, it definitely works up to it's 5* rating. we have booked up again in two weeks, can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdebbie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We recently returned from a lovely stay at The Cranleigh. Having the option to pick which room to stay in is an excellent idea and room 14 was exactly like the picture on the hotel website. The decor was modern and the room was immaculately clean; somethingwhich has been lacking from our recent holiday experiences. The bathroom was luxurious and I loved the mood lighting spa bath and tv! The breakfast room was beautifully decorated and the cooked breakfast was excellent. The location of the hotel was excellent as it was very central but very quiet on a night. We had to leave the hotel at 8.30 and because breakfast didnt start until that time we had only the option of cereal, which wasnt a major problem. I did spend a lot of time trying to find a really nice romantic hotel, before booking The Cranleigh. It was marginally more expensive than comparative hotels, but having the option to see our room coupled with trip advisor reviews took the stress out of wondering if it was going to be the right choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are please to hear that you picked the right place to stay at The Cranleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,994 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $168 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing