We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranleigh Boutique
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$284
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$226
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$359
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$91
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$200
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$119
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveler rating
1,454
213
78
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,454
213
78
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingair spa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictlake cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,570 - 1,575 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We were looking forward to staying at the Cranliegh again after our first stay last year. Once again the Cranleigh excelled themselves in the way they looked after us and the quality of service they gave. We stayed in a different room, but was every bit as good as our first stay. Special praise has to be given to a particular memeber of staff - Michaela, who remembered us from our first stay. She actually remembered from our first stay that we requested an iron and ironing board and had them ready for us! As well as Michaela being very friendly and helpful the rest of the staff were likewise - couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are luxurious and very clean just as you would expect from a quality hotel. The spa bath in our room (Room 16) was very welcomed after a long days walking and enjoying the lake scenery. Relaxing and enjoying the spa bath while watching tv at the same time was something we looked forward to. The Cranleigh is well situated as its a short walk to the Bowness Piers, Restaurants and Shops. The Hotel serves a lovely breakfast with the staff being friendly and attentive giving your day a great start. We are looking forward to going back, but if you are a first time visitor to Bowness-on-Windermere then the Cranleigh is the place for you to stay. Great Hotel, great area - you can't go wrong. Thank you to all at the Cranleigh for making our stay enjoyable once again!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anastasia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I really don't know where to start with this review but its certainly going to be worth a read.
My partner books this hotel for me as a suprise anniversary getaway.

On arriving at the hotel we were greated by a lovely welcoming receptionist who showed us to our room (The Sanctuary) and gave us a quick show of what all the remotes did ect which was very helpful.
The room itself it out of this world, from the plush red bedroom with extra kingsize bed underfloor heating, fully stocked mini bar, 40" LCD plasma screen, real fire, crystal & plastic wine and champagne glasses, mood lighting, bose sound system, remote control blinds. you literally couldnt ask for any more....and then you walk into the bathroom. Every girls dream!

Huggeeee designer bathtub with a plasma tv for you to watch whilst in the tub and seperate waterfall shower, and twin sinks and a private hotub. The sound system fed out throught the bathroom and private hot tub which was nice!

Aside from all the quality gadgets and gismos the room was cleaned to a fantastic standard. and equiped with almost everything you needed, bathrobes, slippers, cotton buds and alsort of duck island toiletries. all you need to bring is a toothbrush!

On the evening me and my partner went out to dinner, and on our return the maids had been in (we had only spent maybe 2 hours in the room during the day and used 1 hand towel) every single towel had been replaced. the bed had been re-made and they are turned all the mood lightening on and closed the shutters so it was fantasticly romanic on our return!

Breakfast in the morning was also fantastic! hot/cold vegie/full english. whatever you wanted, it wasnt a problem. The hotel is situated about 200yards from lake windermere and 5 minutes from the majoirty of the shops.

I could go on writing all week about how fantastic this hotel is. but this review it getting very long! If you are in any doubt. just book it, i garentee you will not have one single regret. we cant wait to go back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceya1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great place, nothing to much trouble for friendly staff and standard of accommodation superb. Food great, great location and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_Ricketts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

After having The Cranleigh recommended via TravelZoo we took advantage of a special offer which was B&B plus a Romantic Turn Down package. This meant that after a very satisfying meal in one of the nearby restaurants we came back to our luxury suite to chocolates, rose petals on the bed and champagne. Fab!!!

Our second night was spent in The Sanctuary and we were lucky enough to check in early and take full advantage of the hot tub and enjoyed more Champagne!!! The luxury suite was lovely but nothing can compare to The Sanctuary!! With it's mood lighting, fire, flat screen TV, amazing bathroom and not forgetting the hot tub, the only downside is leaving!!!
The staff were all incredibly helpful and pleasant and breakfast was top class both mornings. As a hotel receptionist myself it is always nice to be on 'the other side' and I cannot fault anything at The Cranleigh.

We had the sunshine, the most amazing room and felt like we had been away for more than a couple of days. It's the perfect place for a romantic getaway and we can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deborious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you for your fantastic review on our Guesthouse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Positives
Location - about 100m from main street/lakeside.
Very quiet - internal and external despite being on a main road.
Top quality bedroom and en-suite furnishings.
Quality cooked breakfast but supported by choice of cereals, yoghurts and juice.
Good sized en-suite facilities with the 'extras' you'd expect in a quality hotel.
Exceptionally helpful and friendly staff without being intrusive.
Quality bed and firm mattress which was beneficial as my wife has a very bad back condition.
Great value for money if offers are available otherwise very expensive.
Room 4 was located in main building which is where breakfast is served; but there is another building immediately next door that also has bedrooms.

Negatives.
Room 4 quite small bedroon area with nowhere for suitcases.
Bedside cabinet drawers very shallow so unsuitable for bulky items with limited places elsewhere within the room to put clothing other than a wardrobe.
Bedside cabinet immediately next to the bed but as it is higher than the bed frequect contact of arms and cabinet will occur.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Thank you for you comments and we hope you visit us again soon. Please note that if you look under the rooms section on our website you are able to view all our rooms in huge detail, therefore allowing you to choose the room you want to stay in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews