We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel as we had planned a weekend away to go and visit National Trust properties in the area.The receptionist was fantastic,explaining everything and the room eas great on the ground floor.We were facing the rear car park but absolutely no noise!
The restaurant attached is a Taybarns,and what an experience.The food eas fantastic and fresh and the staff were great too.You have to experience it.The manager who was on duty while we were there was fantastic he'll go far eithin the company.
OVERALL- GREAT EEEKEND,THANKS

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaylover67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

423 - 429 of 647 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

This was my second stay at the Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme and again it was a lovely stay, the room was very clean, the staff were very friendly, helpful and bubbly. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed at the above premier inn over the weekend, we had a very good stay, family room was adequate size and very clean, taynards (restaraunt attached next door) was very good value for money. If in Newcastle under Lyme I would use this premier lodge again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very poor signage as others have commented on. The hotel postcode loaded into satnav did not take me to hotel must have wasted 20 minutes driving up and down Talke Road. You need to load Beata Road as staff member told me 'A lot of people have trouble finding us using satnav'. Check in was quick. Two condenser pumps seemed to be under my Room 56 which belched out noisy steam intermittently. No idea why they were there. The TV was set at right angles to the bed which gave me a stiff neck watching it. The bathroom was like an icebox with no heating in it. Room heat had a limiter to 23C (unfortunately common in many Premier Inns now) which is all about cost saving not guest comfort. It was 20C when I woke up during the night (probably another cost saving auto setting that they hope you won't spot while you're asleep). I had asked for the heating to be on when I made my booking ...but it wasn't ...it was at its base level of 18 C. I was going to complain ...but no phone in the room ...just a phone number (!) ...but I'd left my mobile in the car. There was no one at reception desk at 8.00am and I just couldn't hang around (no bell on desk). The restaurant was a real experience to the uninitiated ..it was an 'eat all you can for £17.99 for family of four' - that's £4.50 each - so every family for miles around was taking advantage of the incredible value on offer. Hence why the restaurant (a new Taybarn) and the hotel car park were full. The dining experience was like eating in a noisy creche. You had to book too as it was so busy. Having said this the food (good variety...Italian, Oriental, Carvery etc) and service was OK ...but not what I had in mind for a quiet dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid Room number 56 and any around the condenser pumps. Go on the other side of hotel to back car p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Really good staff, good parking, difficult road access, but hotel is 'tired'. Could do with a make over, some paint and better plumbing please- try sleeping staff in rooms to see what they might improve here.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longranger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

fire doors permanently propped open making it, in my professional opinion, the most dangerous hotel I've stayed in recently, I don't rate anyone's chances if there is a fire. heater in the room was not adequate for British winter time, each time I turned the heating up on the control panel it would only stay there about 10 minutes before clicking back to 18 degrees so take extra clothes and/or blankets. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was reasonable. Adjoined restaurant wa a Taybarn, probably great if you have young children but VERY noisey, buffet food was schoold dinner standard but cheap, I'd recommend driving further down the A34 for better food options.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. We would like the opportunity to investigate further, please email your booking details to talktous@premierinn.com and we will be in contact directly. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is a typical Premier Inn experience although the décor and furnishings are of the older standard (shower in bath etc) - but very clean and comfortable as you would expect with very friendly and helpful staff. I do wish Premier would provide two comfortable chairs in double rooms when watching TV.

The attached restaurant is a Tay Barn (Tally Ban!) which is an absolutely dreadful experience! OK it gives choices of a wide variety of meals but my fried fish was not cod or haddock but the really cheap, soft and slimy Vietnamese river fish. From that I deduced that all raw ingredients are the cheapest possible. The noise was cacophonous and the atmosphere was of children and young adults in a feeding frenzy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seedaseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
556 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel

Address: Talke Road | Chesterton, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet spot on the outskirts, close to the M6, Stoke-on-Trent and Hanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing