We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have stayed here a few times now and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Beds are very clean and comfortable great value for money. With a Taybarns restuarant attached with a great choice of food. We will definatley be back to stay again.


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bags54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 647 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

Awful soulless place , one of the older Prem Inns and on a dual carriageway nowhere near local pubs or restaurants . As a consequence you are inclined to go next door to Taybarns family eat as much as you like carvery .OMG it's like entering a hell hole , crammed packed with so many people , kids running all over the place , track suited adults dominate and the place resembles a zoo . Ok I guess if you're on a trip to Alton towers with family but if you're on business avoid like the plague .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nick7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here on the 2nd May. The room was lovely and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and the room was spotless. We ate our evening meal in the Taybarns next door which was great as it caters for all tastes, is very cheap and the food was lovely. I will warn you that Taybarns does get incredibly busy so if you are looking for a quieter dining experience this restuarant may not be for you.

We stayed at this Premier Inn as we were planning to visit Alton Towers the next day. It was easy to get to the park in the morning and a perfect travelling distance if you own your own car. Reception also sell discounted park tickets if you haven't already purchased any.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Cheap, so can't comlain, hence 3 stars, not 2. The room was OK, but the bed was a little hard, the bathroom quite dated and the temperature difficult to control (it was chilly). We had breakfast at the Taybarns which is connected and it was expensive but passable, if a little dirty. Certainly not pleasant. We stayed here because we needed to be somewhere nearby early. If we were staying again, I would try the Travelodge on the A500 roundabout, which is actually closer to Newcastle by road, because you have to drive up there and turn to get into town. It may not be any better though.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craig_2159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Easily reached, busy car park on arrival with local Taybarn users (eat up the raod at Miller and Carter for good steaks). Room was very cold on arrival and max setting is 23C so the room never really warmed up all night. However, as can be expected the rooms are clean, tidy and reception happy to give you more tea bags, coffee and milk if you need it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidTeesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at premier inn Newcastle under Lyme from 6th April for 2 nights as we were VisitingAlton towers theme park. Brilliant staff very pleasant & helpfull staff food at the restaurant magic all you can eat buffet & when you have kids it's perfect always stay here when going to Alton towers highly recommend thanks again Sharon & chic & boys

Room Tip: Excellent hotel a must for Alton towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharonsndchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very busy over the easter weekend , lots of people checking in at the same time and only one receptionist, who was coping very well with the queue. old fashioned keys ,to open room doors , used to a swipe card , lovely clean room usual expectations , tea ,coffee, extra pillows.would stay again , carpark fills up due to the Taybarns next door .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lollygalSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.8 mi away
No photo provided
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
556 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel

Address: Talke Road | Chesterton, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: $58 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet spot on the outskirts, close to the M6, Stoke-on-Trent and Hanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing