We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prem Inn but bring a Packed Lunch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

As always the Premier Inn was superb. Great room, fab nights sleep, clean and tidy and very accessible. You cannot knock the place!

The problem was with this Inn was the pub/resturant next door. Newcastle under Lyme is a small village from what I can see and it was as if all the village folk decended on this place on the Saturday evening when I stayed, so it was impossible for me to have a meal there. So that disappointed.

Overall 6.5/10

Room Tip: I stayed in room 69 which was has good as any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

491 - 497 of 639 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 1 night when visiting Alton Towers.

The Premier Inn itself is the same as any other - you know exactly what you're getting - but all-you-can-eat buffet format of Taybarns seems to attract an undesirable clientele.

We arrived at 18:30 on Friday night and were greeted by Jamie on reception - who has perfected getting the Premier Inn 'we do the Good Night Guarantee so just contact reception if you need anything' sentence out in the shortest time possible, which we were grateful of as we are no strangers to PI's but understand they have to say certain things to every single guest.

We made a booking for dinner - good thing too as the place was packed with queues right to the door. Not a nice atmosphere to eat your dinner in, so we were pretty quick in taking what we wanted, eating up and leaving. The food itself was fresh and well-prepared, and for the price the buffet was very good value.

If we stay at this Premier Inn again we will definitely be looking into eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We arrived on Saturday hoping there would be some free rooms as the hotel we were staying at was awful utterly terrible so we needed a clean warm hotel for me my 3 yr old daughter, my friend and her 2 yr old son.

Thankfully they had 2 rooms and we were glad to pay the extra it cost to stay here.

Rooms where clean tidy and we both had a double and single bed in them which was brilliant, everything worked fine and everything was how it should be.

The downside was the bed was very hard and lumpy but I could live wi it just about, but the worst thing was the noise from upstairs, you could hear everything even when they went to the loo, thankfully by 11pm it stopped and I could sleep.
Heating went off in the night so we woke up to a cold room which wasnt great.

We ate breakfast in the adjoining taybarns ( typical taybarns ).

I'm happy without stay and thankful they could accommodate us at such short notice

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Clean, comfortable, good value, really good premier inn. The breakfast was great but I would give the Taybarn a miss for evening meal as not a good experience. Would certainly recommend staying here. Premier Inns have really improved recently and keep getting better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff, comfy beds and great value for a family stopover with children. Free breakfasts for under 16s is a winner. Breakfast was pretty good for the price and I would definitely use Premier Inn again. The good night guarantee fills me with confidence that they are not just trying to provide cheap and nasty accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orange_escort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on Wednesday 30th January 2013. The Premier Inn is next to and adjoining a Taybarn restaurant. The reception was very good and the staff were very helpful and polite. They asked the usual questions that are asked when you stay at a Premier Inn and did offer to book a table at the Taybarn as it was very busy. I stayed in room 21 on the ground floor. There is a lift for the other floors. The room I had was clean and comfortable. The room was quiet and I did not notice any noise. The fan in the bathroom was a little noisy and came on when the bathroom light was turned on. I paid £59.00 for the room and £5.25 for the continental breakfast. This was in the Taybarn and was very good. All in all a very pleasant stay and the staff at the Premier Inn do make the difference.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel and further from the Taybarn may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed at this Hotel due to workmen being at the House and we found the Hotel to be really good.Although the parking is quite bad if you go to the back of the building there are lots of spaces.The Resturant next door was full but we didn't have any problems with noise.The staff were excellant.Would highly recomend.Good price too.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
412 reviews
2.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
553 reviews
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Stoke Talke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel

Address: Talke Road | Chesterton, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 7EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: $58 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a quiet spot on the outskirts, close to the M6, Stoke-on-Trent and Hanley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing