We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They dont care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clayton Lodge Hotel
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They dont care”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The rooms were disgusting on the day I left I found someone's passport under the bed along with several empty bottles. There is no personal service they just didn't care. They took a deposit for a room I had already paid for but the person at reception did not really know what it was for.
The bar was a reasonable price but after seeing the rooms we did not fancy eating there. My suggestion is go to anywhere but here.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    82
    126
    95
    318
See reviews for
136
196
34
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and although the main areas were okay and quite stylish, the rooms needed work. We booked two rooms and neither were really as they should be. Both rooms had broken bath panels; one had stains on the carpet and the chair, the other had cobwebs by the window; the back of the bathroom door in one room was filthy, with a long drip down it, whilst the toilet in the other had some kind of bodily fluid down the front, which had not been cleaned; there were clear signs of damp in our bathroom, evident in the silverfish I found crawling around in the bathroom; and also one room was not cleaned after the first night. On top of this, the fire alarm went off at 1.00am on the first night and also both keys had to be reset. We did raise these points with the reception staff, but they were extremely unhelpful.
On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was good and the waiting staff helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. Not suitable for people who cannot clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights due to our days out at Alton Towers. The price was good and the rooms a good size. The breakfast was nice and self service. However, there were a lot of bugs (and dead bugs) around the hotel. A huge spider appeared when we were eating our breakfast. I don't think the rooms had ever seen a hover but for the price you can;t complain. £52 a night with breakfast included. Bar was nice but not very lively. Food good. Good for families and has a nice outdoor area. No lift. Sausage pillows not good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side are quiterer as road is on the right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here the day before Alton Towers as it was an ideal stop off location, without the stress of having to do the driving and theme park all in one day. The reception staff were friendly too. The room is pretty basic, and the view was just of a roof, but realistically it was just a stop off place to stay, we weren't looking for luxury. The hotel does have an Indian restaurant next door, and there is information about it in the lobby, but we decided to drive out and see what was around.
Not even a 10 minute drive away we found a retail park with different food chains, choosing Frankie and Benny's! If you go Sunday to Thursday, they do a two course meal for £10.99, so for those who have families, it's ideal.
If I was going to Alton towers again, I would stay here, it was only a 35minute drive away and there was no morning rush!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The staff are friendly, the breakfast is plentiful, the parking is free. I chose this hotel based on their very reasonable room rates and was pleasantly surprised by the venue as a whole. The rooms could do with a freshening up and the doors take some getting used to but these are not reason enough for me to not want to stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithyboy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked this hotel becuase its close to alton towers... wish i slept in my car! Room was filthy handles hanging of the cupboard doors shower curtain pole falls on your head when in the shower and room is to hot no ac! One member of staff does three jobs ie recepiton bar man and porter! STAY AWAY ITS CHEAP FOR A REASON

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurraySchulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinloss
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Travelling from Northern Scotland to Devon, I wanted to find a Hotel to break the journey and chose this Hotel based on what I considered to be best value for money. The Hotel is just about 1 and a half miles off Junction 15 of the M6 and very easy to find.
There is ample parking which is free and upon arrival I was welcomed by friendly and attentive reception staff. The rooms are adequate and comfortable and you can be assured of a comfortable night's sleep. The Bar is if of a very pleasant design with very comfortable seating. (Happy hour is between 5 and 8 pm) Exceptionally good food available from the restaurant or as a Bar Meal. Local pubs nearby if you just want cheaper option of Pub Grub.
A superb buffet breakfast awaits you in the morning: Continental or full English, leaving you ready to continue with your journey. Chosen initially on value for money but pleasantly surprised with the exceptional high standards of service and comfort. When I next drive South, I will always choose to break my journey at the Grand National. Thank you to all the Staff and very well done!

Room Tip: I had abooked a single room and the room had a comfortable double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allancaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.7 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clayton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Lodge Hotel

Property: Clayton Lodge Hotel
Address: Clayton lane, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 4AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clayton Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Clayton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing