We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Reviewed January 1, 2013

room was clean, tv had all channels. bathroom was well stocked and very nice. food was expensive but excellent fresh good quality produce.
pool was very clean and big enough.
drinks from the bar were overpriced, a pint was £4.
so make sure you take enough money for luxurys whilst there.
staff were nice and helpful.

Room Tip: i booked double room, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent and for posting your review.

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

614 - 620 of 811 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

We tried the place out for new years eve. The areas given over to the evening were drab and unwelcoming and no effort had been made to decorate for the occasion. The remaining Christmas decor was token only and poor.The food was surprisingly unremarkable and basic to say the least, The main course was very much like my old school dinners - but not quite as good, and there was neither gravy nor sauce with the very dry vegetables. The bread rolls were forgotten and served after we'd finished the soup. We also found most of the staff to be unhelpful and miserable and clearly didn't want to be there. Some popular alcoholic drinks were unavailable and those that were, were extremely expensive.There was also a rude comment from the staff regarding a reqest for Jagermeister.
We were on the premises for six hours but did not take a room so can not comment on the accomodation. We had a great night, but that was entirely down to us and in no way attributed to the Holiday Inn. It's not surprising that the evening was under attended. We will not be visiting again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186378Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear 186378Phil

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the poor service provided by our restaurant staff and for the food selection. We will address this and will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand you were not 100% satisfied, we would hope that you would give our restaurant another chance.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Overpriced wine served in penny wine glasses /bad entertainment / table plan and layout bad ,like sitting in a corridor. No coffee / mince pies . No music during the meal / cheap crackers . Won't be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Debbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

There isn't much choice of hotels in the area, so this is probably as good as it gets. The hotel is well-located for access to the M6 and Stoke-on-Trent, and the staff I met were professional and friendly. The breakfast buffet was pretty good. However, the rooms are very dated and the hotel charges £16 for 24 hours of internet access (hence only 2 stars for value overall). Moreover, Gold members of Holiday Inn's loyalty scheme (Priority Club) do NOT get free access, unlike Marriott, Hilton, and other large chains.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed overnight on business and found the hotel- despite a somewhat dated exterior to be up to the usual Holiday Inn standards and even better- the reason was the excellent staff who were very acommodating. I arrived quite late and check in was quick, and efficient. My room was clean comfortable, nice big bed and clean towels. The shower was also very good and the breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel as an excellent place to stay if en route to the north west of the UK and is only a few minutes drive from Junction 15 of the M6.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the car park are quieter but all seem to be of a high standard. I got the impression...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is conveniently situated by the side of Junction 15 of the M6. It used to be a Forte Posthouse but for a while has been a Holiday Inn. The hotel looks and is rather tired and is in urgent need of updating. Having said that, it is a good place to stop to use the facilities (through the main door and turn left). We have sampled the food but it is less than impressive. The coffee is good but unless advised, a 10% Service Charge is automatically added as the staff advise that they MUST bring the coffee to the tables! We had to return our jug of milk this week as the black bits floating on the surface were not spotted by the staff, despite being extremely obvious on the white milk! In addition, some of the staff could do with going to classes to learn how to smile!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was my second time staying in this Holiday Inn. It is located very conveniently, just a couple of roundabouts off the M6 motorway. I was only staying one night, as before, but this time arrived on a Sunday evening.

As with a lot of Holiday Inns, the restaurant is not open on Sunday evening, but bar snacks are available. I selected a Beef Lasagne, which was served with a side salad and garlic bread. The garlic bread was perfect, the salad was also good. The lasagne was ghastly: covered in about 3mm of melted cheese, which, when removed, revealed pasta which had been cooked to death. The taste of overcooked pasta far outweighed any taste of the rest of the dish. There was one member of staff on duty in the bar, and I can only guess that he was a darts fan, because, damn, was the TV up loud. He did tell me I could sit around the other side, which had a TV with the sound turned down, but quite frankly, the sound carried across the bar.

Breakfast this morning also showed up the hotel. There were two members of staff on duty, and as early as I eat, not a lot of diners. Yet, despite going up to fetch some cereal and then toast (two trips), after eating a couple of cooked items, my dishes were not cleared. The staff seemed to spend a lot of time reading some paperwork.

On the plus side, I was in room 156, which I think is one of the exec type rooms. It appears to have had a recent refurbishment, and the bed was a joy: a non-sagging mattress. One of best nights sleep I have had in a hotel in a long time. Another plus was that the cooked breakfast items were cooked properly i.e. no pale, icky side to the sausages.

Overall, the rooms, if you have one in the 150 to approx 160 area are likely to be also in the recently refurbished category. Find somewhere else for dinner, and make sure you buy the breakfast voucher on check-in, if you haven't booked a breakfast inclusive rate.

Room Tip: Rooms 150 to 160 appear to be the nicer exec style rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoPilsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
556 reviews
3.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6

Address: Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 3AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: $69 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent is an ideal location for both the business and leisure traveller. The hotel is situated just off the M6 at Jct 15 and on our doorstep we have fantastic link roads to all destinations within the Midlands. Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent completed a 1.5 Million refurbishment at the beginning of 2007 including reception, conference facilities, bedrooms & lounge/bar. Stoke on Trent, fondly called the Potteries is famous for its ceramics, and has three city centres, Hanley, Stoke On Trent and Newcastle under Lyme. With 118 Air Conditioned bedrooms, all of which are decorated to an excellent standard, contemporary and comfortable, with all the up to date facilities you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The Meetings Network programme offers 2 suites, 7 syndicate rooms and high speed internet access.For the healthy minded the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent has a fantastic Spirit Health Club which has a swimming pool and gymnasium, or lie back and relax in our jacuzzi and sauna.Local Intersts: ALTON TOWERS -Get your adrenalin pumping Ride Em We Dare You: WEDGWOOD - Famous for Pots and Ceramics TRENTHAM AWAKES - A touch of Italy with its gardens, vineyard, Monkey Forest and retail outlets.See our packages for fantastic family deals where kids stay and eat free. Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stoke On Trent m6 Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Holiday Inn Newcastle Under Lyme
Newcastle Under Lyme Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing