We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent swimming pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Birmingham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent swimming pool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend splashed out on 2 nights in an executive room. Nicely decorated room,very modern. Adored the swimming pool and jacuzzi. Didn't try any food. Nice atmosphere. Only down side if any was that reception treated us a bit mechanically. Would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The swimming pool in a morning is lovely with the sun shining through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veganbogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendy S, Manager at Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Veganbogey
Thank you for posting such a great review, the team will be thrilled to read it.
I'm delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed our leisure facilities so much, I must admit I've not been for a swim our the pool with the sun on my back, I really must try it!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    243
    194
    90
    66
See reviews for
196
145
21
248
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed over for 3 nights with a wedding party and the first thing to flag up was the staff who were very helpful and cheery with it. With a mix of Scots ,Welsh and the bride's relatives from the local area there was a fair bit of pressure to cope with the demands, particularly in the evenings and at breakfast, but it was well managed and I did not hear of any complaints.
As to the building it was a little tired and it could do with bringing up to to-days standards however the rooms were clean and in the 'upgraded' executive rooms there were robes and bottled water plus a bonus of a single Mars bar everyday!
All in all an enjoyable stay attributed in the main to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank churchburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESAV37
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I Often stay at Holiday INN Chains whilst on business. This was the first time i had stayed at this hotel and on arriving it looked tired and uninspiring but it was just a stopver for work so i was not terribly bothered. Once inside, the check in was swift and the place looked clean and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable as you'd normally expect in a Holiday Inn but a bit dated. When i came down for dinner there was a Priority Club drinks reception which i was not expecting so had an enjoyable freebie. The Sales Manager used the reception as a good venue to ask people if they worked locally or stayed often, i think with the intent on hooking a large business and pitching for the contract.It was done politely, i was given another free drink and I found it refrehing to see a company working hard to attract custom and in a non intrusive way. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service throughout the hotel was excellent. It was clear to see why the hotel was busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESAV37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east england
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were so pleased to discover this hotel whilst travelling on business. The staff were exceedingly helpful- our room was spotlessly clean and the room was very well equipped- as a previous reviewer has stated it was far better than staying in a motorway service station but at a very reasonable price. This is one hotel we will definitely revisit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank location_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here at the end of Sept 2012 for one night with the family as an overnight stay before Alton Towers. On the whole the hotel was good and had some good features like a play area for the kids but there were some basics that could be better.

The hotel was clean, well maintained, with friendly and helpful staff who were very approachable. We stayed at the same time as a wedding reception and were expecting lots of noise and a lack of service but this was not the case at all.

There weren't any major faults with the hotel with the only problems being the worlds most pathetically powered shower and the buffet breakfast which was advertised as award winning but was over-cooked and swimming in grease. I've stayed in other Holiday Inn establishments before and know their catering facilities are top notch so was quite disappointed on this occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August when travelling with our two young sons (aged 4 years and 9 months). We had a room with double bed and sofa bed (like one of the photos with sofa running along side the bed) and they fitted in a travel cot. This was very, very tight and we were a bit disappointed with the size but the cleanliness was good. The curtains were actually wooden shutters so let in no light - perfect! Bathroom was very small and smelt a little damp but shower was good. The room had a fridge and tea/coffee making, both handy, especially the fridge for snacks for the wee ones.

The pool was fine, play park didn't look that fun so my 4 year old didn't even want to try it! They did however have a box of toys near reception, which delighted him. Breakfast was good and the staff helped with getting warm milk for my boys so that was great.

We visited nearby Trentham Monkey Forest, which was close by and good fun. Great to have somewhere the kids could run around before heading back on to the M6. Would we stay again? Not sure. We'd really want a bigger room but service was fine and didn't feel like we could complain about the room as we were using points.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank organisedmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Much better than staying on a service station- there is also a petrol filling station 200 yards further up the hill- fuel at non motorway prices.
Good bar meals & buffet breakfast.
We stayed to break our journey on a home move between south west & Scotland - two cars to relocate and very tiring after packing up a house

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4wheelsonmywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
2.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6

Property: Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Address: Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 Clayton Road, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 3AQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent is an ideal location for both the business and leisure traveller. The hotel is situated just off the M6 at Jct 15 and on our doorstep we have fantastic link roads to all destinations within the Midlands. Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent completed a 1.5 Million refurbishment at the beginning of 2007 including reception, conference facilities, bedrooms & lounge/bar. Stoke on Trent, fondly called the Potteries is famous for its ceramics, and has three city centres, Hanley, Stoke On Trent and Newcastle under Lyme. With 118 Air Conditioned bedrooms, all of which are decorated to an excellent standard, contemporary and comfortable, with all the up to date facilities you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand. The Meetings Network programme offers 2 suites, 7 syndicate rooms and high speed internet access.For the healthy minded the Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent has a fantastic Spirit Health Club which has a swimming pool and gymnasium, or lie back and relax in our jacuzzi and sauna.Local Intersts: ALTON TOWERS -Get your adrenalin pumping Ride Em We Dare You: WEDGWOOD - Famous for Pots and Ceramics TRENTHAM AWAKES - A touch of Italy with its gardens, vineyard, Monkey Forest and retail outlets.See our packages for fantastic family deals where kids stay and eat free. Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Stoke On Trent m6 Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Holiday Inn Newcastle Under Lyme
Newcastle Under Lyme Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing