We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue for a party. My 18th was amazing at the Borough Arms Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Venue for a party. My 18th was amazing at the Borough Arms Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2010

My 18th Birthday party was amazing. The borough arms hotel was a great venue for a party and all staff werevery friendly and accomodating. The night was brilliant and was everything i wanted and more! :) All ages attended my party and all had a great time :)Great food, Bar, Staff & A Brilliant room for good value :). Also an amazing DJ was organised through the hotel :) Thankyou so much Borough arms hotel for a great night :) x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    124
    47
    30
    13
See reviews for
183
87
21
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

I was booked in here for two nights and booked out after only one as I couldnt face a second night in this depressing hotel.
I stayed in an annexe room which was motel style ie row of rooms beside the car park. Very tired and shabby room, No hairdryer or toiletries. Grubby bathroom floor and basic bedroom. Room was badly lit and never seemed warm. As a lone female traveller I didnt feel entirely safe staying here which is why I left early. Walls thin and noisy neighbours rose early - 5.30am.
Breakfast was very basic indeed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghMrsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham, Wilts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

As a national sales manager I stay regularly in hotels. Apart from Marriott who are twice the price these were the best bed and pillows I have encountered. The food is always good here and is ideally located for my customers in this area. Good value and clean.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

we booked the borough arms for the venue after our daughters christening we could not fault one thing the staff were very professional and could not do enough for us they updated us all the way through the day . The food was excellent and plenty of it plus very reasonable prices.Beverly the co-ordinater was fantastic as was the manager.I will definately use the borough arme again

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy190819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

If you like cheap 1970's bedroom furniture, cracked bare plaster, filthy carpets and mouldy shower trays, then the Borough Arms is your sort of place. I'm told that the bar is very good. It needs to be if you're thinking about sleeping in one of their bedrooms.
There are plenty of good, clean budget and mid range hotels in North Staffordshie and frankly I'd rather share a room with Lenny Henry than spend a night at the Borough Arms

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lixwmlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2010
Dear lixwmlizard

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you encountered during you recent visit.

We pride ourselves on providing a good standard of accommodation and customer service at all times which is regularly praised by our customers both verbally and in writing. Please let me assure you this is not the usual standard you can expect from The Borough Arms Hotel and the room in question has already received our immediate attention.

Customer feedback is extremely important to us as this enables us to improve our product and services. I sincerely hope that you will consider using our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

It has been a joy to work with both the Events Organiser and Hotel Manager throughout the planning process for our recent school reunion dinner.

It was obvious from the outset that The Borough wanted to provide the very best service, excellent value for money and accommodate all requests put before them.

Their professional and quietly efficient approach to organising an event inspired confidence that all would be perfect on the evening.

And perfect it was. Within a warm, welcoming atmosphere, the dining experience involving kindly, unobtrusive yet attentive staff, serving well presented, lovely food was a faultless delight.

The reunion evening was regarded, without exception, by all guests, as hugely enjoyable and successful. Our grateful thanks, and indeed respect, go to the hard working Manager and staff at The Borough. We shall most certainly return for our next reunion.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillbankJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed at this hotel with some friends whilst visiting alton towers. We all found the staff to be very friendly and helpful (particually the general manager who was very visible throughout our stay) and nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was of a very good standard and all for a reasonable price. Would recommend this well positioned hotel to anyone visiting the area, far better than the impersonal service experienced at recently visited chain hotels. Already planning a return visit to this area and will definitely be booking with this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing