We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Staff were very welcome.the room was very clean and breakfast lovely with spot on service overall very good value for money an old hotel with a very nice touch and a well stocked bar to well worth a try if your in the area

Room Tip: Car Parking can be a problem if function on at hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

May I firstly thank you for your recent stay at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to write your review.

Hearing that the rooms were clean and comfortable is great news and your comments regarding breakfast and the service you received are very encouraging.

Our staff take pride in offering our guests an excellent service and an enjoyable stay and I am glad to hear that you found this to be the case.

I am sorry that you found some difficulties with parking during your stay. Although we do have a good sized free car park at the hotel it can, as you mentioned, get busy when we have a function. There is however, a large pay and display car park next to the hotel which is free during evenings and all weekend which guests do utilise when required.

I do hope that you will choose our hotel again the next time that you are in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 557 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

Me and a friend went came to Newcastle-under-Lyme to see and have a night out with some friends we met while on holiday. It offered what we needed, great price and a very good location with free parking. The room was fine, and had everything you need for a night’s stay. If we ever go back we will defiantly consider using it again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

May I firstly thank you for your recent stay at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to compile a review.

We take pride in offering our guests an excellent service and an enjoyable stay and I am glad to hear that you had a happy and comfortable stay with us.

I am glad you believe that we offer good value for money and provided you with a good location for your recent visit to see friends.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We booked a private room and buffet for the wake following a funeral. From the first booking discussions, right through to the end of the function, the service was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for the General Manager and staff. Every request was fulfilled or even exceeded and our event therefore went like clockwork. The food at the buffet was of a very good quality and staff repeatedly checked that all was well. We would have no hesitation in recommending others to use this hotel for functions. We were very impressed with the service and could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing The Borough Arms hotel to host your wake and for taking the time to compile a review.

I am delighted that you found all our staff very helpful from your initial contact right through to the end of your gathering and that the service provided by the staff on the day exceeded your expectations.

It is our aim to provide outstanding service and ensure that all events run smoothly and I am especially glad that this has been the case during such a difficult time for your family.

I hope i will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in happier circumstances in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We spent 2 weeks in June it was our second visit. Thank you Mr.A.Sheikh and all the staff for making our visit really special.We had a lovely time & the food was excellent we hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divine147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

May I firstly thank you for your recent stay at The Borough Arms hotel and for taking the time to write a review.

I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and am very happy that you felt our staff helped ensure your visit was special.

I do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We have booked the Borough arms hotel for almost every important occasion in our family for the last forty years, the most recent being my parent's ruby wedding anniversary. Every time we go, we are impressed by the welcome we receive. The service is first class, nothing is too much trouble and the food, even when catering for large numbers, is excellent. Huge Thanks to all at the Borough for making my parent's evening so special.

Room Tip: We didn't book an overnight stay this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fifilafoo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel once again for such a special occasion and for taking the time to compile a review.

It's great to get positive feedback about the hotel, especially the staff who go out of their way to make the business what it is.

The service and food that we provide is something we all take great pride in here at the hotel and to hear that we are getting it right is very encouraging.

To know that we are able to achieve such consistently high standards so that you continue to use our services over a 40 year period is fantastic and I will be sure to pass on your kind sentiments to all the staff.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the hotel for many more happy events in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We booked a cocktail party for one of our colleagues retirement, he has been with us for 16 years, hence the sweet 16. We had drinks on arrival, waitress served canapes, and music. We arrived early to check the room and add decoration etc. The staff and management were excellent, very helpful and extremely friendly, nothing was too much bother. The drinks were perfect and the canapes and waitress service could not be faulted. The in house disco played exactly the kind of music we wanted and altered the tempo as the night went on. Everyone really enjoyed the night, especially Bert would had retired, the manager had even given him a card from the Borough Arms, which we all thought was above and beyond with guest service. We will be going again and have also started thinking about the Works Christmas Party there, as we now know anything we ask for will not be too much trouble. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoozoo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing the Borough Arms hotel for your colleague's retirement cocktail party and for taking the time to write a review.

It's great to get positive feedback about the hotel, especially about our staff who go out of their way to make the business what it is and to hear that you think that the staff and management were excellent, very helpful and extremely friendly throughout helps us to know that we are doing the right things.

I am also glad that you found the welcome drinks to be perfect and that the canapes and waitress service could not be faulted.

Our resident DJ enusres he works closely with our customers to play exactly the kind of music wanted and i am glad he managed to meet your expectations.

I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for your Christmas Party if not before!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently celebrated our daughters 18th birthday party at the Borough Arms Hotel, from the minute we enquired to the day of the party we had excellent service. The staff were very welcoming and could not do enough for you, the food was fantastic and all of our guest's made a point of coming upto us to say how lovely the food was. We had a fantastic night and Louise will have very happy memories of her 18th birthday. A big thank you to Mr Sheik, emma, phil and all the staff at the Borough, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Borough for any event or even a meal in the restaurant or bar , many , many thanks .

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debsbaddeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

I would like to thank you for choosing the Borough Arms hotel for your daughter's 18th birthday party and for taking the time to compile a review.

I am delighted that you found all our staff very polite & helpful from your initial enquiry right through to the evening of the party and that the food was fantastic.

It's great to get positive feedback about the hotel, especially the staff who go out of their way to make the business what it is.

Personal recommendation is the highest form of praise and I will ensure that I pass on your kind words to all the staff involved in making Louise's birthday celebrations so memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
414 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
648 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range: $66 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing