We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“christmas day lunch”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“christmas day lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

we wanted a quiet christmas lunch, in a warm, friendly atmosphere,
we got all that, and more, we were given a booth, which was lovely, but we were
still part of the main room, and enjoyed seeing the family parties enjoying their
christmas lunch.
our service was superb, not in your face, but eagre to please, and my special needs ( I cannot eat full portions), were attended to without any fuss or special attention.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinagirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent review following your Christmas Day lunch and I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your meal.

I am delighted to hear that you really enjoyed the day and the atmosphere in our restaurant. It is good to hear that you found our staff attentive and you enjoyed your freshly prepared meals. I have passed on your kind sentiments to all of our staff who provided you with such good service and wonderful meal.

I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    126
    47
    30
    14
See reviews for
187
88
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I organised a works Christmas party which started off as a provisional booking of 30 then rose to 40 then 50 as take-up was greater than expected. Throughout the process the staff at the Borough were helpful & accomodating despite the changes in numbers & the fact that we were a late booking. We ended up in the King room, due to the numbers, which we had all to ourselves. The food was great & the service was efficient. All the feedback I had from the diners was positive, I have not had one complaint which, considering there were 50 of us is amazing. The price was also good at £16.95 per head. I dont know if I will be the organisor next year but I will definately recommend coming here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Firstly may I thank you for your recent review and for choosing The Borough Arms hotel for your Christmas Party.

It was a pleasure dealing with you and i am glad we were able to accomodate all your changes so efficiently. I am delighted to hear that your meal was thoroughly enjoyed by yourself and your colleagues, that everything was to your satisfaction, our prices are good and that the service provided was to a high standard.

I have passed on your kind sentiments to all the staff involved who always aim to make our events enjoyable for all who attend.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you all back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Our family of 13 had a fantastic meal on boxing day, the food was lovely & the service amazing. Special thanks to the manager who could not have been more attentive when our little boy was feeling unwell & for the gifts for all of the little ones. This was our 2nd family gathering here and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CheshireJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Firstly may I thank you for your recent review following your Boxing Day lunch and for choosing The Borough Arms once again.

I am very pleased that you have had another pleasant experience with us and that the food and service provided has remained to your satisfaction. It was our pleasure to welcome you and i am happy that the gifts were well received by the children.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back for many more happy occasions in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Our family went to the Borough Arms Hotel for Christmas Day lunch. The food was really good and the service was excellent. Staff were very attentive from the minute we arrived. All vegetables were fresh and served in dishes so that you could have as much or as little as you required. The choice of wines was also good with something to suit everyone. Our party ranged from 26-84 years of age and all were happy.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesleydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing The Borough Arms Hotel for your Christmas Day lunch and for taking the time to compile a review.

I am very pleased that you had such a pleasant experience with us and that the food and service provided was to your satisfaction. I am glad that all your guests had such an enjoyable time and i have passed on your kind comments to all our staff.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you back for many more happy occasions in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had our wedding at the Borough Arms on 21/09/2013 Emma Jordan the wedding co-ordinator and Mr Sheik were extremely helpful and took time to make sure everything went to plan. We had the bridal suite which was lovely and even had a gift. We had boxing day lunch at the hotel and the food yet again was wonderful. We cannot recommend the hotel enough if you are thinking of holding a wedding or any other event please take a look at the hotel for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for your recent review and your kind words.

I am delighted to hear that your Wedding celebrations went well and you & your guests also enjoyed your Boxing Day meal. I am glad that everything was to your satisfaction and that the food provided was enjoyed by you and your guests.

Guest feedback is very important to us and I hope I have the pleasure of welcoming you back at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have to agree with the below review of 'terrible' too. We ate here just before Christmas for a bar meal, for the barmaid to forget our drinks order that I ordered with the food and she continued to serve the 'regular' customers that obviously frequent there more than I do (which isn't difficult and won't be difficult as I will not be going back), I had to ask for our drinks to which I got a 'oh sorry, I forgot'. The bar was not busy at all - the restaurant was but the bar only had three couples in and one of them was us. When the food came it was cold to luke-warm, the vegetables were stone cold and I have seen bigger portions at McDonalds - and had better food. When we paid, we were asked did we enjoy our meals to which we responded that no, we did not. All that we were met with was an apology, to be informed that 'Mr Sheik' (whoever he is) likes customers to complain when they are eating and the promise of a free pudding next time....well Mr Sheik, you will not be given the opportunity to give us a free pudding and if it is true that you like customers to complain whilst eating, I will say this - your customers should not have to complain, the food should be cooked to an acceptable standard, regardless!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank windsor988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to compile a review.

I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent meal as we did not live up to your expectations or meet the standards that we set ourselves. I appreciate the feedback and rest assured that we take all comments very seriously.

Please accept my apologies for the issues that you encountered and i can assure you that this is not the usual service that our guests enjoy as can be seen from other reviews. Should any guests encounter any problems then we do like to hear about it at the time so as to try and resolve matters quickly and efficiently and I would be more than happy to discuss any of your concerns in the first instance should you wish to contact me direct.

Guest feedback is important to us all here at the Borough Arms and it enables us to ensure we are meeting the standards expected. Where this is not the case it enables us to improve and as such I would once again like to thank you for submitting your review and bringing this to our attention.

I do hope that I have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Tim Armstrong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

34 Workmates attended the party disco on the above date. The food & entertainment was excellent. This was our 5th year at the Borough & we look forward to booking again next year.I would like to congratulate Mr Shake & his team on providing a great night out.Yours sincerely Dave Stubbs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Operations Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
I would like to thank you for choosing to hold your Christmas Festivities at The Borough Arms Hotel and for taking the time to compile a review of your event.

I am very pleased that you and your colleagues have had yet another excellent experience with us and that the food and entertainment provided has remained to your satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments and I look forward to welcoming you all back for many more great nights in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing