We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little faded”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A little faded”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

A small hotel, fairly suitable for short stays. I found the service acceptable but not first rate. The rooms I stayed in were clean but not particularly exciting. They had most basic features but there are better small hotels around which have more character.
They do hold office parties here, and the food is quite good. Bar service is a little slow and the lighting a little too bright in the bar. Toilets need refurbishing.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the main building. The annexe has a motel feel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susiqtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    127
    48
    30
    14
See reviews for
192
89
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

At the end of July 2013 we celebrated my daughters christening in the King Room. The room was perfect with its own bar and dedicated staff. The staff helped as much as possible in the morning to prepare the room. The buffet was divine and all the guests commented on the high standard. The bar tafiff's are very reasonable for a hotel also. Throughout the day the staff were so helpful and attentive it just made the celebration a day to remember. Will definately use the hotel in future for any more celebrations we have. Thanks a million Kelly & family

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We held our little boys christening party at the hotel and it was absolutely lovely, we couldnt fault a single thing! All the staff were so helpful and made our afternoon run smoothly! We had the basic buffet and there was plenty of food and it was of a high standard and everything got eaten, when food on the buffet started to run low it was immediately topped back up again by the staff. We held our function in the Ostler restaurant as there was a wedding on in the main function room and it was lovely it was just the perfect size for our party, we left all the decorations with the party planner to sort for us and she did a fab job with the balloons, banners and table decorations and made the room look beautiful. Overall we definately made the right choice choosing here to hold our little ones christening party we cant thank the staff and general manager Mr Sheikh and also the party planner for all their hard work they put in to make our day so special, we will definatley use the hotel again for any future. Once again thanks so much for all the effort and hard work put in by you all :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We held my mums 60th birthday party in the function rooms here. The room was just the right size for all 100+ guests. We had a hawiian theme so we had a lot of decorations to dress the room! they didnt mind where we put them in the room as long as we used blue tack. The party planner was very helpful and we got exactly what we wanted on the night, we asked for cocktails on arrival, and somebody to give out the hawiian leis to the guests on arrival. It really added to the atmosphere of the party. We didnt even need to worry about cleaning up! it was all done for us, and our decorations put safely for us to collect the next day. The general manager, Mr Sheikh was very friendly and helped the party run smoothly on the night regarding cake cutting times and buffet times. The buffet itself was very good, we only chose the basic menu, but it was of a high standard, it all got eaten!! We used the "house" DJ for our music, we had told the party planner that we wanted some hawiian style music, motown and chart muic throughout the night, we got exactly what we asked for, people also made some requests on the night, and he didint disappoint. A great party had by all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camperStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sister had her wedding reception here in August and there was nothing to fault at all with the venue, the meal or the staff. We were very impressed with the professionalism of the wedding co-ordinator and the friendly and pleasant manner that the staff exhibited. The meal was superb. The portions were more than adequate.The bride & groom also spent the night staying at the hotel as well as some other guests and were very satisfied with the rooms. What is even more remarkable is that the wedding reception was booked about a week before the actual wedding. This is no reflection on the hotel - just that my sister was going to have her reception in another part of the county but was let down not once but twice by the previous venues (the second one about 10 days before the wedding) so three cheers for all the staff for pulling out the stops for making the wedding day so special at such short notice - would not hesitate to recommend this venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here last weekend for a family party. Great check in time of 1pm, and check out time of 11am next day. Family room was very spacious and comfortable (2 adults and 2 teenagers). Bathroom was dated - tiny avocado bath, but apart from that we can't fault it. Free spacious car park. Breakfast was lovely the next day, staff very nice and helpful, would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

we recently got married at this hotel on 3rd august 2013. we got married in a fabulous decorated room with a colour scheme chosen by us. followed by a wonderful wedding breakfast for us and our guests. the room the meal the service we received was all the best any happy couple could wish for the manager . the wedding co-ordinator and staff were very polite and treated us and our guests just like royalty, we had our evening reception using both rooms, the food .disco and staff were all fantastic and we all had a very memorable wedding day ,we stayed in the honeymoon suite , it was a large comfy. special feeling room. which completed our day ,making the whole experience very memorable for us, thank you to the manager ,and emma and all the staff ,book your wedding here they make it a truly special day for you ,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
367 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
747 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing