We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90th Birthday Celebrations”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“90th Birthday Celebrations”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Three years ago I held my father's funeral gathering at the Borough Arms and so I knew the standard of the service. This time I used it for a surprise 90th birthday party for my mother. Apart from the initial visit all the planning was done by email which was a great help as I live a distance away from North Staffs. On the day everything was as good or better than I hoped for. Events Co-ordinator Emma had set up the rooms just as I asked .The function rooms were, bright, clean and inviting with starched table cloths in place and ready for us on our arrival.The staff had been briefed as to our requirements and nothing was too much trouble. The buffet was plentiful, attractively presented and tasty and did not appear until the agreed time so that it was fresh.My only complaint would be that those fiddly individual milk cartons are out of place at a function and milk in a jug is needed.There is always the danger of milk spurting out of these cartons ,if you can get them open, and old fingers require quite a degree of assistance. But apart from this the Borough Arms made the birthday memorable for us. A big thank you to all

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ormeg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    129
    48
    31
    14
See reviews for
195
90
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A funeral is not a happy day, but the service and welcome we received at the Borough Arms was excellent.
The tables in the function suite were beautifully laid with crisp white table linen.
The Food was good quality and well presented. A hot buffet for 100 people, which was constantly replenished.( plus scones with fresh cream and strawberries, Danish pastries etc, and unlimited tea and coffee).
Wouldn't hesitate to book the Borough Arms again for any occasion, and would be very happy to recommend to anyone looking for a venue in Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From myself & my husband, we want to thank the borough arms hotel for a fantastic job they did for our wedding breakfast. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the food was great and they did a fantastic job decorating the room for us. Everyone enjoyed themselves and there was a great atmosphere. We can't thank them enough

Mark and Rebecca Edmondson

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its central position and previous Tripadvisor reviews. Externally and internally it is unprepossessing and to be frank rather tired. It does however offer good clean accommodation and a very good breakfast. We could not recommend the top floor front rooms on a hot evening however, they were very warm and with the windows wide open very noisy from the traffic.

Room Tip: Avoid top floors(lots of stairs!) and very hot on summer evenings. Traffic noisy in front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuysGrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We held a 50th Birthday Party on the 6th of July 2013. The Function room was ideal for our party size and was well laid out for our night. The Buffet hot food was plentiful and of good quality. All of the staff were very helpful and provided excellent service to make a wonderful night. Prices of drinks at the bar were very reasonable for a hotel setting which makes a pleasant change. We hired the hotel disco which was excellent and catered for all ages and music tastes. Thank you to Mr Sheikh and Emma for organizing a wonderful party and all of the staff for the attentive service. We would most certainly book the Borough Arms Hotel for any future functions.

Kind regards,

Mark and Jacky Lee

Room Tip: Unable to comment on the rooms, swimming pool or fitness center as we did not use this service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My mother booked this hotel for the 80th Birthday. Leading up to the event I liaised with the Events Co-ordinator on a number of occasions to ensure a successful evening. The co-operation of the staff to provide as much help and assistance was brilliant, from table organisation, equipment provision for a power point presentation, service on the evening was first class and the meal was faultless. I would recommend this hotel for a special celebration and would willingly return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Borough Arms and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive, even the owner was fully involved all through our booking. The food was good, delivered exactly on time. Car parking was easy and the central position ideal for our purposes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
770 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing