We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel close to town”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
rugeley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hotel close to town”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Very close to town, rooms very clean and of good standard ,service efficient, parking around the back, breakfast food & service and restaurant very good indeed.
we should have ordered the kippers for breakfast, I didn't spot them till it was too late !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalabariCrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, General Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear MalabariCrab,

I would like to thank you for your review on Trip Advisor following your stay at the hotel.

I am glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your favourable comments and I hope to see you again at the hotel in the near future and trust you will order the kippers from the breakfast menu!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    126
    47
    30
    14
See reviews for
188
88
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Spent the night in room 41 on the eve of my sisters wedding. First impression was on until we actually got in there. We in a smoke free room and my bedding was full of cigarette burns, my daughter then went for a shower and it dripped rather than sprayed. The next morning we tried to bath and there was no hot water at all so we bathed in cold water in the middle of winter. Not happy at all and will definitely not be going bak.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was a works christmas party and everyone really enjoyed themselves. The food was great and atmosphere was brillant.
We were in a room with 2 other partys and this really made the night as everyone socialised.
We are now planning this years christmas party for here.
A few of our party stayed overnight and they have said that the rooms and breakfast were really good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Ask for a annex room outside. They are much quieter and you do not get bothered by the staff.

Good value foe money.

Food also excellent

Good location to town center easily in walking distance are pubs bars and some very nice resturants


  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyB_stokelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked a wedding & buffet at the hotel for Christmas Eve.
Due to unforseen circumstances we had to arrange the whole event within 3 weeks and the Borough Arms and their staff (in particular the Hotel Manager) could not have been anymore accomodating or helpful.
The booking and planning went smoothly, the day itself went brilliantly and the evening buffet was delightful. The buffet food exceeded what I expected, I was anticipating a simple & plain selection of bites but what actually arrived was a great variety of food which all tasted delicious (and I'm fussy about my food).
The function room was very well presented, clean, spacious, warm and they opened up the function room bar to save guests having to visit the main bar area.

No request was too much and the day was very fluid, we had a fabulous time at the Borough Arms.

I had already heard good things about the hotel & their staff and based on my own personal experience I wouldn't hesitate to use them again or recommend them to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZWong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We held a funeral reception at the Hotel and were very disappointed with the amount and range of food provided for price of £9.50 per adult and £7.50 per child .We had several comments on spareness of the food provided

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frandoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoroughArmsHotel, Manager at Borough Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Frandoe

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following a recent funeral reception at our hotel.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment with the range and quantity of food provided @ £9.25 per adult and £7.95 per child (with complimentary room hire for exclusive use of our Restaurant). However, upon checking our records it would appear that you selected the basic buffet menu and we adequately catered for 20 adults plus 3 children as per your instructions and found that food was left over after you had departed.

I have spoken to our Head Chef regarding your complaint who will be looking into the funeral buffet menus that we currently have on offer.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Having attended on Saturday with a group of 18 we had booked into the Restaurant. Having previously ordered our meals we had an excellent evening. All the food was served efficiently and it was hot. All the meals were plentiful and everyone enjoyed the evening. The staff were extremely tentertive to our needs and very friendly. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Borough Arms and feel we will be back again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StokeonTrentAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing