We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAFF CHRISTMAS PARTY 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAFF CHRISTMAS PARTY 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We decided to try The Borough Arms for our Christmas Party this year and we were very impressed! The hotel itself is very warm and welcoming in hospitality and decor. Our party of sixteen was held in The Ostler Restaurant, the service was excellent and the food delicious! After our three course meal,warm mince pies and coffee/tea (plus a glass of wine or two) we danced the night away with DJ Andy from Signal Radio spinning the tunes!It was a thoroughly enjoyable evening and we all had a fab night! Super venue, food, staff and great value for money. Highly recommend! Will definitely return. Thanks to Mr Sheikh, Emma and staff from Marie Smith.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAIRY535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    117
    45
    28
    13
See reviews for
165
83
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
trentham in stoke
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Christmas meal was of high standard and,was excellent value for money. The staff were very attentive to the individual dietary needs of some of our guests. The disco was good and played a great range of current music. We've had Christmas do's here before and can never fault them!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank angelTrenthamInStoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We held a public exhibition at the Borough Arms Hotel late November 2012. Me and my colleague stayed at the hotel the night before the exhibition. The hotel staff were very helpful and ensured our stay and exhibition went smoothly. The hotel is in a good location, 5 minute walk from the high street, and has a comfortable bar. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HanC00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I organised a Christmas Lunch, which took place this week. for a party of over 40 people at the Borough Arms.

This is the third time that this venue has been used by us and it certainly will not be the last. With our groups numbers being quite large we managed to go into one of the hotels large function rooms and obviously the Christmas decorations are their to make it feel welcoming and seasonal.

The staff have always been excellent and friendly and have done everything in their power to make certain that everything runs smoothly and no problem is too much to tackle.

The meal was well presented and delivered to the tables quickly and with a smile.

The food was of good quality and value for money. Special food requirements are also taken care of as long as they are told beforehand.

Every year our groups comments are positive about the venue and they look forward to coming back again next year.

I have no problems recommending this venue for going to have a party and/or a meal.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your requirements before organising any type of visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GJackson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
99 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed over night through business and the hotel was comfortable, friendly and the food was good.

Room was a good size, clean and comfortable.

Restaurant offered a good choice on the menu and the service was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Borough Arms was the perfect venue for our daughters Engagement party.
Mr Sheikh , the Manager ,made it all a very enjoyable experience as he guided me through the menu and the fine details.

The rooms were lovely and looked beautiful with the chair covers.
The food was amazing, well presented and tasted fantastic.

The music was just right and the DJ was very thoughtful.

Thank you too to the bar staff who were very efficient and professional.

Eveyone was happy.
I look forward to coming back again for a meal in the restaurant.

So well done for making the night one of the best I have been to.
Best wishes to Mr Sheikh and your staff who are a credit to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mothersisterwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carterton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Borough help us host a family party on 14th October to celebrate my Dad's birthday and also my Mum and Dad's wedding anniversary. I organised this from Oxford with many an E-mail to Simon who could not have been more helpful. The food was lovely, the staff were friendly, and the guests were happy. What more could we have asked for? We would certainly use the Borough for more family events.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke on Trent City Centre Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing