We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay and a Birthday Party”
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Weekend Stay and a Birthday Party”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Thank you to the Manager and staff for a great weekend and accomadateing all my Daughters needs for the surprise Birthday party we had for Paul on Saturday.
It realy was a night to remember with your help. Compliments to the chef as the food on both nights was delicious.

Room Tip: State if you have problems with stairs also the smaller rooms have 4ft beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    127
    48
    30
    14
See reviews for
192
89
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Everything about the Borough was perfect - from the initial booking; through to discussions about dietary requirements, table arrangements etc; to the "big day" itself, everything has been exemplary. Management and Staff are second to none, we couldn't have wished for better service or quality. Thank you for making my mother's 80th so memorable for all!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billie1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

What a cheek - we had twin room for an overnight stay for our christmas night out - came in quite late, got a call saying we were making too much noise, went to bed 10 minutes later, checked out next day - no problem - but more was to come - 3 days later got a letter and receipt for an additional £60 charge - hotel just decided to use my bank card details to charge me (room already paid for!!!) just took the money 3 days later, claimimg that another guest had refused to pay for their room because we had disturbed them - daylight robbery - whats to stop them doing that again whenever they like to anyone they like !!!

Room Tip: use a hotel chain they won't rip you off
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hux419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We held a planning consultation event at the Borough Arms Hotel for Marks & Spencer and were absolutely delighted with the service and hospitality received. Mr Sheikh and the hotel team ensured that we were very well looked after and worked hard for us all day. The venue is a perfect place to hold public meetings of this kind in Newcastle as is a well known and well respected venue. It is exceptionally good value, well looked after and obviously well loved by the locals. Thanks once again to all the staff who made the day go so well at what is a very hectic time of year for them, and were so courteous and thoughtful both to our team and to members of the public who came to see the exhibition.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

We got married 22 tears ago and held our reception at the Borough Arms Hotel. This was nothing less than perfect for our needs at the time and recently I arranged another celebration to mark my PhD. This second celebration was also a magnificent success. At all points of contact with the Hotel, the attention received was not only highly professional but also very considerate. We were so fortunate to get a slot before Christmas. With such a fantastic team of staff the whole event was arranged and delivered in a few weeks. This was due to the efficiency of the staff and the considerable experience they have in such arrangements.

As for the evening itself, I have had lots of feedback and thanks from my friends and family (some as far away as Malaysia) all mentioning the food and pleasant atmosphere created for us on the evening. The venue is ideal for such celebrations and gave us all a chance to catch up and also make new friends. The Hotel DJ was particularly sympathetic and professional and calibrated the volume of the music to the atmosphere perfectly.

The evening of celebrations was very memorable for myself and all my guests. This was due to the quality of food, venue, music and above all the hospitality of all of the staff from Mr Sheikh, the General Manager to all the bar staff and receptionists at the Hotel.

Having such an event at the Borough Arms Hotel leaves you with a warm feeling of contentment and above all a feeling of wanting to do it all again. Perhaps I shall try and do it within 22 years the next time!

Many thanks and best wishes for your continued success,
David Glover

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle Under Lyme
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Once again The Borough and its staff did us proud! Following the success of my Mum and Dads Diamond Wedding Anniversary meal in February we decided to book again for my Mums 80th Birthday. There were 16 of us and it was the beginning of the Christmas season bookings but you would never have known. The service was again superb, the food hot and cooked as we all requested and we were in comfortable and friendly surroundings. The staff were efficient but we never felt rushed and they were very attentive. Mum was made to feel special and every guest said how great it was. There is very much a personal touch to the service offered including the manager Mr Sheihk who cannot do enough to help. We cannot recommend this venue enough. Thanks again for making a memorable day go so well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We can not thank the manager and staff enough for the great hospiltality and service they gave us on making the celebrations a night to remember. Service and food were excellent and both received great comments by all 50 guests. Also a big thank you to the bar staff who also worked hard and were so polite and friendly that they joined in games to keep a great party atmosphere going.The overnight stay was faultless, the room was big, clean and comfortable and breakfast was perfect. We enjoyed everything that much we returned to sample Sunday lunch the following week and yet again they did not disappoint. Great venue for any celebration. Once again a big thank you from all the Tideswell family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
369 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
747 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing