We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Golden wedding anniversary 12/11/11” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borough Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Borough Arms Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Golden wedding anniversary 12/11/11”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We can not thank the manager and staff enough for the great hospiltality and service they gave us on making the celebrations a night to remember. Service and food were excellent and both received great comments by all 50 guests. Also a big thank you to the bar staff who also worked hard and were so polite and friendly that they joined in games to keep a great party atmosphere going.The overnight stay was faultless, the room was big, clean and comfortable and breakfast was perfect. We enjoyed everything that much we returned to sample Sunday lunch the following week and yet again they did not disappoint. Great venue for any celebration. Once again a big thank you from all the Tideswell family.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    123
    47
    29
    13
See reviews for
181
87
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

We got married and had our wedding reception at the Borough Arms hotel on the 15th October 2011. The whole day was perfect and all the staff at the hotel were fantastic with helping the whole day run smoothly. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The food was lovely including the buffet at night which all our guests commented highley on. Couldn't fault the hotel at all, Everything was perfect and we would just like to thank the hotel manager and all the staff for helping to make our day so special :-)

Emma & Ash Ward

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Borough Arms
I can not praise the staff and venue enough. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The reception room was decorated perfectly and the attention to detail was superb (I am very awkward). They were available to help from 7.30 am until the evening ended.

The food was excellent and all requests were adhered to. Their aim of the day was to make our day run smoothly and for us to worry about nothing.

The honeymoon suite was lovely and a lovely end to a fabulous day.

I am so pleased we have the civil ceremony, wedding breakfast and evening at this venue and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to have a worry free day to an excellent standard.

Thank you to all at the Borough Arms for the most perfect day and one I will cherish for ever.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

I got married on the 20th august all the staff at borough arms were very friendly and helpful.the food was excellent the hotel rooms were very clean and spacious.i would stay at the hotel again.i would like to say a big thankyou to all the staff who helped on the day.
Simina n andy

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank owen2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

I loved it. my mums wedding day was fantastic... catherine was our helper and she was very picker on detail which was fab.... all staff where brill. very polite and helpful. Had NO problems what so ever.. all i can say is dont listen to what the grumpy people say... all of the wedding party had absolute no problems with staff, cleanliness or anything else... what love to come back..... food was fantastic big selection and if you dont like something or are allergic to something the staff are very good to find you sonething else... FANTASTIC

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank becki_burgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle under Lyme, Staffs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had a fabulous day & evening at the Borough Arms Hotel. We were treated with most respect and didn't want for anything. The staff are friendly, happy & professional in all aspects of their work. We were made to feel very very special. The honeymoon suite was fab.. Many Thanks to the Borough Arms Hotel, you made our wedding just perfect!!! Mr & Mrs B Lewis. p.s The dining room looked amazing !!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We had our wedding party here on 30th September 2011. Mr Sheikh and other members of staff were very helpful and wanted to make sure everything was in place for our wedding party. I had friends coming to visit from up north a family of 6, Mr Sheikh was very helpful again and accomodated the family very well. We have had good comments from family and friends regarding our night such as 'the food was good' and 'the room was nice'. It was extremely hot on the night due to the strange weather we have been having so our hotel room was very warm but we couldn't have the windows open because of the noise from the road. The next morning we sat down to a lovely breakfast and the restaurant staff were very helpful. I just didn't appreciate a member of staff having a dig at us and telling us that they didn't take enough on the bar the night before. Our party was about all our guests having fun which they did, not everyone getting drunk!! Also I think reception staff need to smile more and have training in customer service. Overall experience was good and comfortable... Mr and Mrs Bailey

Room Tip: Rooms to the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stoke-On-Trent Hanley Moat House Hotel
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borough Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borough Arms Hotel

Property: Borough Arms Hotel
Address: 26 King Street, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 1HX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Borough Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Borough Arms Hotel and Restaurant is one of the oldest established hotels in the Newcastle-under-Lyme and Stoke-on-Trent areas, with history dating back to 1783. The hotel is very much of the style associated with a traditional English town centre coaching inn, yet has been sensitively and subtly refined to offer the comfort and modern standards demanded by today's visitors. Independently owned and managed, the hotel retains many period features and takes great pride in offering a very personal service. As a valued guest, you may be confident that we will do our utmost to ensure your comfort, whether you are staying in one of our 40 centrally heated, en-suite rooms, visiting us for a meal in the restaurant, or using our conference and banqueting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Borough Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing