We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise!”
Review of Mercure Wetherby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wetherby
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wetherby
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I had read some reviews on Trip Advisor and was a bit worried about what we might find on our arrival. I needn't have been concerned. The hotel staff were all very friendly, meeting us at the entrance and helping us to check in. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable with plenty of towels, pillows and coffee. We ate our evening meal at the restaurant and the food was delicious and plentiful. The wine was a little bit pricey, but then it always is when in a restaurant! The staff in the restaurant were very attentive and dealt well with all of our requirements without being over bearing. The breakfast was well stocked with a selection of cereals, pastries, fruits, yoghurts and cooked. Overall, I was really pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Views of fields at the back, rather than the car park from other places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and it was lovely to see that you had such a great stay. I do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future. Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 820 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Good location and not far from Wetherby itself. However, overall the hotel does need a refurbishment. The rooms need a lick of paint and tidy up. The bed was awful full of springs. I even asked to upgrade to a superior room. Upon looking at the room the room was far larger but freezing cold as no heating had been on. The arm chair you would not want to sit in. The food in the evening was ok, my pepper sauce on my chicken was warm but not HOT. Breakfast was only ok not much choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your constructive comments. We are currently redecorating all our bedroom stock and look to be completed by early next year. I have taken your comments on board and I am sure that on your next visit you will see a marked improvement. Thank you once again for your review.

KInd Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a good business class hotel. I paid a similar room rate to a cheap premier inn but got a lovely breakfast included and more room amenities eg iron and trouser press in room. The bed was really comfy and although the bathroom was dated everywhere was clean and warm. I can recommend this hotel for business or leisure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluenose-Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We are also currently redecorating all our hotel rooms and look forward to finishing all rooms by early next year. Might I suggest you choose one or our recently redecorated studio rooms on your next visit which I am sure you will find much to your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed in this accomodation for two nights and thought it was a pleasent experience. The staff were very helpful . we stayed in a studio apartment which was very clean and tidy.
The good thing about this hotel and location was it was on good route to york or leeds etc.
The breakfast was ok. I would recommend to any business people.

Room Tip: studio rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and I was delighted to see your stay was an enjoyable one. Myself and the whole team hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Wetherby in the not too distant future. Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We picked the Mercure Wetherby because it is right off of the M 1 and is half way between York and Leeds. The room was quite comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. There was a large party in progress and we were given a room away from the noise and activity. The 2nd night we walked into Wetherby for dinner and discovered a wonderful pub, The Brunswick. Although our original intent was just to visit York, we were delighted to find that Wetherby is a lovely little town itself.

Room Tip: The exterior of the hotel is not well lit at night but is directly off of the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments, we were all delighted that you had such a great stay. Since reading this review I have also changed the timings of the exterior lights so as to ensure the car park is sufficiently lit throughout the winter nights and I am grateful for the feedback.
Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

The rooms here are pretty standard, quite comfortable but basic, ideal for wether by races. On the Friday we arrived and asked to book our meal as we had that as part of a package. We were asked to book 30mins later than our preferred time as they were expecting a large party. We arrived and were seated at our table and brought drinks ordered our starters. That was it, we'd isn't even see an employee for an hour, other customers were clearing their own tables and joking about how the food is good when you get it but you may die of hunger waiting. After an hour our food came and it was nice. There's no atmosphere in the restaurant as although its a nice place to sit there's no music. A waitress cleared the plates and wiped all the crumbs into my lap, bottle of wine was slammed onto the table but not poured. We complained and the manager was nice about it. It's just disappointing when they get the food right they get the rest so wrong!!!! Avoid all meals, enjoy cheap basic comfort!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive comments, It always so valuble to receive feedback from our guests. I do believe that your concerns were resolved to your satisfaction during your stay, but if you would like to discuss any points in more detail then please do contact myself or in my absence the Operations Manager at op.mercurewetherby@jupiterhotels.co.uk.
Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read the mixed reviews here, I wasn't sure what to expect from the Mecure in Wetherby. but we got a good deal on Trivago and having just come back from a 2 night stay there we couldn't fault it.
The double room on the ground floor was modern. spotless and had good tea and coffee making facilities.. The bed was massive and even though you could feel that it was 2 beds put together, very comfortable. The bathroom was large and the shower great with constant hot water at all times of the day. The usual toiletries were provided. The room was really warm - great on the cold days.
Check in only took 2 minutes and we were told where the extra towels in the room were kept (in the dressing table drawer). The room overlooked a field at the back and was very quiet, though you could hear other people going to their rooms.. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful and phoned up for a taxi for us , when we wanted to visit a friend.
The food seemed expensive in the hotel though, £10.00 for breakfast, fish and chips £14.00 etc. so we ate out. There are loads of places to eat in Wetherby which is a a 5 minute walk around the corner from the hotel. We had a cooked breakfast at Morrisons' and there are plenty of pubs and cafes.
We travelled down from Manchester to Leeds by National Express (got a great deal £2.50 each way plus £1,00 booking fee ). We then got the 770 Metro bus - Leeds to Harrogate stopping off at Wetherby,from the Leeds City bus station.. This must be the best value bus journey anywhere. It costs £3.00 single or £4.20 return - Leeds to Wetherby, runs every half hour.on weekdays and takes about an hour. Once your'e off the motorway it takes you on a very scenic tour of the little villages including Boston Spa. Beware though - the bus station at Wetherby is just a bus stop. The bus was supposed to stop there for a few minutes but didn't so we didn't get off and found ourselves on the way to Harrogate. We got off at the Harewood Arms pub and and got another bus back to Wetherby. The 10 minute journey cost £3.50 each-which would be expensive even for Manchester! Having said that, the bus did pass Spoffart Castle-ruins that you can look around and the gates to the Harewood House estate are only 100 yards from the Harewood Arms(a nice little pub). If the weather had been nicer and we hadn't had cases it would have been a lovely area to explore.
Wetherby is really central for York, Harrogate etc. and easlily accessible by public transport and of course the countryside around there is beautiful so we'll definitely return and plan to stay at the Mecure again (if we get a good deal).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank budgie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark h, General Manager at Mercure Wetherby, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and I am delighted to see that you had such an enjoyable stay. I was also pleased to see that you felt you had such good value. Keep checking out the Mercure website for other great promotions.
We do hope we can welcome you back in the very near future and thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Mark Hoyland
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetherby
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,855 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
270 reviews
7.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wetherby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wetherby

Address: Leeds Road, Wetherby LS22 5HE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Wetherby
Price Range: $70 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wetherby 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wetherby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wetherby Hotel Wetherby
Ramada Wetherby
Wetherby Ramada
Mercure Wetherby Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing