We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“run down and dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan & Talbot

The Swan & Talbot
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Wetherby
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A pub for more than 400 years, The Swan and Talbot in Wetherby was once a posting inn on the Great North Road. Originally named the Dog and Swan, the pub was, until 1611, allowed to bear the coat of arms of the Swann family who lived at Askham Manor in nearby Askham Richard. The 'dog' was a talbot hound - an extinct type of hunting dog whose closest modern day descendant is the beagle - and the pub's name was changed to The Swan and Talbot. The pub and letting accommodation has recently seen extensive refurbishment and is proving to be a popular haunt for many of Wetherby's locals and destination diners. Inside, the pub has low ceilings befitting the age of the place, and at one end, a huge fireplace over which hangs a brief history of how it acquired its name.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“run down and dissapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visited on the 2 Nd of February as we were going to Wetherby races.The pub was under new management.I had rang to confirm that we could be in our room by 10.30 which was apparently was fine.On arrival we were told that our room was not ready and we would have to get changed in a much smaller,cramped room.We had a nice day at the races and returned for a meal in the pubs restaurant,a restaurant that we had eaten in before and had really enjoyed.We were given a menu which contained a choice of about only 10 meals,which were very basic.We were also told that there was no wine list.The waitress brought us a bottle of wine that she said she liked.It was put on the table ,unpoured and without us trying it.The meals that we had were nice but there was not very much and they were served by a young lady who seemed as though she did not particularly want to be there.We ordered 2 Irish coffees. They were served with coffee and froth running down the outsides.The waitress threw a napkin on the table and said", i,VE BROUGHT YOU THIS TO WIPE THEM WITH."...We had booked the room with the four poster bed. The room was very dark and basic. There was a 1970,s trouser press and a kettle which needed an extension lead to reach the socket.The heating was on full blast and you could not open the windows.There was no handle on the inside of the toilet door so you had to sit with your foot on the door to contain your modesty.The shower was very small and all the tiles were covered in mould.needless to say I had the quickest shower I have ever had.It is a very old building and everything creaks especially the antiquated four poster which had tie backs missing and an inch of dust on the top.We were the only people having breakfast and had been seated next to a scolding hot radiator, which made me nearly pass out.The full English we had had been cooked by the lady new owner.The meal looked fine but was served on freezing cold plates unlike the radiator.There is nothing worse than mushrooms and black pudding on cold plates.We eat a small amount and went to pack.The establishment needs a lot of work and money spending on it to bring it any where near scratch and personally I do not think that the new owners will do this or are up to this.A bed and breakfast to keep away from until it is seriously revamped.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic P, Owner at The Swan & Talbot, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Firstly I would like to thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback, it is invaluable to us and really helps us get on top off what our customers are expecting of the Swan and Talbot and our staff.

It appears that you haven't been given the full story or the best experience during your stay at the Swan & Talbot.

We acquired the business on Monday prior to your visit and as such have had a very hectic week just to get the pub open and trading again. We are fully aware of the work to be carried out to get the pub to a standard which will meet and exceed customer expectations. The Wednesday prior to your stay we employed some interior designers to work on a full refit of the entire pub and the works following this should be complete within the next 3-4 weeks. This will include updating the letting room bathrooms, decor, furniture and soft furnishings within our rooms.

The food menu has been reduced so that we can guarantee fresh, homemade local produce as we as a company do not believe in having freezers full of food. The menu has reduced however you should have also been pointed out to the various specials by the staff not included on the menu.

Following on from your review i have implemented a staff training programme to include, wine service, barista training and table service. We have also utilised the hot cupboard in the kitchen for the storage of plates to ensure all plates are HOT when they reach you, this is a personal pet hate of mine and something which has been addressed immediately.

I do apologise for the delay in getting to your room as well, this wasn't the best start however this was sadly caused by guests who over slept the previous night and exceeded their expected departure time.

We acknowledge we have an uphill struggle but were fully aware of the work needed when we acquired the business. I know you have not had the best stay but i ask that if you are ever passing again in Wetherby after a month you pop in and allow us to show what we have done with the place... I sincerely hope that you or any of our customers never have to experience this again and ask for patience over the next month while we find our feet and turn the Swan & Talbot into the beautiful coaching inn it always should of been.

If you ever want to ask anymore questions please feel free to contact me directly on 07951 481543.

Kind Regards,

Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    110
    43
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Good Start”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had been to the Swan and Talbot several times before, and the standard used to be very high, but there have been a number of management changes since then, the latest on the day before our visit. This is a traditional coaching inn on the old Great North Road near the middle of the town, decorated with photos of old Wetherby, and some RAF memorabilia. The pub has three draught ales, John Smiths Cask, Tetleys and London Pride, and a wide choice of traditional pub food is on the menu.

We were warmly greeted when we went in for lunch on Tuesday 28th January, and advised that we could only pay by cash as the chip and pin machine had not yet been transferred to the new owners. On enquiry, we were told that the new owners also own the Chequers Inn at Bilton-in-Ansty, between Wetherby and York.

I ordered a roast beef and horseradish sandwich, and my wife had a vegetable and goats cheese wrap. These were well presented with fresh crisp salad, and accompanied by a bowl of chips (at extra cost). The generous amount of beef was tasty and tender, my wife enjoyed her wrap, and the beer was very good.

We ate in the comfortable bar, and the restaurant seemed to be busy with regulars. I would certainly like to give the Swan and Talbot a try for dinner sometime. We wish the new owners luck with their new venture.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Previous review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

In reply sir/madam,
The pubs management will be changing hands on Monday the 28th of January. the current management have informed us that the brewery have requested we cancel all residential bookings the week leading upto this date. Due to prospective new managers viewing the property early in the morning so we have simply followed the requests of our brewery we have sincerely apologised on site for this disruption and have honoured your meal reservations even though we were requested to cancel these too. This decision was taken out of our hands and we are as a team as unhappy about it as we can imagine you are. Sorry once again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atillada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northend, Warwickshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“under new management?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

They have cancelled my accommodation booking as they say they are under new management and don't know if they are open for food. This is not the first time and I won't be returning, they have had
the bookings for almost twelve months.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beveren22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delightful pub find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

A great pub in Wetherby with terrific food, and atmosphere. Every dish we ordered in our group of 4 was delightful...will go back on next visit to West Yorkshire.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank britishgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan & Talbot also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Swan & Talbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing