We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wetherby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Holiday Cottages
Reviewed February 13, 2013

First class properties in wonderful location.Perfect for York, Harrogate and Yorkshire Dales.

We only live 45 minutes away but it felt like a world away and we would stay again without hesitation.

Nothing was too much trouble, even when the property was very cold, the weather was very bad, the owners came straight out with heaters for us.

Lovely home from home.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for Priory Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 81 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

We get together early December every year and with people coming from Merseyside, the Home Counties, Cheshire and Scotland, we have to find somewhere that's in the middle of that lot and can accommodate 14 people with some some people as well.
The Priory fitted the bill wonderfully. We hired four cottages for two nights, and also had access to the function room during the evening, which meant the kids could have some space to play (sorry about the noise everybody else).
The cottages each had their own individual charm, but were finished to a high standard, with every feature you could possibly need for a weekend away. Self- catering apartments of this type are often a bit poor in the kitchen facilities department, but this was well-equipped, and feeding 14-odd people (that's 14-odd people, not 14 odd people). The shower in our cottage (no.2, I think) was the best I have had in a long time, and I doubt you could launch a lifeboat with it on full power.
The real feature was the cottages around the courtyard, which was tastefully lit at night. It made the surroundings feel very homely indeed, but also that you were staying somewhere a little better that a lot of places in this category of accommodation.
My only slight gripe was the 10am checkout time - a bit later would have been nice
We may be back, if you will have us again

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

All i can say is PERFECTION from start to finish!The location, amazing, the team awesome, the design, Outstanding..the list goes on!
We had our Dream wedding at the Priory and its was exactly this..a dream!The setting is Unique and Beautiful. Each room is designed with love and personality to it, which makes this my favorite place in the world! I have memories that will last a lifetime from the priory and this place will alway have a special place in our hearts!

You must stay here! Perfect for Wedding Venue, Party Venue, Short break, romatic getaway..etc etc

Vicky & Rob Walker

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The Priory was a most unusual and wonderful venue for our daughter's recent wedding reception. The luxury cotages, too, were much enjoyed by our guests.

Serena runs the complex and her attention to detail is superb. Nothing was too much trouble.

We have no hesitation in recommending this excellent place for such events.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

OK I admit it - I've been holding back. The trouble is that if I tell you lot the truth about this place, they're going to be fully booked all the time and I go there a lot!!!! Ah well - this is well overdue... The setting is peaceful, quiet and beautiful. The cottages are fitted out to the highest standards and in impecable taste. The owners run the place and are attentive, friendly and responsive to every need. I often finish the day over a glass of wine with neighbouring visitors and the owners in the courtyard - lovely. The weekends have high demand from weddings because of the wonderful setting they have created with the backdrop of the old Priory and rolling fields all around. They host art exhibitions here from time to time - definitely worth catching. This is affordable, classy accommodation within easy reach of York, Harrogate, Leeds and the beautiful N Yorks countryside. I love it here - but please - dont tell anyone - just between us OK?

Room Tip: I have stayed in most of their cottages from time to time over the last year. SOme are larger than...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDivaInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I normally don't give 5 - star ratings because I feel like everyone has room for improvement, however Priory Cottages was the perfect wedding venue. My Mother is always very hard to please and always complains but all she said at the wedding was "I have no complaints" which is a first. From the moment we started planning our wedding, the staff were there helping us every step of the way. Serena, who looked after us, made everything run like clockwork and she made sure any request we made was carried out. I cannot emphasise how helpful she was throughout the whole process. The food was absolutely delicious, the setting, the day, everything about my wedding, I loved. All our guests loved the day especially the band at the end and all the dancing which some lived to regret once the photos came back! I would highly recommend this venue to any bride. The main appeal is being able to tailor the day to how you want it not how the venue wants you to have it.

Room Tip: We had cottage no.7 and it was gorgeous especially the four poster bed!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We attended a Wedding at Syningthwaite Priory Cottages and had the most fantastic time. After a nightmare journey on the motorway from London we arrived to a complimentary basket of tea, coffee and buiscuits - bliss! The whole day of the Wedding was perfect. The ceremony which was held in the modern barn was so lovely and then the drinks reception in the stunning courtyard meant all the guests could mingle in the surroundings. We met Serena who runs the Priory Cottages and she was beyond helpful, such a lovely girl who has such a passion for what she does and nothing is too much trouble, even during a busy Wedding day. The Wedding breakfast was held upstairs in the barn which provided a warm and friendly atmosphere to dine in. For the evening reception the marquee was opened up which revealed the most fantastic dance floor area and we partied the night away. We slept very well that night and had breakfast the following morning outside our cottage in the sunshine looking over the fields, how idilic! The Wedding has been the highlight of the year and we are going to book a Weekend away here next year as we loved it so much. Thank You for a very special day.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage number two and it was fantastic, everthing you could need and more.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetherby
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,835 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
789 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
986 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,664 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Holiday Cottages

Address: Priory Cottage Featherbed Lane | Wighill Park, Wetherby LS24 8BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wetherby
Price Range: $102 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ion: We have 7 newly built cottages, which are architecturally in keeping with the Priory, which is believed to have been built around 1160. We have named the Cottages after the Prioresses who ruled the Priory until the dissolution of the monasteries around 1536 when it had 12 nuns in residence. The building and estate was then bequeathed to Robert Tempest by King Henry VIII and is now a working farm.Creating a new complex of cottages, courtyard gardens, preserving a barn and a Priory has been a challenge but a worthwhile one as we are sure that you will appreciate the peaceful ambience that exists amidst a fascinating mixture of ultra modern amenities, contemporary furnishings and historical artefacts and architecture.All accommodation is professionally designed and each cottage is individually styled within a different theme. They are beautifully appointed to an extremely high standard with quality contemporary furnishings and close attention to detail. Each kitchen is fully equipped with every modern convenience, including electric and microwave ovens, ceramic hob, refrigerator, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Priory Holiday Cottages Hotel Wetherby
Priory Holiday Cottages Wetherby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing