We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful retreat and amazing venue”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wetherby
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Priory Holiday Cottages
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blissful retreat and amazing venue”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We came across the Priory when looking for a wedding venue. Having seen other similar venues billed as being in the top 10 best places to get married and being decidedly disappointed, we weren't prepared for Syningthwaite. We got goosebumps just coming up the drive, and thereafter it only exceeded our expectations. Many of our guests complimented us on the choice of location and the atmosphere, helping to create one of the best weddings they'd been to.

We promised ourselves we'd come back for our anniversary, and did so with our newborn son in tow. We stayed in the same cottage, and this time were really able to appreciate it. We were lucky once again with the weather as while it was chilly it was beautifully crisp and the views remain understated but sensational.

Serena was as warm and welcoming as ever, and we see no reason not to be back again next year (though we will be bringing salt and pepper next time)!

Room Tip: All the cottages are decorated slightly differently but all are brilliantly furnished. We like Chris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    3
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2012

recently stayed at this fantactic venue for a friends wedding the cottages are clean comfortable and peaceful . best nights sleep i have had in weeks . would reccomend to anyone . had a ball

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I booked a stay in one of the cottages at the end of last year and had a great time. The booking process was straightforward and I didn't have any problems using the online system. The cottage was very clean with modern furniture. We had everything we needed in the cottage such as kitchenware and towels etc. The location was lovely and quiet and the staff were very helpful. Would recommend a stay, I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Whilst visiting the UK from Australia recently we decided a stay in the cottages would be a great way to experience the English countryside whilst being nice and close to Leeds, York and Harrogate. The cottage we stayed in was fantastic - comfortable, immaculate, stylish and equipped with everything we could possibly need. Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming and ensured booking was really straightforward. Can't recommend more highly - already planning my next stay!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Priory Holiday Cottages mid November 2011. Our first impressions exceeded our expectations! The Agnes cottage that we stayed in was extremely sophisticated, the decor oozed style and the furnishings and fittings were top notch. The staff we met gave us an impeccable service, were personable and friendly and went above and beyond to ensure our stay was the best it could be.

You could not ask for a more beautiful setting for a romantic getaway and the location is perfect to explore the North Yorkshire attractions. Overall we had the ideal break we were looking for, we could not have wanted more. We would recommend to the cottages to anyone and will most certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Myself and some friends booked a couple of the cottages for two nights a few weeks before Christmas. We found the booking process straightforward and hassle free, and both the cottages were well furnished with plenty of room for a small christmas gathering. The kitchen was well stocked enough to allow us to make a Christmas meal for 6, and for everyone to easily sit around the table for dinner (although we did have to borrow a couple of chairs from the second cottage we booked).

The cottages are in a great setting (although it was a bit too cold too truly appreciate it outside!). They could possibly do with putting more grit on the paths in frosty weather, as they did tend to get a bit slippery.

The living room was very cosy, with tasteful furnishings and I look forward to going again next December!

We booked two cottages which both slept 3 (a double and single in each), so cannot comment on the bigger cottages available.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed in the cottages for a university reunion weekend and it was excellent. Although we were unable to book the cottage we initially wanted the staff were helpful and arranged two cottages for us to stay in.

The accommodation itself was brilliant. Very clean and well decorated. Top quality facilities with all needed amenities provided. The beds were very comfortable as too were the sofas. Internet access was available and this was helpful.

The setting was lovely especially at Christmas time with the frost setting in across the beautiful landscape.

I would fully recommend staying at the cottages, they're world class.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wetherby
1.0 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#2 of 3 in Wetherby
1,819 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Wetherby
Mercure Wetherby
#3 of 3 in Wetherby
771 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Bridge Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
Wood Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Collingham
928 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,121 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Priory Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Priory Holiday Cottages

Property: Priory Holiday Cottages
Address: Priory Cottage Featherbed Lane | Wighill Park, Wetherby LS24 8BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Wetherby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Wetherby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ion: We have 7 newly built cottages, which are architecturally in keeping with the Priory, which is believed to have been built around 1160. We have named the Cottages after the Prioresses who ruled the Priory until the dissolution of the monasteries around 1536 when it had 12 nuns in residence. The building and estate was then bequeathed to Robert Tempest by King Henry VIII and is now a working farm.Creating a new complex of cottages, courtyard gardens, preserving a barn and a Priory has been a challenge but a worthwhile one as we are sure that you will appreciate the peaceful ambience that exists amidst a fascinating mixture of ultra modern amenities, contemporary furnishings and historical artefacts and architecture.All accommodation is professionally designed and each cottage is individually styled within a different theme. They are beautifully appointed to an extremely high standard with quality contemporary furnishings and close attention to detail. Each kitchen is fully equipped with every modern convenience, including electric and microwave ovens, ceramic hob, refrigerator, freezer, dishwasher, washer/dryer and ironing facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Priory Holiday Cottages Hotel Wetherby
Priory Holiday Cottages Wetherby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing