We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Wetherby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I've eaten here a few times and have always had a good experience.
The food is always good, with good portions and feels good value.
We've eaten as a couple, as a 4 and with the kids and were made welcome each time.
Would recommend.
Even the doily they use for presenting some of the dishes is fun - if not a little dated.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallsoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    84
    16
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the first time ever that our family had eaten out on Christmas Day and what an extremely pleasant experience it turned out to be.

The pub was already busy when we arrived and there was a real party atmosphere. We received a very warm welcome from the smiling waiter who showed us to our table, brought glasses of chilled champagne and took our wine order. The home-made bread arrived and was the best I’ve ever tasted; wonderful flavour. This was followed by four courses of superbly cooked and presented food; the portions were generous including almost unlimited delicious vegetables.

I must say the service was spot on; it was not rushed or slow, just very relaxed – perfect for the occasion. The ladies and gentlemen serving were very pleasant and attentive throughout; nothing was too much trouble for them.

We all thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the Fox and Hounds where the management and staff ensured that everyone was looked after in the best traditions of Yorkshire hospitality.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“"It's Christmas lunch...there's no need to be afraid"”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The family descended on the Fox & Hounds for their Christmas lunch on Saturday 8th December, all 14 of us. We were staying just up the road and had come from all over Britain, so we wanted good food, a convivial atmosphere and some good old Yorkshire hospitality (oh, and some decent beer).
Happily, we got all four of our demands. The walk to the pub was delightful and by the time we got there we were ready for a good feed and a number of pints. The beer was excellent, particularly the TT Landlord and the welcome was lovely. We were made to feel like we were in our own local for the afternoon.
We all had the Christmas menu (£20 for three courses) and the choice of food was excellent. Between us all we probably covered most of the menu, but particular praise goes to the black pudding and the fishcakes. All the starters were served with home-made herb bread, which my partner reckons is the best bread she has ever tasted!
I opted for the turkey dinner for main, which was generous with a large portion of tasty stuffing and a delicious gravy. The rest of our party said very complimentary things about the salmon, the duck and the very excellent lamb shank. That noted bon-viveur, Desi McCrea was thoroughly impressed with the slow-cooked beef.
Puddings where a real highlight. My Christmas pud was just the ticket, not too heavy and not too much of it, although a good portion. The kitchen did have a bit of a moment with the trifle though and tried serving them in frankly massive individual portions, which due to the amount of booze in them, probably wiped out the profits for the day. It was absolutely glorious!
Finally, a note about the service - relaxed, happy, efficient, and pure Yorkshire, with a lightness of touch and a homely feeling. Many thanks to all for making our Christmas gathering truly memorable.
This is pub food, but top end (I won't use the phrase gastropub - it probably doesn't exist in Yorkshire).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Red_V_Rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Half way meeting”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just met family from the North East and had a very enjoyable lunch. I had the 2 Course set menu which was very good. The Sweet Potato Soup was very good, although they said it was spicey didn't taste too spicey for me which was good. Also had the Pork again, which I had on my last visit and was just as good as last time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PamC348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Family Sunday Lunch.
A menu to suit every taste, The lamb was fantastic, really tasty veg, 1st class service. A real find.
Just what good pub grub should be like 10/10.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TimBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Boston Spa, Wetherby
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing