We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Encouraged by multiple use of black pudding! Almost faultless local foodie pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #9 of 69 Restaurants in Wetherby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Encouraged by multiple use of black pudding! Almost faultless local foodie pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

First off, worth booking if you're looking at Friday - this place was busy!

Really cosy atmosphere - a proper pub really. The outside doesn't really give away the gastro delights hidden inside!

We were greeted by our waiter, who was friendly, perceptive and knowledgable. Food is all locally sourced, portions aren't svelte and represent good value for the quality.

We had pheasant and tempura prawns to start with. Pheasant was beautifully cooked, pink and succulent. Prawns were described as Yorkshire tempura prawns. Not sure where you get prawns from in Yorkshire, but assumed it reflected the batter, which was like my dads - he's spent the last 40 years developing his batter recipe, which is good...but not very tempura like! Prawns were good, but full on food envy from the pheasant.

Mains were mushroom something or other, which was tasty, but not as tasty as my lovely pork shoulder, stuffed with black pudding, with awesome crackling goodness on the outside. My only nit pick is that the compote was a little too sweet and a tad overpowering.

No dessert - too stuffed!

A decent specials board, with lots of nice fish, which I guess talks to the popularity of this place and the skill of the chef.

Choice of ports, dessert wines, and a decent looking cheese board if you dare

Can't wait to hit the Sunday lunch!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    82
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost forgotton what great food and service was!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This place reminded me - great freshly cooked food, genuine but not fussy welcome, relaxed atmosphere and terrific service. And at a good price. Will be our regular family haunt from now on.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Whiteforest0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great lunch in this friendly local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stopped in hoping for a simple yet tasty pub lunch. Whilst there was plenty of dishes on the menu we opted for hearty sandwiches with chips and onion rings which were some of the best i've ever tasted. Everything was cooked, prepared and presented beautifully - simple food done really well. The staff were very friendly and whilst the pub is a little faded (and contains one or two stuffed animals!) the atmosphere was good. Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtsIandICrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“PaulP”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had 3 course Lunch with my Partner using the Tastecard. Starters were tasty, I had Black Pudding with Parmison Ham & my partner had Atlantic Prawns in Batter with a spicy dip.My main course was Home Made Burger which was again very tasty but only 6 chips! My partners Smoked Salmon Risotto was again very nice but the portion disappointingly on the small size.We both had the home made crumble for desserts.
Overall opinion was the food was very good, well presented & hot. However the portions were on the small size & overpriced. Without the Tastecard the bill would have been well over £40 which I think is expensive for a midweel lunch

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Excellent food and the service was exactly what anyone would hope for - the landlord could not do enough for us and was extremely friendly and helpful throughout the night.
A special evening for our party of nine was the end result, and I thank the staff for all their efforts.
I've tried to think of any little niggles, and failed.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 
Boston Spa, Wetherby
Wetherby, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing