We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A missed opportunity?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of lazy lizard

lazy lizard
Ranked #193 of 281 Restaurants in Weymouth
Cuisines: Bar, British
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Hastings
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A missed opportunity?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We went to the Lazy Lizard for lunch last year mostly based on the fact that it's a great name! I warmed to the place more on finding that they did fish finger butties!! But even better I ended up having the tastiest burger I have ever had - really spicy and truly delicious - far outweighing the fact that service was very slow. We went back for the first time since last week at about 6pm looking forward to more of the same - only to find that they stop doing food at 4pm!!! This might have made sense if they were packed with drinkers but it was totally empty - as it was an hour and a half later!! This seems to be seriously daft to me. Sadly it's very unusual for us to have a big lunch so I might never get to suss out if the burgers really are as yummy as I remember them to be!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Latte..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

I don't like my Latte too Strong, a word with the waitress who made every effort to produce it to my liking.
Delicious Cakes!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maldonian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Laid back and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Excellent, well priced bar snacks and relaxed atrmosphere. Live music in the evening and upstairs bars when it gets busy

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toby1980_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
547 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
“Slightly jaded seafront surfer dude bar and music venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The Lazy Lizard has always reminded me of a bar I used to frequent to Brussels called the Monkey Business, which was rather bohemian and scruffy but always had an amazing atmosphere, good music, great TV screens showing surfing/skiing antics and most of all great tex mex food. I have only been in there by day as at night it reverts to its main young nightspot role but it does offer some interesting reasonably priced food and drinks right by the beach and is perfect to sit outside on a sunny day. It offers some homemade dishs like the Chilli, Lasagne and Cottage pie plus tex mex, jackets and paninis. I find the £1 credit charge for using plastic irritating but its worth a try if you want to get into a more youthful culture than majority of the beach front cafes! The toilets also remind me of the typically Belgium Monkey Business - pretty rank!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoctorFeelgoodDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed lazy lizard also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to lazy lizard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing