We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal”
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mallams Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 287 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $53
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were very fortunate that Mallams were able to squeeze us in and despite the restaurant being full, the service and the food was excellent. Good range of fish dishes which,although pricey, were well cooked and presented. The highlight of the meal was undoubtedly the Mallam Special Desert which finished off a great meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pauleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. The sunshine has definitely brought people flocking to the coast and we have been very busy. We are so glad we were able to accommodate you and that you had a great evening. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Mallams Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 390 of 673 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

Another great meal with great service. thanks so much - you deserve to be really busy, that food was superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SplodgeWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you! Great to see you have visited us before and we hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

Let's start with the positives, The scallops were perfectly cooked, The fishcakes divine, and the lobster the main was out of this world. The waitresses were also very friendly. However, the problems were too much of an issue, speed was incredibly poor, The waitress was honest and said that they were rushed, but this shouldn't allow for such slow service. The fish of the day was bream, and this was very poorly cooked. All in all very impressed, just a little few things that prevented it from being perfect.

1  Thank Sodyathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your experience although if you felt the fish was not correctly cooked then you should have sent it back as we would not want you to eat something you were not happy with. We are not sure when you came in, presumably on a busy night, but we do keep track of the speed at which customers are served and on the whole we do not have any issues so we do not know what happened on the night in question. We hope that your positives outweigh the negatives and that you will come and see us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I dined at Mallams with my parents and sister over the Easter weekend and it was, as always, superb. The food and drinks are always fantastic but on this occasion was out of this world, we all agreed we had not dined on food like it in a long while! My main course of pork was to die for and the fresh fish and desserts mouthwatering. I very much looking forward to going back and highly recommend to anyone visiting Weymouth, Mallams is undoubtedly the best restaurant in Dorset.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PennyRose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

It was lovely to see you and your family again, and we are so happy that you had such an enjoyable time. We are so blessed to have so many returning customers who have been coming to see us for so long and it is testament to the staff that you enjoyed the meal so much. We look forward to wecoming you back to Mallams very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Reviewed Mallams after our stay in Weymouth last year so decided to book again this year.
We booked in January so not to be disappointed being Easter Saturday, rightly so as the place was packed but still accommodating people late on if a table became free. The meal was superb as it was the time before, a lovely creative menu for anyone's taste buds. The only downside was four people siting behind who wanted everyone to know their business but knew nothing about a certain bottle of wine. The staff were exemplary and tolerant the way they went about their duties. Try Mallams you will love it, we have twice and will hopefully be back next year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Thank you! It is so nice when we see customers coming back year on year and even more so when they still enjoy it so much. We look forward to seeing you again next year if not before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing