We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”
Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 284 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $51
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We managed to get a table at Mallams for dinner on a "walk in" and were not disappointed. The restaurant is cosy and friendly with great background music and offers both a la carte and fixed price multiple choice menus side by side. The presentation of the drinks and food menus are very clever and all add to the experience. the restaurant menu choice is extensive and the food is beautifully presented and of excellent quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanjstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What a lovely review. It is lovely to hear that you had a great all round experience and we are glad we were able to accommodate you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    410
    127
    53
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for the first time, I looked it up on the Internet and thought it had a good menu.
On arrival we were given a drinks menu, I chose to have a snifter which was just great,
The food was so good we had three courses whereas we would normally have two.
Service was fantastic, food to die for.
I noticed a couple of mediocre reviews and can think they are cheap skates.
If we go to Weymouth again we will be sure to go and eat here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your evening with us. We hope you managed to locate some Pineau des Charentes, please let us know if you had any problems and we can arrange for some to be delivered to you. we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Didn't work for us on this occasion.”
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We had dined here before some time ago and enjoyed our meal so returned for a visit during a recent stay in Weymouth. Looking at other reviews, this restaurant clearly has a loyal following but unfortunately we weren't that impressed on this occasion. The service is efficient enough but does feel a little stiff and lacking in spontaneity. An example of this is the process whereby guests are presented with the drinks menu prior to being given the food menu. This might be fine if you are seated in a bar area prior to dinner but at the table this does just feel like a somewhat unsubtle attempt to sell drinks. For a waterfront restaurant in a fishing town, we were also surprised by the apparent lack of daily specials on the menu and the fish that we did have from the main menu (e.g. bream with crab linguine) was somewhat overpowered by heavy sauces thereby detracting from the taste of the fish itself. From our perspective a more personalised service and a greater emphasis on fresh fish cooked more simply would definitely drive the rating up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review and for coming to see us again. We are sorry that you didn't feel the evening lived up your expectations. I think we have addressed the issue of the drinks menu in the previous reply, we have no plans to change what we do as most people enjoy reading what is on offer, as before, there is absolutely no obligation to buy and it gives us the opportunity to offer a wide selection of cocktails and drinks. Also, as in the previous answer, we have a menu which is 50-50 meat and fish,plus vegetarian options, and a choice of about ten starters and ten mains. Many more dishes would result in costly wastage, especially with fish and shellfish and we don't feel it would enhance the dining experience. Perhaps when you are in Weymouth again you will try us again and have a more rounded experience which is what we strive to give our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant has a very good location and it's quiet pretty and cosy inside.On the other hand the service is anything but!! After we were seated, we were presented with the drinks menu, whilst the waitress told us that they were recommendations fro the bar. Needless to say it was more of a way for them to push pre dinner drinks as the food menu only came later. In the end we ordered to very bland bellinis - i had better the pub across!
The service is scripted and unnatural as you can hear the waitresses repeat the same phrase over and over again at each table. The sole was ok; a bit too buttery; but the sirloin was horrible. It wasn't cooked properly and it was full of gristle! I would not recommend this restaurant, especially if you have someone with you who doesn't want to eat fish. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcolette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the unique ambience and decor of our restaurant. We were very surprised when you left your comment card at the end of the evening and it was very clear that you had not enjoyed yourself. At no time during the course of the evening did you complain about the food or the drinks.

I am sorry you feel that by offering a list of drinks and cocktails to you we are just trying to "push pre-dinner drinks". Most of our customers enjoy reading what we have on offer and it is not obligatory to have anything, we feel it all adds to the fun and enjoyment of eating out. Our Bellinis are made with pure white peach puree and creme de peche so I would question your assessment of them being bland but if that is what you thought and you were not happy why not mention it at the time?

The staff do indeed have a "script" if that is what you wish to call it because they have to tell the customers the information about the catch of the day. Not that unusual I wouldn't have thought.

It appears that in some way we were unable to give you the dining experience you were looking for and that is unfortunate. If you had mentioned your displeasure at the time we could have perhaps learnt exactly what we had done to upset you and perhaps done something to rectify your evening. We have a menu that is 50% meat and 50% fish and shellfish so we can usually please most people. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited the resturant last year and had a suberb meal with excellent service. Visited again 10th August forgetting to book a table and found they were fully booked but the owner suggested we try a little later on in the evening and they would 'see what they could do' Less than an hour later we were seated at probably the best table, with a harbour view. The service was excellent the staff were very friendly and attentive and the meal was once again suberb.We would definately go there again its a 10 out of 10 restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAN534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for you complementary review. We hope to see you next time you are in town. Weymouth is a great place to visit at all times of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing