We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your money!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mallams Restaurant

Mallams Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 281 Restaurants in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, European, British, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mallams is a long standing favourite of both locals and visitors since 1990. The restaurant is in an beautiful position with views of the bustling harbour.The Tudor beams and stone walls of the listed building have a traditional feel but are complemented by contemporary decor. NEW this summer, pop in for a drink and nibbles Friday and Saturday lunchtimes or choose from our exciting new lunch menu. The food is very definitely in the 21st century, an eclectic mix of ideas from British cuisine, with a touch of French and some Asian influence as well, always using the freshest, local produce. Seafood is much in evidence, as you would expect, but meat, game and poultry feature too.All this mixed with exciting wines and cocktails and friendly and attentive service and a really personal touch from the young, friendly and professional team. We are always happy to discuss your requirements for special celebrations, anniversaries, weddings, birthdays and we will be pleased to design a special menu just for you.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This restaurant has a very good location and it's quiet pretty and cosy inside.On the other hand the service is anything but!! After we were seated, we were presented with the drinks menu, whilst the waitress told us that they were recommendations fro the bar. Needless to say it was more of a way for them to push pre dinner drinks as the food menu only came later. In the end we ordered to very bland bellinis - i had better the pub across!
The service is scripted and unnatural as you can hear the waitresses repeat the same phrase over and over again at each table. The sole was ok; a bit too buttery; but the sirloin was horrible. It wasn't cooked properly and it was full of gristle! I would not recommend this restaurant, especially if you have someone with you who doesn't want to eat fish. Very disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcolette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the unique ambience and decor of our restaurant. We were very surprised when you left your comment card at the end of the evening and it was very clear that you had not enjoyed yourself. At no time during the course of the evening did you complain about the food or the drinks.

I am sorry you feel that by offering a list of drinks and cocktails to you we are just trying to "push pre-dinner drinks". Most of our customers enjoy reading what we have on offer and it is not obligatory to have anything, we feel it all adds to the fun and enjoyment of eating out. Our Bellinis are made with pure white peach puree and creme de peche so I would question your assessment of them being bland but if that is what you thought and you were not happy why not mention it at the time?

The staff do indeed have a "script" if that is what you wish to call it because they have to tell the customers the information about the catch of the day. Not that unusual I wouldn't have thought.

It appears that in some way we were unable to give you the dining experience you were looking for and that is unfortunate. If you had mentioned your displeasure at the time we could have perhaps learnt exactly what we had done to upset you and perhaps done something to rectify your evening. We have a menu that is 50% meat and 50% fish and shellfish so we can usually please most people. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Weymouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    403
    126
    53
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We visited the resturant last year and had a suberb meal with excellent service. Visited again 10th August forgetting to book a table and found they were fully booked but the owner suggested we try a little later on in the evening and they would 'see what they could do' Less than an hour later we were seated at probably the best table, with a harbour view. The service was excellent the staff were very friendly and attentive and the meal was once again suberb.We would definately go there again its a 10 out of 10 restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAN534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for you complementary review. We hope to see you next time you are in town. Weymouth is a great place to visit at all times of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Yet another great restaurant for a variety of food. We had two fish dishes which were very tasty & couldn't fault. Service was brilliant, we will go there again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you! We cannot wish for anything better than when someone says they will return. We hope you enjoyed you stay in our beautiful part of the country and hope you will be able to make it back here very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Always a treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have visited Mallams many times and have always enjoyed it. The service is friendly and attentive but unobtrusive, the food is always delicious and we have discovered some lovely new wines from their extensive wine list. Mallams is my favourite restaurant in Weymouth by a mile, I really recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are really glad you enjoy what we do and look forward to seeing you next time you feel like a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would we dine / stay in the apartment again?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This appears to be the only way to review the apartment above the restaurant so here goes:

The restaurant, right on the harbour is in a fantastic location. Excellent service, a good wine list, a real fine dining experience, although a tad expensive.

The accommodation is great with a nice size lounge, dining room, and 2 comfortable bedrooms, right above the restaurant, so a bit noisy until everyone leaves around 11pm. Wonderful views over the harbour and if you can stand the manic seagulls screeching at all hours, and the trawler men leaving at 4am, it's a great place to stay in Weymouth. A parking permit is provided which is very handy!

Would we stay again, probably not, but only because of the noise.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fullfatchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JSG1921, Owner at Mallams Restaurant, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are really glad that you were so appreciative of the food and the wines here at Mallams and that you enjoyed the accommodation.

We must correct you on one point though; the bedrooms are not directly above the restaurant but are on the top floor so any noise from the restaurant as regards sleeping is not an issue. We have been letting the flat out for fifteen years now and 85% of customers have returned year on year. Of course the seagulls and the fishing boats are something outside of our control, but I think most people expect the sounds of the sea when they come to visit the harbour and it adds to the experience and their enjoyment of a change of environment. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mallams Restaurant also viewed

Weymouth, Dorset
Weymouth, Dorset
 
Weymouth, Dorset
 

Been to Mallams Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing